We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Staunton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Staunton
40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Succasunna
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Hampton Inn was a surprise. Managment is great and the service excellent. The lobby was remodel several weeks ago. Easy to get to off of Interstae 81. In the summer, Wednesday night is free ice cream night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    71
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
91
96
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed here several times and each time found the same thing. Very clean, quiet, friendly front desk staff. Bed is comfortable; good size rooms; decent internet speed.

A couple of negatives though - unlike many Hamptons, this one does not offer rooms with microwave or min-fridges. Since my trips last multiple days, it is something that would be really nice to have.

The other thing; and maybe it's minor; but the chairs at the desks must have been designed for giants, I am six foot tall and I still have to put 2-3 pillows in the chair to get high enough to use the desk. Or maybe the desks are designed for giants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Space
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were going to Swooope for a Polyface Lunatic Farm tour and wanted a nice place to stay for the night since we were getting up early to find the Polyface Farm for our Lunatic tour, we needed a place where we could get a good nights sleep, have a great breakfast and get on the road...

We had been traveling through much of Virginia and found many hotels that were much cheaper some were quite nice for the price, others you get what you pay for... Hampton Inns are always a bit higher than most, but I have never been disappointed... And if your a seasoned traveler you can usually find the coupon books at the rest stops and get a nice discount on a room if your just passing through a town...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were in town for a graduation, found the property clean, quiet, and a friendly staff. Our room was upgraded to a suite, found it very roomy with a fridge and microwave. The HVAC had an option of continious run for the fan, I wish all properties had this available! Breakfast was the usual Hampton spread, fresh, but nothing special. We will stay here in the future when our travels take us this way!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was an odd mix of experiences. On the one hand, we had a beautiful room in a clean, well-run hotel. The hot breakfast was delicious, varied, and began at 6 a.m. which was incredibly convenient for us. The staff were friendly and efficient. Our king-size bed was very comfortable and I got a great night's sleep. Our deluxe king suite was huge with a kitchenette and a little sitting area. Two things would make me hesitate about staying there again. One problem was the price. $225 is a LOT to spend on a room--even a deluxe king room--in Staunton, VA. We were there for a graduation, and I know that prices are higher on graduation weekends, but still--. The second problem was a strange smell in the room. It was a kind of a fishy smell. Since this deluxe room had a tiny kitchen, at first we wondered if someone had prepared stinky food in there. But when the smell didn't dissipate, we realized it was probably either a chemical smell from carpet or upholstery or the odor of cleaning products. We didn't complain to management because we knew the hotel was full up. There would have been no place to move us to. And we were able to stand it, though it was continuously noticeable. Hopefully all the rooms don't have this smell. We were in 221. And try to get a better rate than the AARP "deal" we got. If you can get a good deal and snag a non-stinky room, you'll have a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed two separate times within a week. The first was less than excellent. We had the same experience with others as the lobby was under renovation and things seemed kind of messy. We didn't get the room type we expected when we checked in and when my husband went back to get it taken care of he had to search for the desk clerk. We were accommodated and moved to a different room.

The second experience was after the renovations were complete and it was excellent. The service at all times of day was great and our room was as we requested. The breakfast each time was up to expectations, even when renovations were in progress. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely stay here again when we are in Staunton.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise associated with the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stop here each year as we travel to Florida or when we are on our way to visit our children in the Carolinas. It is always neat and clean with an excellent breakfast buffet. The staff is friendly and always welcome us back. I especially like the clean rooms and well kept bathrooms. Handicapped rooms are available and are well designed. (needed one this year hopefully won't in the future.)

Room Tip: I find making a reservation ahead of time expedient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Address: 40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;