We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Crossville, TN
1 review
“Not Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had read somewhere online that Sleep Inn is a "good value" with most properties costing around $80.00 per night. Not so in Staunton! With a senior discount we were charged $125.00 plus tax for a very average room. Desk clerk was totally useless in terms of answering basic WiFi issue (i.e., log-on problem); simply gave us an 800 number to call. Finally resolved problem ourselves. This hotel has perhaps 6-7 tables in the breakfast area - we had to wait an hour before we could get seated for the very basic, ho-hum breakfast. And we were not finished - had to finish eating in a hurry - when an employee started clearing out the area. Desk clerk had told us the breakfast was very good - there were minimal choices. The absolute WORST part was the stink bugs!! Check-in had a map on the counter indicating problem areas with stink bugs, and the area included Virginia. But we killed 5 & lay awake that night wondering if more bugs would swarm down over us. Surely there must be some way to prevent these nasty bugs from accumulating in rooms. This room definitely was NOT worth $125!!! Unlike another reviewer, we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I am very sorry you found your accommodations so unsatisfactory. We do have a small breakfast bar area and it is difficult to find seating when we are so busy. October weekends are the busiest of the year as many people travel in this area. I also can understand your frustration with the stilnk bugs, as are all of the staff. The entire Mid-Atlantic states are dealing with ihis problem. I do not have your name in this survey or any way to contact you but if you would contact me I would like to offer your a discounted stay. I'm sure you will find your next stay quit different.
Joan M. Rush
Gen Mgr
gm.va289@choicehotels.com
540-885-1112
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
54
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms are basic And a bit dated, but the public areas appear to have been updated fairly recently. While the room was a bit small there was space to squeeze in a rollaway, which was already waiting as we had requested. The bathroom was on the small side with only a shower, but everything seemed clean. The included breakfast had a good selection in a nice breakfast room. The free wi-fi was good and easy to use. The rate was a good deal since everything in the area was booked up for a weekend during the fall foliage.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are 100% non-smoking and want to thank your for your comments. Our staff works very hard to satisfy all of your lodging needs and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Used a coupon from a rest stop discount book and got our room for $85+tax vs $112+tax. The hotel is relatively new and very clean overall. Staff was pleasant and efficient even though there were a lot of people waiting in line during our 5:30 PM check-in. Rooms are of the new style with only a walk-in shower vs the old shower/tub combo. Beds were comfortable but nothing special. Analog TV with basic cable. A small fridge was in our room. Several chain restaurants within a mile along with the usual fast food joints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of totally updating our guest rooms and we are addressing the breakfast bar situatioon. We hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebulon, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was the second time that my wife and I have stayed at this particular inn. We have found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the rooms very nice. The beds were comfortable, and the bed linen, bath towels and washcloths were nice and clean . We liked the roomy shower stall. The breakfast area was somewhat small, but we were able to find a table without waiting. The only negatives were the older style TV (poor reception & a lot of static), and one "stink bug" that was found in the room. A notice was posted at the registration desk informing guest that there was a problem with that particular pest in the Staunton area. We certainly would not hesitate to stay there again should we be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for you comments. We will be gettinlg 32" TV's next week and will be totally updating our rooms next spring. We hope you will give us another opportunity to satisfy your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wlimore, KY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife, young son and myself stayed here for quick overnight on our way to the Outer Banks. Pros:
1. Clean Room
2. Breakfast: Included numerous options including belgian waffles, yogurt, sausage biscuits, grits (package), oatmeal (package), pastries, cheese cubes, and more.
3. Rate: We used a special travel coupon (available at NC rest stops) and saved about $25 off the rack rate. The hotel does fill-up quickly and you cannot make advance reservations with that particular coupon, so we "rolled the dice" and it paid off.
4. Microwave and fridge were welcome amenities for our family.

Constructive feedback:
1. Our room did not have a tub, only a stand-up shower, which was OK, but we do prefer tubs for our son's bath time.
2. The decor in the room could also use some updating, as it has an older feel with wood veneer.
3. TVs are old tube-type and some of the stations do not come in clearly.
4. My wife and I prefer at least a queen bed, but the room we had only had two doubles (do any adults still sleep in a double bed?). This is just a preference, and since rate was more important to us, we dealt with it.
5. USA Today would be preferred over the local paper that they offer -- it seemed to be a little "too" local with very little national news coverage even on the front page.
6. Breakfast area is far too small (5 tables) for the number of rooms in the hotel. We were told (and appreciated the communication) at check-in that a tour bus would be coming down for breakfast between 7:30-8:30am, so we should come before or after that. Had we paid full-price, this would have been frustrating, especially since the breakfast offerings are so expansive.

Overall we were pleased with our stay, but I don't think I would pay full-price based upon the bed type, decor, and television.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, We do realize our Breakfast bar is small, We will be getting new flat screen TV"S soon and all rooms will be fully updated. Please give us another opportunity to satisfy your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Sleep Inn in Staunton, VA is excellent. We travel with a large dog which was not a problem. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms, bed, hallways, bathroom...... the whole place is clean. The breakfast is excellent. We highly recommend this place. Just what we needed.

Room Tip: We took whatever room we were assigned. Whole place is non smoking which is great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for responding to your stay at Sleep Inn in Staunton, VA. We are very pet friendly and try to offer our guest the best accommodations and customer service possible. I hope we can satisfy your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely.

Joan M. Rush
GEn. Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Ivy, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was looking for a hotel right off the highway on the way to Tennessee, and stayed here on the way down, and again on the way back. It was right there, but not close enough for any noise, so easy getting there and back to the highway. Right next door to a McDonald's if you need something to grab after traveling. Room smaller than I expected, but good enough for just my daughter and I, and my daughter said the shower was fantastic. Good morning free breakfast with different kinds of foods than most free breakfasts. Nice staff. Close to town if you want to stop in and do something there. Good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We do try ot offer a variety of items on our continental breakfast to satisfy all our guests. We hope you will come back to see us on you next visit to Tennessee.

Sincerely

Joan M. Rush
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.