We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and freshly renovated. Easy access from Route 81” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 Fairway Lane & Country Club Rd, I-81, Exit 225, Rt 275W, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and freshly renovated. Easy access from Route 81”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Typical holiday in. Freshly renovated rooms are very nice and very clean. Very close access to route 81 S. Staff was very friendly and facility was clean. Access to the highway was a plus for us traveling south. I would recommend this as a place for the traveler to spend the night when traveling south on route 81

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    34
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
36
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Newly renovated, clean, comfortable, and very conveniently located just off I-81. A short 10 minute drive to Staunton. The rooms, service and view all make for an enjoyable stay. Very close to a golf course should you have the time and the front desk can arrange for you to play.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view....you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Gaston, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently, I and 2 others had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. During check-in, we were assisted by Marisa Chakrabandhu. Marisa stands as an outstanding example of excellent customer service. Not only did she do her job, she was warm and friendly and made us want to stay at any facility where she worked.

Thanks, Marisa. They don't come any better than you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked this hotel on accident using Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" tool because I forget to set a different location. Obviously, my bid was accepted and I wasn't able to cancel. We arrived late in the evening to check in and the lady at the front desk didn't seem to know what she was doing. We asked if the hotel's restaurant menu was in our room and she said she didn't know. She gave us our key card yet failed to give us directions as to which floor our room was on. She was far from being friendly. So we proceeded to our room, thinking that the rest of our stay would be good. We weren't about to let one seemingly un-trained hostess ruin our stay. We arrived at our floor and a dingy smell greeted us. We thought that perhaps this was just the hallway's smell, so we entered our room and the smell worsened. There were white flakes on the floor (see photos) to greet us and screws scattered on the nightstand. The pillows on one of the beds were messed up and in their place were what looked like white paint flakes. It looked as if a handy man had begun fixing something, forgot a tool outside and then had never come back to finish the job. There were white putty marks on the wall above both beds and the carpet along the wall was peeling off. I have traveled a LOT and have never slept on such an awful bed. It felt like a hand-me-down bed from my great grandmother or something. The pillows were basically oversized cottonballs in pillow cases and the bathroom had much to be desired. The counter was clean and the toilet seemed clean as well. The tub had brown and orange stuff in the tub's caulking. Gross! Luckily I only paid $50 to stay here, because if I had paid more I would have been extremely upset. This place should be a 1 star hotel in my opinion. With all this said, I really hope this hotel gets it together though, because I feel like it has potential. It is a good location for visitors to historic Staunton, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Ashley G,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your comments about the bathroom conditions and the service you have received which fell below your expectations have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Property has a modern decor and is backed onto golf course - so pretty view from that side of hotel - other side is highway. We had no complaints during our 3 night stay. Front desk personnel were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was a bit pricey. Interior rooms were quiet during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a chance to stop at this hotel for one night while traveling north on I-81. It looked like they just updated the rooms with new furniture and accessories. After taking to the front desk personnel it appears it was all done prior to big event they had recently. Room was great and a golf course view was a perfect way to start the morning. One word of caution… the breakfast buffet was useless Sunday morning. No menu to order from at the restaurant unless you order room service… does not make any sense.

I did not use any other services such as the pool, gym or conference center so no comments on these services...

Room Tip: Stop at one of the Virginia Welcome Centers around and you will find a 20% discount off their walk-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRING HILL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Where do I start: 1) first and foremost was the mattress. This should have been replaced 20 years ago. I don't know a lot about mattresses but I do know that when you get into bed you should not find yourself rolling into a depression in the middle. 2) Bathroom, could not use the exhaust fan due to the fact that it sounded like a lawnmower engine. Had to wait 10 minutes between showers because the water filled up the tub and went down very slowly. 3) Ice machine broken on our floor and had to use the one on the floor below. 4) no laundry bag and ironing board cover ripped. 5) lastly the whole room smelled of mold. All in all this hotel is in desperate need of and upgrade or else shut it down. It is definitely not worth the price. I would expect these conditions from a $30 a night hotel and not a $100 a night hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear FRANK D,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you have encountered with some of our amenities and deeply regret the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to address any issues that may come up. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Address: 152 Fairway Lane & Country Club Rd, I-81, Exit 225, Rt 275W, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton Hotel Staunton
Holiday Inn-Golf And Conf Center Staunton
Holiday Inn Staunton
Staunton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.