We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Upgrades!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152 Fairway Lane & Country Club Rd, I-81, Exit 225, Rt 275W, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Upgrades!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Now the best hotel on the I81 Va corridor ! The recent upgrades were extensive and very well done.The staff places an obvious emphasis on professionalism and hospitality. Hands down the most friendly hotel staff I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
37
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I say "speed trap" because you are a captive traveler along this stretch of Hwy 81 with few choices to stop and are probably beat after a long drive. This is not a destination area. The rooms are way overpriced (189/night) and are poorly insulated for sound. Noises come from adjacent rooms and from banging doors heard up and down the hall. And for this price there is not even a free continental breakfast or a coffee machine in the room. The only positives are it is newly renovated and clean. Keep driving.

Room Tip: Bargain the price down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've always enjoyed my stays here, but the new upgrades make it better than ever. The restaurant is fresh and new looking, and has a new menu to go with the new look. Absolutely the friendliest staff of any hotel I frequent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After reading some of the reviews regarding the progress of the renovations at this hotel, I was concerned. I was bringing a group of 20 people to the Staunton area and had stayed at the hotel when it was a Holiday Inn. The staff had been wonderful in the past and the hotel was never in poor condition. So I was surprised to read reviews indicating it was now "Hotel Impossible". I contacted the group sales manager regarding the renovations and she assured me they were moving along quite well. She even gave me weekly updates as to its progress. I decided to go there despite some of the reviews I read. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement! The staff is fantastic - they kept the bar and restaurant open for us because we were running late. The rooms we had were beautifully done. The portico is complete as are the parking lot and the pool. The only thing remaining to be done appears to be the "common room" where the bar will be located once it is complete. Honestly, I can't say enough about this hotel and its staff. We stayed at another Holiday Inn with comparable amenities the night before and it was not nearly as nice as this hotel. I am sure it will be back under the Holiday Inn banner in no time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place should be on Hotel Impossible! We arrived after taking the recommendation of the rental agent at the local Harley dealership. We were there July 11-13. You have to enter from the side door as the front entrance is under construction and closed. The upper parking lot looks like it's been strafed. Both indoor and outdoor pools are closed along with the bar. The landscaping is limited to mowing the weeds. The room we had needed paint but the carpet and hard surfaces in the bath were in good shape. Stay on the golf course side of the building as the noise from the interstate is loud. The best thing here are the people and the pancakes in the restaurant. The staff know they have a mess. It isn't going to get better in 90 days as promised but they keep trying. My guess is this place is under receivership, foreclosure by a lender who is operating on the cheap, or a real estate developer hoping some bank will loan them more money to fix things. There were four workman one day outside pouring concrete. The next day there was one worker in the indoor pool who was talking on his cell phone and smoking most of the time he was present. That's it. It would take nearly 40 people to work many weeks to get this place in shape for the HI to give them back their franchise.

Room Tip: Stay on the golf course side to avoid the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Once the renovations and upgrades are completed, this Hotel wil be a lovely place to lodge. West rooms face golf course. Be sure to request this side of Hotel for great views. We have stayed here many times while it was formerly a Holiday Inn Hotel. They are in the process of completing renov. to fly the Holiday Inn flag once again. Although the outside of the hotel shows signs of construction, for the most part the rooms are pretty updated and clean. Pool is closed during remodel, so don't expect this amenity.You will find bare walls and unfinished remodeling in lobby, (not too inviting). But because we are repeat customers, we will anxiouly await the completion and be sure to check back with them the next time we are in the area. Expected time of completion is Fall of 2012. Be sure to ask what phase of renovation they are in when making your reservation and ask for pricing consideration accordingly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Golf Course, it's a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the aftermath of the windstorm of Friday June 29, 2012 that tore up so much of the Eastern Seaboard. Yes the hotel is undergoing a refurb. Yes the pool is filled with construction debris and the main entrance was blocked by yellow tape and junk...

However, they had power, food and beds to sleep in. The room rate was $89 a night, and despite having had power back for only two hours when we arrived, the staff was courteous, helpful, and efficient. Especially (we could see) caring to people who lived nearby who had no power, including a couple with a newborn baby, a hearing impaired group, and travelers such as ourselves.

The rooms were large, the A/C worked very well (considering the daytime temps were nearing 100 F it was needed), and the rooms were clean. We had two rooms – one with king bed and one with two queen size beds – and they fit us quite well. The larger room had a mini-fridge and microwave which we did use.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and breakfast there too, using the morning buffet. The food was good, the service adequate (they were short staffed) but we had no complaints.

We found that the workers had no power at their homes yet were all hard at work making our stay as enjoyable as possible.

We’d wished the pool was usable, but considering we might have had to sleep our car, we dealt with it!

Huge kudos to the staff in hanging in there during the power loss and construction.

The building could use a good cleaning, but the hallways and carpets seemed to be clean, but the icemaker on 5 was leaking and non-operating and the carpet near that was squishy.

Putting more obvious signage to the property is a MUST until new signs are installed as it was hard to find after leaving I-81.

The property will be a great one once more when the construction is finished. But the jumble of stuff at the front of the buildign was and is a mess and was off-putting. But inside it all worked.

If I was the manager I'd:

1) Give the staff a pat of the back (and bonuses) for all the mess and muddling thru.
2) I'd stand on the construction manager's neck and force a cleanup. Get rid of the junk!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center

Address: 152 Fairway Lane & Country Club Rd, I-81, Exit 225, Rt 275W, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn-Golf & Conf Center Staunton Hotel Staunton
Holiday Inn-Golf And Conf Center Staunton
Holiday Inn Staunton
Staunton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.