We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goof value, clean and quite.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge East

Econo Lodge East
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge East to your Saves list
Econo Lodge East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Goof value, clean and quite.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here on our way to Pa. Convenient to interstate and hotel was clean and quite. Easy check in and out. Beds were comfortable. We got the two rooms at the back away from the street, so heard no street noise at all. Restaurants close by, Wal-Mart across the street. Got a rate of $40 something a night, using the coupon book that you can get from places along the interstate.No pool. Breakfast was pretty dismal. I would say this was a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Good, clean and quite, no frills hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
8
11
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My fiancé daughter and I stayed at this hotel because it was the only one with rooms available. We now understand why. We checked in around 4 with a lady by the name of Iris who was just downright rude. We went up to the room long enough to drop off our bags off before we went to dinner. At first glance the room looked fine but when we returned home from dinner to find cockroaches in the bathroom and body hair all through the tub and empty toilet paper rolls on the counters we realized we had made a mistake. Once we pulled the sheets on the bed down we found brown stains on the pillows, red stains on the sheets and the bed felt horrible. We stripped the sheets off and slept on towels after complaining to this obnoxious Iris woman at the front desk who hardly paid attention to us. WE WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE ROOM! I then questioned Iris how 3 charges of 78.22 were only staying one night. All she could say was correction over and over again. She never explained anything as to why the charges were there all she did was deny everything even when I had the bank statement right in front of her face. Because of this I was hit with an overdraft fee to my account. The policy clearly states that no charges will be in place until you check out yet somehow I was charged almost 250 dollars for ONE NIGHT the night we arrived! The following morning we went into the office to check out and met with "Gandhi" the manager who barely spoke English to attempt to resolve the problem. This was a waste of time and we barely understood a word the man said other than "correction" and it was not his fault to call the bank to resolve the problem. I asked for him to put it in writing that we were only to be charged for one night and that the other two charges should not have been on the room. He wrote: "If any problem, Please call and ask Gandhi (manager). I solve problem. Please check first of Bank and then call me". We cut our losses and left because we did not accomplish anything there and were basically told to take it up with the bank. Overall: dirty, bug infested, loud, Rude and obnoxious "Iris" followed by a 250 dollar bill for one night... Needless to say we will never return and suggest you do not waste your money on this place.

On a more positive note, there is a great place to eat just down the road called Mrs Rowes family restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed two nights at this motel, and was impressed with the quality of the room, the low price and friendliness of the staff. The location was excellent since it was near a Waffle House, Cracker Barrel, and a liquor store. The room was big and the bed was very comfortable. I really liked the pastel colors of the wallpaper, pink/light purple and light blue. I was surprised to see two sinks in the bathroom, which I have haven't seen at any other hotels/motels that I have stayed at. This motel was very quiet, which is a big plus, since I am a very light sleeper, and need it to get a good night's sleep!!! The only down side was there were several bugs in the room (a stink bug, mosquito, and fly), which isn't unusual since the door opened to the outside, causing insects to fly in the room. I did kill the mosquito, but spared the stink bug and fly from their demise!!! I have bugs in my home, so it's not that a big deal!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed here on the way down to TN, and on the way back. There were no toiletries in the room at all, the vending machines were empty. The heat had one setting that worked. Hot. The breakfast was bare minimum. I was concerned about the cleanliness of the bedding. The bed spread was removed immediately. I will not stay here again, not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in a king smoking room. Large room with fridge and microwave, iron, in room coffee. Everything worked, altho when I turned the heater on to dry some things there was that horrible burned dust smell so I turned it off. Also, altho I smoke and it was a smoking room it reeked of tobacco, I think they should address that, there are products available. I didn't complain to the staff about it, so they may have taken care of it if I had.

Poor complimentary breakfast, white bread, muffins, juice. Tiny breakfast space in the office.

OK location just off both freeways, short drive to historic downtown, near to the Frontier Culture Museum. There is a large supermarket very nearby.

  • Liked — size of room and ammenities
  • Disliked — smoky smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

Recently Renovated, the bedspreads looked very nice and I loved that they had both interior and exterior corridors... The rate was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in Staunton. There is a Chili's almost next door. The hotel has all the amenities any traveler is looking for. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanlieness and Value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I needed a place to stay around Staunton, VA so I checked all the major travel sites for the best value. I needed a room for Saturday night, so motel prices averaged ~$70.
I narrowed my search to those places w/ wireless internet, and came upon the Econo Lodge East. The Orbitz price was $65, but I went to the motel's website and booked the room for $55 using the internet user's rate. It's always a good idea to do a broad search using travel sites and then try out the hotel's site once you've decided.

I arrived at 2:30 in the morning and the check-in was quick. I asked for a late checkout and was given an hour extra ('till noon) with no problem. I had a King bed room on the second floor, and it was pleasant enough, the furniture and carpet seemed to have been redone within the last couple of years. A few stains on the carpet, but what motel doesn't have that? No musty smell to the room. The room had a fridge and microwave, iron and ironing board. Most impressive was the speed of the wireless connection, at over 4mb/s.

All in all, I recommend this motel if you are passing through Staunton, VA.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.