We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Springs Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Star Tannery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pembroke Springs Retreat
6238 Wardensville Grade, Star Tannery, VA 22654   |  
Hotel amenities
DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I were there for one night. Everything was wonderful. The Floyd family was very friendly, nice and helpful. The place was clean and serene and nicely decorated. We stayed at the Sun Rise room and it was lovely and spacious. The Japanese bath and the breakfast were excellent. We did hiking there as well. There was nothing that I did not like. I would recommend staying for more than one night since we did not get to enjoy other parts of the retreat as much as I'd like to. They do allow children and we saw a couple high chairs but this place is so quiet that we are glad we did not bring our toddler with us.

Room Tip: There's only one Japanese style room (Sunrise room) so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you haven't visited Pembroke Springs B&B in Star Tannery you are missing out. This is the place to go to totally release, relax, and let go. The owners have created a lovely 5-room lodge, complete with Japanese baths overlooking the beautiful Shenandoah hill country. Forget the cell, IPhone, laptop, etc. Just chill out, enjoy the mellow ambience, and the hospitality of the owners. Also great for kids as they can roam free, walk with the dogs, play with the kitty, visit the geese, ducks and chickens and watch the deer and rabbits feed. This is a lovely, comfortable home and the Japanese hostess/owner is a fabuolous cook to boot. A truly great place to spend a few days relaxing and enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: All five rooms are beautifully furnished with American and Japanese antiques.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Wow, I am difficult to impress, but this was so super nice! The hosts did a great job making it resemble a piece of Japan in the middle of Virginia. I loved the baths, loved the room, the Japanese breakfast, the animal pen with peacocks, the forest trails:) It is just 1.5 hrs away from D.C., yet you feel like you are transported into another time and place. The silence is almost deafening - exactly the way I like it after a crazy week in the city. We stayed in Oak Room - highly recommend it as is has its own porch and a beautiful view of the forest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Pembroke Springs Retreat is located about 120 miles west of Washington DC. It has five lovely rooms with full baths, 2 fabulous large Japanese baths, and a view of North Mountain worth writing home about. There are well marked trails throughout the property for hiking, a tennis court, and fishing pond. If you make reservations for Wednesday or Friday Taeko prepares a lovely dinner...we had a tasty Japanese chicken and shrimp curry, mahi mahi ceviche with edamame, tea, and carrot cake. The breakfast is fabulous! It was grilled salmon, steamed acorn squash, a bit of asparagus and tomato, a slice of frittata type egg, and best of all the bowl of rice with instructions on how to beat up a raw egg with soy sauce and pouring it over the rice, a seaweed salad, and seaweed wafers...it was outstanding and made you feel very well nourished. After a hike into the mountain and one more soaking in the bath, we left feeling very happy and refreshed. Taeko, Walter, Lisa, and Yoko were just wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pembroke Springs Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Springs Retreat

Address: 6238 Wardensville Grade, Star Tannery, VA 22654
Location: United States > Virginia > Star Tannery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Star Tannery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Springs Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pembroke Springs Retreat to your Saves list