We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Staunton

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Staunton
40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Whitstable
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

An excellent welcome, clean room, comfy bed and good location. Breakfast was also better than average. We only stayed one night before starting our drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The Hampton Inn was easy to find although some way from the centre of town - fast food restaurants nearby though. We explored Staunton a little and found a great diner and bar in an old railway carriage. We would definitely stay in a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    67
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
89
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Front desk staff was extremely welcoming upon arrival, and throughout my stay. Rooms are clean, nice beds and furniture - overall a great look. Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise, compared to free breakfasts offered at other hotel chains. This was my first time staying in a Hampton Inn, and if the Staunton Hampton Inn is the standard nationwide, then I will look to stay at other Hampton Inn properties during my travels!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montréal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

After a very long drive we stopped for a night. Everything was great. Staff was very helpfull and really made the difference.

Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Hampton Inn at 40 Payne Lane, Staunton, Va. is a real treat after a long day of driving on Interstate 81. It sits very high overlooking the city and land around it with great views of the mountains. It is immaculate in cleanliness and astonishing in friendliness. Reservations are strongly suggested as it fills quickly daily. The front desk staff are competant (a rarity these days) and genuinely willing to help you find just the right local resturtant/store/ whatever to satisfy your need. I have been there 3 times now and feel very much at home. The morning breakfast is just right, with newspapers and TV to accompany your meal/or not if you want a little quiet like I do.The rooms are fine and the beds are divine ! Staying here is a refreshing treat for the weary traveler...try it ! Harry from Highland Falls, NY

Room Tip: Make a reservation, smokers rooms are a premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times and it is always a great. Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, nice morning breakfast. It is also located next to great chain restaurants for dinner and lunch (like cracker barrel). We would never stay anywhere else. All chains should strive for this luxury and service at a great price. Thank you to all at the Hampton Inn in Staunton! P.S. we came home and ordered the pillows, shower curtain and mattress pad online when we got home --- that's how much we loved the room!

Room Tip: Shop online for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank You so much for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor! I really appreciate the nice comments you made regarding our property. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our guests after they have checked out, and we are constantly striving to provide just the experience you have had at our hotel. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance, and I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Hampton Inn-Staunton, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This was up to the fine Hampton standard, and cleaner than some. Only complaint is weak internet in our room. Good location for charming downtown Staunton (good restaurants, Shakespeare theatre) and regional touring. Across the street from a big mall with department stores, on a 'strip' with every kind of fast food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was a lovely place to spend the first night of a long road trip. The staff was friendly & efficient, a pleasure to deal with. The location although near the highway, was pleasantly situated on the side of a wooded hill overlooking a valley. The room was good sized and the bathroom luxurious with a great shower. Only unfortunate aspect was the dismal free breakfast buffet with few choices including dried out eggs and potatoes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Address: 40 Payne Ln., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.