We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream in Staunton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the split banana co.

the split banana co.
7 w beverley St, Staunton, VA
866 492 3668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 103 restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Gloucester, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Skip the desert at the local eatery and take a walk to the Split Banana. They have a nice selection of wonderful ice cream and gelato. The portion selections are excellent at a fair price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    125
    32
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Do Not Leave Staunton Without Stopping Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Most awesome gelato on earth! Truly delicious. Rich,creamy,not too sweet and a little goes a long way. Stop in here for the best treat in central Virginia!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great place right on the main street of Staunton.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I were walking down the main street is Staunton, VA, when we saw some people sitting on a bench outside The Split Banana and eating ice cream. They told us it was wonderful and we decided to give it a try. They were so right!!!
I started by tasting and then had to have a waffle cone put into a dish and filled with 2 flavors of gelato. I had the Virginia Peanut Butter---amazing, and Hazlenut---super-amazing. My husband also had 2 great flavors.
Wonderful gelato in a busy place. Obviously, by the steady stream of customers, lots of people have discovered how good it is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A sweet treat in downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What's not to like when you open the door to smell fresh waffle cones baking? The servers are quick to offer sample tastings of the selections of sorbet,gelatos, and ice creams. The flavors are delicious and since produced and presented in small containers stay fresh. Servings are small, but quality and flavor wins out. The small spoons help you savor these treats. A sweet treat indeed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wonderful icecream and gelato! The "Death By Chocolate" is my favorite and I love the strawberry and razberry. What a great place for Staunton!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to the split banana co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the split banana co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.