We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Pasta best ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant

Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant
8265 Spotswood Trl, Stanardsville, VA 22973
(434) 985-1234
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Barboursville, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood Pasta best ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We often eat here when visiting my mother-in-law in a nearby nursing home. We have never had a mediocre meal but when my family met there for a birthday party I had the Seafood Pasta and it was truly fabulous and we indulged in belgian chocolate cheesecake for dessert. This is not white linen and fine winem nor is it the cookie cutter chain. It is an actual family run restaurant and for us it has become a favorite family gathering place. My husband is in love with the stromboli there. Servings are very ample, expect to take home leftovers. Current wait staff is young, friendly and efficient and the owner often is front of house greeting customers with a friendly welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not bad for pizza in virgina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found this place to be the only eatery in town. The pizza was not to bad for pizza in Virginia, and their steak sandwich was so so. They did have a large menu of Italian food that we did not try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It's the only place in town so no incentive to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The only reason you eat here is because you are in Stanardsville, you are hungry, and this is the only place to go with reasonable prices and semi-quick food. The food is inconsistent; one order at the table can be great and others be so-so. The strombolis are enormous and tasty and can feed several people. The pizza is standard pizza. Some wait staff are friendly, others are not. Bottom line, no one makes a special trip to go to Sal’s, you go because you are in Stanardsville and hungry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quick meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Through Trip Advisor, we heard about Sal's and went for lunch. Portions were large and tasty. Don't expect the best italian ever, but for a quick meal at a good price, it did the trick.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great food. Great service. Love the meat lovers Stromboli. The Belgian chocolate cheesecake is to die for. This establishment is highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Pizzeria & Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.