We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners have much to learn.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Fence Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Fence Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added White Fence Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
275 Chapel Road, Stanley, VA 22851   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Stanley B&B and Inns
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New owners have much to learn.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Although the Shenandoah Suite was well decorated, we felt uncomfortable with squeaky floors and bed. Rules posted in the bathroom concerning the jacuzzi were way too constrictive. Breakfast was ordinary and the owner watched us eat the limited selection - it was far from the gourmet spread advertised. We were asked to leave the room by 10:30 a.m. for house-keeping purposes, but when we returned, only the bed had been poorly made; the trash had not been emptied, no dishes nor towels had been touched and the ice bucket from the night before was still on the table with the melted ice water in it. The (central) air conditioning did not work well the first night we were there; the second night it did not work at all - when I tried to contact the owner, there was no response. There was no verbal nor written instructions abour the air conditioning, nor how to contact the owner if there was an emergency.

We did not see Cindy during our two days there. We felt we were being watched by the owner - as we walked through the grounds, Wayne appeared. We felt like we needed to leave the property to be alone (except for being in our room).

The owners have a lot to learn. This was not a good value for our money. We could have stayed at a 4 star hotel or motel and received better service. This was not the romantic get-away that we wanted. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperStanleyVA, Owner at White Fence Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
I am sorry this guest felt uncomfortable with us being out walking our dog, We do live on the property and we are out doing gardening, cleaning rooms etc so it is inevitable that we are going to run into guests.

The house was built in 1845 and yes the stairs squeak, but there is nothing that I can do.

We do put instruction on the jacuzzis as we dont want flooding to occur, and we dont want other guests disrupted by the motor sounds. I am sure this guest would not have want to be disturbed by someone using a jacuzzi at 3 am.

We dont hold anyone to a 10:30 housekeeping and we dont hold people to a 10:30 check out either. We normally start to clean the rooms after lunch for stay overs as we are doing the check out rooms with new arrivals first.

I was in the hosptial sick the week these guests were here, and I would have made myself available if I had been here. Unfortunately I was not. Although we do try to help our guest, and be as friendly as possible we do have chores around the property that have to be attended to , laundry cleaning, yard work, grocery shopping so we are not always around. We try to be available for all requests.

I just wish again that this person had brought these issues to someones attention, it would have been corrected to his liking, or he would not have paid. But unless we are told while they are hear, there is very little that can be done to correct the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Valley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful relaxing vacation at White Fence last month.

We stayed in the Blue Ridge Carriage House, a lovely cottage with lots of room, very comfortable furniture and nice decor. The cleanliness of the rooms and extra amenities such as the fireplace and the Jacuzzi were much appreciated.

Cindy and Wayne Williams are the new owners and innkeepers of the B&B and they were more than happy to assist us in any way.

They have really worked hard to upgrade the beautiful gardens and the entire grounds for their guest's pleasure and for the beautiful wedding settings.

Cindy was our chef, with a delightly variety of breakfasts including fresh fruit bowls each morning. Wayne was the gracious server, always attentive and on hand with fresh juice and coffee or tea if preferred.

We recommend the White Fence B&B highly, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

The English Ivy Cottage was very spacious, superbly decorated, and extremely comfortable and pleasant, and with Mike and Sally as the hosts, it made it very memorable. With its ten foot ceilings, and its sprawling space, it makes you feel like you are in a Presidential Suite!!! The rooms were the cleanest we have ever encountered in any travel location. Although country decorations are not normally my preference, the cottage was very tastefully decorated. My husband and I felt very comfortable, almost like we were at home. Mike and Sally, with their great English accents, truly made us feel very welcome. We especially enjoyed hearing snippets of his life and travels, Al and I got a real sense of Mike's devotion to his family. Mike was the waiter, and a good one I might add, he was very attentive to our every whim. Sally, who was cooking up a storm in the kitchen, demonstrated her culinary art form with a wonderful quiche the first morning, followed by phenomenal Ginger pancakes along with scrambled eggs with dried tomatoes on an English muffin the second day. This truly is a great away if you are interested in total relaxation with peace an quiet.
We will come back to visit Mike and Sally again.
Sincerely, Al and RobinJean Schlosburg

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Laurel NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

We took a trip to the Skyline drive and found this place by luck. It was a very comfortable stay in a beautiful carriage house. We enjoyed our host and the breakfast that followed. Seems to be a great place for a wedding. Many folks elope to this area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

My husband and I were married at the White Fence on Valentines Day. We purchased an elopement package that included everything: the ceremony, flowers, the cake, champagne (sparkling cider) toast, and photos. We reserved the Blue Carriage House, a separate cottage with a Jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The innkeepers are warm and entertaining. We are vegetarians, they accommodated us at breakfast, and the meal was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

The absolute best!!! my first bed and breakfast and sally and mike made my stay the best experience ever!!! my daughter and i were looking for a quiet and relaxing place to just get away from our busy life...we arrived at white fence and it was everything that we hoped for...we relaxed the whole time...it was great!!! mike and sally were so pleasant a pleasure to have met them. this place is a "must go" i will defenitely be back. thanks mike and sally for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We needed a weekend together, just the two of us. We had had enough of kids and family during the holidays. Lo and behold we found this quaint B&B in the Shenandoah’s. The accommodations were exceptional and the little touches added by Mike and Sally were unforgettable. The Shenandoah Suite is beautiful and romantic – the fireplace in the bedroom provided a wonderful ambiance. The Saturday morning breakfast basket was incredible. The area provided plenty to do and dining recommendations we excellent. We departed refreshed and look forward to our next stay.

  • Liked — Mike and Sally's hospitaility
  • Disliked — Had to drive to get something to eat
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Fence Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Fence Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Chapel Road, Stanley, VA 22851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Fence Bed and Breakfast, a Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast, in Stanley, Virginia is an 1843 Queen Anne Victorian on 3 acres.We cater to those seeking private, romantic accommodations in beautiful surroundings. Two distinctively decorated romantic guest cottages await you. Our B&B is less than a mile down the road from Page County's only operating vineyard, Wisteria Farm and Vineyard. We offer an Elopement Wedding Package and Honeymoon Anniversary Packages.Escape to White Fence for a weekend getaway or come mid week when the area is less crowded. Choose one of our private cottages where you can enjoy your whirlpool tub and fireplace. Your privacy is assured. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Fence Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.