We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel back in March 2012.

Check in was quick. Front desk associate was friendly and welcoming. She informed us about credit card authorization for a room and additional amount. Told us at check out funds will be released. I believe every hotel does this, but this was the only hotel to tell me before swiping my card.

Stayed in a room with two beds. Room was little darker, but clean. Our bed was comfortable enough. Pillows same as everywhere. Everything was clean. Luggage carts were not bulky and easy to use. Internet speed was moderate. We did not experience any noise.

Breakfast improved, had many new things. Liked their decaf. coffee, muffins were nice. Had different types of yogurt, peanut butter. Different types of waffles. Did not try scrambled eggs and sausages.

At check out were asked if paying by the same card. That was surprising, I thought they charge it automatically. Front desk lady asked us to sign the receipt. Again that surprised me, as I had signed something at check in. Anyways, I got my copy of receipt as a proof.

I was trying to stay away from pet-friendly hotels, but this time our stay was nice. Did not hear any noise or dog barking. I would love to come back and stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    32
    22
    10
See reviews for
63
52
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Front desk clerk was very friendly and quick to register. The next morning Cynthia, the breakfast attendant was so nice. She gave my 2 sons crayons and coloring books. She was very helpfulnd friendly. I will be sure to look for a Comfort Inn again!

Room Tip: Nice Pool open late 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Had a decent night here. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom is small but adequate. Decor is a little dated. Breakfast is decent with the usual breads, hard boiled eggs, excellent scrambled eggs and waffles. No sausage or bacon as previously stated and staff kept well stocked. Pets are allowed at this hotel. We were on the 5th floor and saw pets on that floor. Heavy cleaning scent on that floor. Alex was probably the most efficient and pleasant check in person I've seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool. Excellent access on and off to I 81.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

HARD beds, neither person could sleep. Air-conditioner old style, no thermostat--ran all night. Otherwise, clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just your everyday hotel, clean and comfortable. Staff was real friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty good, with a variety of foods. Would recomend serving bacon as well as sausage, for those who arent sausage lovers (like me). There seemed to be an issue with the waffle batter or one of the waffle irons working (not sure which was the problem), as many people had to keep remaking waffles since they werent getting done. Pillows at this hotel were litterally half size, which we got a kick laughing about (you know how you get the giggles when youre tired and having checked in at 1:30 am, we WERE!). The ice machine also was broken when we left the next day and needed some to cool some drinks .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaque
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

On my way to Florida I needed to stop and rest...Walked into the Comfort Inn & Alex, the employee on duty that night, was amazing...Even though she had customers talking to her at the same time asking this & that, this young lady kept smiling, telling jokes, & did not let the mad rush of customers get her into a tizzy!!!!

Major KUDOS goes out to Alex & Comfort Inn Staunton, VA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here during the storm that hit the Shenandoah Valley a few days before July 4th, 2012, and as a local without any power at home, I was tired, rung out, hot, and grumpy. Front Desk clerk, Alexandria, welcomed me with a fresh smile, and I was able to even do my laundry and have my cat with me here. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.