We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gelato!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the split banana co.

the split banana co.
7 w beverley St, Staunton, VA
866 492 3668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Charlotte Court House, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this shop. I had the "Death By Chocolate" but it was hard to choose between the yummy flavors. They will let you have a sample spoon if you are not sure you want the flavor. They make their own waffle cones.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    36
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Gellato in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sizes for everyone and flavors for the entire family. This place is a sooooo good. The small size runs under $3.00 and is a great ending to a dinner at one of the local eateries.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for this family of eight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I again am on awe at how many restaurants in this area use local producers! Great job! The ice cream was wonderful (from local grass fed cows!), the atmosphere was very welcoming for our large family and my oldest daughter ( who had been missing her piano at home) was able to play a bit on the provided piano.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Interesting favors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wide variety of favors, so everyone should find something they like. Hubby had the honey saffron. I had the caramel. Both were very tasty. Have to say though, didn't get much for the price. Will go back again, just not too often. Worth trying something new & to find favors that are a bit out of the ordinary!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ-USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great gelato in Virginia???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Driving through town recently on a Sunday night. It was like someone had rolled up the sidewalks and streets. The town was nearly deserted. We came up on a small group of people on the sidewalk and decided to check things out. Good decision; we found Split Banana. Hazelnut gelato was very good but the saffron/honey gelato was outstanding.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the split banana co. also viewed

 

Been to the split banana co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the split banana co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.