We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than i thought it would be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Staunton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Days Inn Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   273-D Bells Lane, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
virginia beach
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better than i thought it would be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

came over from the hampton roads area of virginia to visit my niece and get in some good hill training for my upcoming marathon and found the days inn very nice. room had everything you will need to include a fridge and microwave. bed was also great. pool was surprisingly big. was able to use the country roads around the hotel to get in some good running without worring about getting run over. saw two deer jump fences and around 25 rabbits. nice quite stay in the mountains.

Room Tip: get the coupon book at one of the rest stops to save some money and don't make a reservation. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    65
    63
    34
    28
See reviews for
91
62
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family stayed here twice, our way down to Myrtle Beach and back to Syracuse. The rooms were okay. Our non-smoking room smelled of stale smoke. The rooms could have used a good vacuuming around the ceiling corners and under the desk as there were cobwebs visible. Also our feet got dirty just from walking around on the carpet in the rooms. There were several dead bugs, cigarette butts and some garbage in the corridor leading from the front of the hotel to the back that I felt could have been cleaned up. The pool was nice, especially after a long day of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just what we were looking for . . . a room in the $65 range, with easy access to I-81, clean rooms and a nice, clean swimming pool. Arrived late after nine hours of driving from NYC and were happy we had reserved a room here (though I think walk-ins get a better deal than people who reserve over the web as we did). Pets are accepted (fees charged per pet). The people manning the front desk seem to be well trained and know what they're doing.

We had no clue how to work the TV (finding a channel guide, etc.) so would recommend that they leave some sort of channel guide or instructions in each room.

Had free breakfast (coffee and raisin bran) and took some food back to the room for my husband. Only mention this because of the review from KiaTy625 saying bringing breakfast back to the room was a problem.

Went for a great swim and then left.

Even though this hotel is very close to I-81, it is set back away from the commercial roads, which means you don't get the usual fast food wasteland for your view.

The only drawback was that the wi-fi didn't seem to be working. Not a problem for us but could have been a big problem if we were there on business. They do have a PC on hand in the lobby area for guest use.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel was good. It was late and we had a very easy check in since we didn't have any reservations. The place was clean and conveniently located off of the highway. The only complaint was about the Continental Breakfast. The people that were running that seemed to be a little on the aggressive side as far as to a few customers that wanted to bring their breakfast back to their room or one was for their spouse. Believe me it wasn't anything elaborate and it felt like they were hoovering over you while you ate and were overly efficient while cleaning up right behind you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Staunton, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Days Inn Staunton North on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate that you have recognized our easy check in, great rooms, nice hotel and convenient location. We will definately share your review to our housekeeping and breakfast team.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Days Inn Staunton North.

Regards,

Days Inn Staunton North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

When you stay at a Days Inn, you don't expect the amenities of the RItz. In VA, however, we don't usually stay in economy motels because our experience has been that economy motels in this state are not maintained well & often dirty & noisy. We read a few positive Travel Advisor reviews about this one in Staunton & decided to give it a try. We're glad we did. It was a bit tricky find - for some reason both navigators we were using insisted it was a quarter mile from where it really is. But once we found it, it was very nice. No frills, no amenities. But it was a no smoking room with no hint of smoke. The room was large, clean & quiet with a refrigerator, microwave & comfortable king size bed. What more can you ask for in an economy motel? We will stay here next time we are traveling I-81.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnStaunton, Manager at Days Inn Staunton, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear value guest,

We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay. We will be sharing your review with the entire team at Days Inn Staunton North. We have a beautiful property and wonderful team, which helps maintain our star rating. We are proud of our hotel and hope you will be able to enjoy another amazing stay soon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We reserved this room online and we were not unhappy with the room. We are non-smokers and always request non-smoking rooms. When you are getting a deal "price wise" there is usually a reason. This hotel was OK ..Not a "HxxxxN" but OK. We enjoyed our overnight stay and found Staunton to be a very nice area. Down town has some nice restaurants and stores....and a great "Cultural Heritage Museum". Family fun!!!

Room Tip: Quiet in the back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnStaunton, Manager at Days Inn Staunton, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback through Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that your room accommodations were satisfactory and you had a "very good stay with us."

We appreciate that you like the Staunton downtown. Plan a future visit as there are many places to visit and has to offer a lot in and around Staunton.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Days Inn Staunton North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We wanted to stay here a night on the way to Atlanta and we got a room, went in looked ok till we go to the bathroom and there were bugs. Went back to the front desk and told them we were not staying staff was stunned. We also went days with the charge pending on our card and having to call several times. Definately would not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Staunton

Address: 273-D Bells Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.