We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Mt. Ivy, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was looking for a hotel right off the highway on the way to Tennessee, and stayed here on the way down, and again on the way back. It was right there, but not close enough for any noise, so easy getting there and back to the highway. Right next door to a McDonald's if you need something to grab after traveling. Room smaller than I expected, but good enough for just my daughter and I, and my daughter said the shower was fantastic. Good morning free breakfast with different kinds of foods than most free breakfasts. Nice staff. Close to town if you want to stop in and do something there. Good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We do try ot offer a variety of items on our continental breakfast to satisfy all our guests. We hope you will come back to see us on you next visit to Tennessee.

Sincerely

Joan M. Rush
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    47
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
52
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed one night at the Sleep Inn in Staunton during a short road trip to tour part of the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Shenandoah National Park. Since I was coming from the south, Staunton made a great stopping point due to the location relative to both BRP and SNP. Since this was a last minute trip, the B&Bs in the area were all booked, so a quick search of the reviews turned up a few likely chain lodging options. The Sleep Inn seemed reasonable and was located close to dining options in Staunton as well as provided good access back to the park, so I made a reservation just a few days prior to the trip.

I think this is an older establishment, but it has been updated in places. The furnishings in the room I had were dated, but in good shape. The room was good size, although the bathroom was a little small. The water pressure in the shower was a little low, but serviceable. The room was clean and comfortable, which were the primary concerns.

One complaint is with the free breakfast. The dining area is tiny and cramped and the variety of food is limited. In fact, the size of the room makes it very difficult to get to the food. Seating was very limited. I ended up sitting on a chair in the lobby. Interestingly, the free breakfast was one of the discriminating factors that lead me to select the Sleep Inn in the first place.

Overall, this was a decent place to stop for an overnight stay while touring through the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are doing renovations and have completed the lobby and breadfast bar but have not completed the guest rooms. I do agree sometimes the breakfast area can be crowded. I do hope you will stay with us in the future and will continue to see the progress in our attempts to offer you the best accommodations.
Thank You again
Sincerely
Joan M. Rush GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was almost impossible to find a room for one night- back to school day - . One more try was, Sleep Inn, what luck, not only we finally found a place to stay but the welcome we received,
helping with direction to find a shortcut to the Hospital - that was our destination - best place to go for dinner and our room was very clean and comfortable.
I recommend this Motel - Sleep Inn - to any body highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kink comments.Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am very happy you found us and hope we can satisfy your lodging needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Joan M. Rush GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The room was clean but kind of chintzy. Everything in the room was tethered down with straps. The Iron was attached to ironing board, hair dryer to the wall. No bathtub just a toilet and shower. Makes you wonder what the clientelle is. Wi FI and cell phone did not work well, probably due to the rock wall outside the window. Breakfast was good -- if you beat the bus down.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to reviiew our hotel. I am sorry you did not find the accommodations satisfactory. Most Sleep Inns do have the shower stalls but we do have rroms with tubs. Should you choose to stay with us again please request a room with a tub

Sincerely

Joan M. Rush
Gen. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I stay at this Sleep Inn frequently on my way from SC to NJ because it is clean, the staff is always friendly, and the town of Staunton has many great restaurants. It is currently under minor renovation(it really doesn't need it) and I look forward to seeing what they've done to it next time I travel north. The only thing they could improve is to create a larger breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comment about our hotel. We are renovating and hope it did not cause you any inconvenience. We are looking forward to your return visit.

Joan M. Rush
General Managrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Over the past 3 years we have stopped at the sleep Inn in Staunton a total of 5 times. First, we stopped when traveling with my Mother in law when she had a small dog and more recently on our way to and from Florida with our 3 cats.

The place has always been very clean and quiet. The breakfast is not the greatest but not bad and they are really good about pets. Service was good each time and the prices were VERY reasonable. There is a few good restaurants close by and it's very quiet at night.

Great place to stay after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Great place to stop with a pet.....not dirty in the pet rooms which is a nice change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight at the Staunton Sleep Inn while traveling on a two-week business trip. I was totally impressed, from the friendly reception by the front desk staff, to the helpful attendent in the Breakfast Room, to the cleanliness of the entire facility. For a business traveler, the rooms at Sleep Inns are ideal. There is good work space, with excellent lighting, a shortcoming at many other hotels. I prefer the shower at Sleep Inns to the traditional bathtub at most hotels. Who takes a bath in a hotel bathtub anyway? This is a great hotel, for a reasonable, competitive price. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Staunton
Sleep Hotel
Sleep Inn Staunton
Staunton Sleep Inn
Address: 222 Jefferson Highway, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is centrally located off Interstate 81 in the Shenandoah Valley. Surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this Staunton hotel is close to the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia, Mary Baldwin College, P. Buckley Moss Museum, Blackfriars Theatre and Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library. The scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and Skyline Drive are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list