We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Staunton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Staunton
40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Wiltshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had been travelling for several days and by now we were getting used to a certain standard for Hampton Inns - and this one was no exception. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and reception called us to check our room was OK - a nice touch. The room was clean and comfortable. We don't give 5s too often but this hotel would have had a 4 1/2 if there was such a rating!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    62
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
78
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I highly recommend this Hampton. It was a pleasure staying there, great breakfast, friendly folks and an incredibly good nights sleep. We were welcomed from the beginning and greeted to the end. All the staff were lovely. The temperature in the room was just right since we could easily control the setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our property and reviewing us here on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments, and look forward to your return stay. Your thoughts will be passed along to our team to reinforce our commitment to our guests.

Sincerely,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I normally stay in 5-star hotels, especially for business trips. I am pleased to rank this Hampton Inns as five star, even if they're not officially ranked this way because of their size or location. When the 5-star hotels charge for using WIFI, which has become a life-line in our busy lives, it's so refreshing to enjoy complimentary WIFI at Hampton. I know it's no big deal, but it communicates to me, the guest, that Hampton Inn is more interested in serving me than in making sure every "jot and tittle" is charged so that the hotel makes money. I know hotels must make money, but don't give me the impression that I'm only good for shelling out $$$. Thank you Hampton!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff friendly but the price was very high for the area. Would stay again in a pinch. There is not much to tell about the place as it was a highway stop. I would only stay
again if I had to as the price for a Hampton room was high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at our property while traveling through the Staunton area, and for taking the time to complete a review. Our rates are higher during our peak season, and reflect the demand for rooms at our property. I do hope that you will stay with us in the future should you return to the area.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice place, clean, convenient, with hospitable, friendly staff throughout. Hotel room rates fluctuated three times during a four night stay, which I found annoying and confusing. Lots of parking close to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've had consistently good luck with Hampton Inn's in the past two years, and this place was no exception. Friendly and helpful reception - they gave us a great tip for a restaurant in town with good food, wait staff service, and kid friendly. The room was big, clean, and new. Literally no checkout so no wasting time standing at a desk while someone checks your minibar. Only two small complaints - the breakfast area is not big enough when the house is full (though this one was bigger than most Hamptons) and would have been nice if the pool was indoor. A good getaway weekend from DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great Hampton Inn. $141.00 for a room is way to high and that is with a AAA discount. Room was great, bed as always was comfortable. Breakfast was on par with the rest of the Hampton Inns I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding our hotel, and you staying with us. As I have mentioned to many guests, our rates reflect the demand for rooms at our property during our peak season. I hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as a guest in the future should your travels bring you through Staunton.

Take Care-

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hampton Inn
Address: 40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.