We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Staunton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Staunton
40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another great Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff and very clean property but it needs some sprucing up especially the lobby. The other thing is that is was very pricey for a Friday night stay; nearly 50% more than other properties in the area. My Hilton Honors membership combined with AAA didn't save me much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    68
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
83
93
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a little trouble finding this hotel coming from I-64. If you miss the turn, it's hard to get back on track. Once there, you have a choice of several nearby restaurants, and the staff is happy to give you suggestions. I would wish that all the rooms had a refrigerator and microwave, but this time we managed without. The TV features lots of hi def channels and the wi-fi Internet was easy to use. The breakfast was ample. I would say this hotel is pretty standard for Hampton Inn.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We checked in without a reservation but there were only 2 rooms left both of which where handicap rooms. The room was clean and comfortable on the first floor. It was a little pricey for one night but when your tired and ready for a comfortable bed after 7 hours on the road it was worth it. They did have a breakfast of cereal, waffles, fruit, and usual eggs, ham, and toast Buffett. The breakfast area was small but you can always take it to your room. There was an outdoor pool, workout room and business center. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is up on a hill next to to a tractor supply. It's a little confusing to get to.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor in the back of the hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a very enjoyable experience. So much so that my husband wondered if we wanted to tailor our trip home so we could stay at another one. The staff was extremely helpful in letting us know where good places to dine were and answering any and all of our questions. Everyone was very pleasant and professional. My only problem was that we were there on our honeymoon and we were on the second floor near the elevator and in the morning you could hear every door up and down the hall slamming close however, that was only in the mornings. The air conditioner worked so well we had to turn it off at times. I would definitely advise anyone looking for a place to stay to stay here and use this as the place to do day trips from. I loved having the coffee always on and fresh in the lobby and the breakfast buffet each morning was great with both hot and cold foods which the staff stayed right on top off to keep full and fresh and you could even get it to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've stayed here before and it's a typical Hampton Inn. Not the best but certainly nothing wrong with it----except. It has no small fridge in the room. Can't remember I checked into a Hilton that did not have a fridge.

There is an outside pool, which I didn't use, and being close to downtown is nice. (You'll still need to drive)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our brief stay was everything we thought it would be and more. We wanted a clean, neat, comfortable room for our short stay in Staunton, and the Hampton Inn provided that and more. Caring staff and spotless room; comfortable furnishings and A/C that worked!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a warm welcoming staff, Linda at reception is the best of the best, room was great, and a breakfast that was varied and extremely filling. Will come back again...thanks Hampton and Linda for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Address: 40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.