We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Staunton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Staunton
40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
East Patchogue, United States
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel was well located near everything - supermarket, CVS, gas stations, several restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was well furnished and extremely clean. If anyone I know needs a hotel in Staunton, VA I will definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    75
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
100
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I frequently travel up and down the east coast visiting our children and their families. We only stay at Hampton Inns. We travel on the first day and try to get as far as we can stopping at a Hampton Inn for a one night stay over. Up until tonight the rate we've been charged has been between $120 and $140 for the night. Not cheap but worth it. Well tonight we were charge $175 for the night. When I questioned why it was so high I was told about the "GROW" program. Basically stated Hilton is jacking up the room rate based on late night walk- ins as the property reaching full capacity regardless of their Hilton Honors membership or status.

We won't be back. It's time to find another chain that doesn't rip off loyal customers.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were not happy about our rate the night that you stayed with us. The hotel's rates during our peak season range from $139-$179 based on the hotel's occupancy and the demand within our market. I do hope that you will consider staying with us should your travels bring you back to the Staunton area.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Reservation by phone while riding Skyline Drive-Blue Ridge Parkway, directions to Hotel were sketchy & difficult to follow, eventually we find the place by asking directions from locals. The room was neat - clean - tidy - no odors. The Continental breakfast was fine. The staff attempted to be helpful. The only issue I had was this: on our arrival (and several other incoming guests,) the front desk staff were seated at a picnic table behind the hotel chatting with friends and smoking. They could monitor the front door looking through a glass door. They took turns hopping up when people entered the front door to the lobby. Not a big deal but not very professional in my opinion. And that’s all it is - my opinion. The Hampton Inn used to be a good mid-range, decently priced place $60-$80 per night, pool, breakfast etc. Unfortunately the association with Hilton Hotels has warranted the double price in rates. For $130 per night not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a very clean Hampton Inn with a great staff. The night manager, Chris, was professional, friendly and polite. He is the kind of employee that every hotel wished they had.

The room was large, clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Professional, caring staff, makes you feel comfortable. Nicely furnished immaculate room. Breakfast was freshly made and delicious. Staff anticipated needs and provided for them, making you feel special

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Could have been a "5 circle" review if the rooms had a mini fridge. Nice clean rooms with friendly and helpful staff. Booked our room on the fly as we left DC looking for a good dinner stop. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out Sauced restaurant in the plaza across the street for dinner. Front facing rooms have moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stay at Hampton Inn's often when we are on the road traveling. We like the hotels for their clean & comfy rooms and their complimentary coffee & breakfast. I never took the time to write a review but was so impressed by how the front desk clerk Chris attended to customers I felt the need to do so for this hotel. As we waited to check in there were customers in front of us that didn't have a cell phone charger & were worried about not being able to charge their phone when they discovered the hotel didn't have any to loan. Chris offered what I believed was his to help them. After checking in my husband & I needed something from the front desk. My husband mentioned in passing how surprised we were there wasn't a fridge in the room (as we have always had one at Hampton Inns). Chris explained a few rooms didn't have them at the moment but all rooms would. He offered to roll a fridge to our room for the night. His great customer service added to our pleasant stay. We would definitely stop here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Address: 40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.