We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Wlimore, KY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife, young son and myself stayed here for quick overnight on our way to the Outer Banks. Pros:
1. Clean Room
2. Breakfast: Included numerous options including belgian waffles, yogurt, sausage biscuits, grits (package), oatmeal (package), pastries, cheese cubes, and more.
3. Rate: We used a special travel coupon (available at NC rest stops) and saved about $25 off the rack rate. The hotel does fill-up quickly and you cannot make advance reservations with that particular coupon, so we "rolled the dice" and it paid off.
4. Microwave and fridge were welcome amenities for our family.

Constructive feedback:
1. Our room did not have a tub, only a stand-up shower, which was OK, but we do prefer tubs for our son's bath time.
2. The decor in the room could also use some updating, as it has an older feel with wood veneer.
3. TVs are old tube-type and some of the stations do not come in clearly.
4. My wife and I prefer at least a queen bed, but the room we had only had two doubles (do any adults still sleep in a double bed?). This is just a preference, and since rate was more important to us, we dealt with it.
5. USA Today would be preferred over the local paper that they offer -- it seemed to be a little "too" local with very little national news coverage even on the front page.
6. Breakfast area is far too small (5 tables) for the number of rooms in the hotel. We were told (and appreciated the communication) at check-in that a tour bus would be coming down for breakfast between 7:30-8:30am, so we should come before or after that. Had we paid full-price, this would have been frustrating, especially since the breakfast offerings are so expansive.

Overall we were pleased with our stay, but I don't think I would pay full-price based upon the bed type, decor, and television.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, We do realize our Breakfast bar is small, We will be getting new flat screen TV"S soon and all rooms will be fully updated. Please give us another opportunity to satisfy your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
78
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Sleep Inn in Staunton, VA is excellent. We travel with a large dog which was not a problem. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms, bed, hallways, bathroom...... the whole place is clean. The breakfast is excellent. We highly recommend this place. Just what we needed.

Room Tip: We took whatever room we were assigned. Whole place is non smoking which is great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for responding to your stay at Sleep Inn in Staunton, VA. We are very pet friendly and try to offer our guest the best accommodations and customer service possible. I hope we can satisfy your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely.

Joan M. Rush
GEn. Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Ivy, Ny
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was looking for a hotel right off the highway on the way to Tennessee, and stayed here on the way down, and again on the way back. It was right there, but not close enough for any noise, so easy getting there and back to the highway. Right next door to a McDonald's if you need something to grab after traveling. Room smaller than I expected, but good enough for just my daughter and I, and my daughter said the shower was fantastic. Good morning free breakfast with different kinds of foods than most free breakfasts. Nice staff. Close to town if you want to stop in and do something there. Good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We do try ot offer a variety of items on our continental breakfast to satisfy all our guests. We hope you will come back to see us on you next visit to Tennessee.

Sincerely

Joan M. Rush
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
384 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed one night at the Sleep Inn in Staunton during a short road trip to tour part of the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Shenandoah National Park. Since I was coming from the south, Staunton made a great stopping point due to the location relative to both BRP and SNP. Since this was a last minute trip, the B&Bs in the area were all booked, so a quick search of the reviews turned up a few likely chain lodging options. The Sleep Inn seemed reasonable and was located close to dining options in Staunton as well as provided good access back to the park, so I made a reservation just a few days prior to the trip.

I think this is an older establishment, but it has been updated in places. The furnishings in the room I had were dated, but in good shape. The room was good size, although the bathroom was a little small. The water pressure in the shower was a little low, but serviceable. The room was clean and comfortable, which were the primary concerns.

One complaint is with the free breakfast. The dining area is tiny and cramped and the variety of food is limited. In fact, the size of the room makes it very difficult to get to the food. Seating was very limited. I ended up sitting on a chair in the lobby. Interestingly, the free breakfast was one of the discriminating factors that lead me to select the Sleep Inn in the first place.

Overall, this was a decent place to stop for an overnight stay while touring through the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are doing renovations and have completed the lobby and breadfast bar but have not completed the guest rooms. I do agree sometimes the breakfast area can be crowded. I do hope you will stay with us in the future and will continue to see the progress in our attempts to offer you the best accommodations.
Thank You again
Sincerely
Joan M. Rush GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was almost impossible to find a room for one night- back to school day - . One more try was, Sleep Inn, what luck, not only we finally found a place to stay but the welcome we received,
helping with direction to find a shortcut to the Hospital - that was our destination - best place to go for dinner and our room was very clean and comfortable.
I recommend this Motel - Sleep Inn - to any body highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kink comments.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am very happy you found us and hope we can satisfy your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Joan M. Rush GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The room was clean but kind of chintzy. Everything in the room was tethered down with straps. The Iron was attached to ironing board, hair dryer to the wall. No bathtub just a toilet and shower. Makes you wonder what the clientelle is. Wi FI and cell phone did not work well, probably due to the rock wall outside the window. Breakfast was good -- if you beat the bus down.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to reviiew our hotel. I am sorry you did not find the accommodations satisfactory. Most Sleep Inns do have the shower stalls but we do have rroms with tubs. Should you choose to stay with us again please request a room with a tub

Sincerely

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stay at this Sleep Inn frequently on my way from SC to NJ because it is clean, the staff is always friendly, and the town of Staunton has many great restaurants. It is currently under minor renovation(it really doesn't need it) and I look forward to seeing what they've done to it next time I travel north. The only thing they could improve is to create a larger breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comment about our hotel. We are renovating and hope it did not cause you any inconvenience. We are looking forward to your return visit.

Joan M. Rush
General Managrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Family Hotel in Staunton
#5 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.