We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge East

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge East to your Saves list
Econo Lodge East
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Staunton
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We liked the area and the hotel was a little outdated but okay. Until we checked out and on our return home the red bite marks started to appear all over, on my face, neck, hands, shoulders, arms. I'm so creeped out, this is so disgusting, check the beds! We were in room 123, the last on the right side.

Room Tip: Look for bed bugs!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    16
    9
    12
See reviews for
7
10
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were driving from MA to Florida so we had a,ready been on the road for many hours when we finally stopped for the night. We saw this place listed in a brochure we picked up at the Virginia Information and Rest Area. We decided to give it a go.

The clerk we had was nice enough. We pulled our car to the room we were assigned and walked in. Can we say outdated? Wow...I felt like we went back in time to the 70's. the sheets didn't fit on the bed and the bed spread was so old looking that I pulled it right down. The next thing I noticed was a dead bug on the headboard of the bed (a dead beetle type bug that must be common with the area). I got a Kleenex and threw it out. We were both just tired and literally watched a little bit of tv and went to bed.

The next morning I got up to start getting my things together and I had kicked off my socks in the middle of the night...so when I pulled down the blanket and sheet to get them, I found another beetle bug at the foot of my bed...alive! My friend did the same with her sheets and found a bug too. That's it...we got out of there.

Breakfast was ok...nothing fancy, but when we told the front desk clerk about the bugs she just said...oh (like she hadn't heard that before).

If you do decide to go there for whatever reason (desperation is the word that is coming to me), do yourself a favor and check the beds!

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing as a good room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were disappointed with the cleanliness of this hotel. I was so concerned that I put the towel over the chair in the room and we were careful not to sit on the bedspread. The staff was friendly but seemed overworked and glad to report that there were only two more available rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was not so great. It was less expensive than the other hotels, but I think I would have enjoyed my visit more if I had stayed at a nicer place. Room was out dated and mis-matched. I generally feel "ITCHY" ever since I left. Not so good.

And yes, it is conveniently located near a fire department. That should wake you up several times a night.

Room Tip: Just pay more and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for three days and I want to say how pleased I was with our room. It was very quiet and comfortable. In addition, the room was very clean and the hotel was excellently located and near.many fine restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very plan and basic . No clock in room. No toiletries offered. Rugs were shabby . Coffee offered in lobby but nothing else to go with it . Price was less than most motels. But needs some TLC. Was also hard to get extra linens. Had to wait for towels

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fletcher
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The carpet was...well I never took my socks off, even to shower. The tub was chipped and rusting. The bed sheets did not fit the bed so when you pulled back the covers you pulled everything back and exposed the mattress. There was some major cleaning that needed to be done. As for safety when I pulled in at about 3am on Saturday the Parking lot was abuzz. Lots of interesting folks out there, I left nothing in my vehicle, to say the least. This is not the hotel for single ladies, over the hill gang, or families with kids, unless you think this is a cheap nights sleep. It is neither cheap nor a nights sleep. Look around and spend the extra 10 dollars and stay at a real motel. I can't think of one good thing to say about this property except ....YUK

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.