We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Priced, Wrong Atmosphere for Greene County” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Restaurant

The Standard Restaurant
76 Main St, Stanardsville, VA 22973
434-326-5474
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“High Priced, Wrong Atmosphere for Greene County”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stopped in , hoping to find a small country diner, and at first seemed so. There was a local bluegrass group performing in the corner, which we loved, but the roar of the other people there made it hard to hear the music. We noticed that the customers seemed to be 'yuppie-ish' and a lot of them drinking beer and wine. These were not the pleasant residents of Greene County whom we've known for many years. The waitress was rude, i think her name was Steph, who made several comments that her last day was tomorrow. Two of us ate a burger each and shared fries, and had two sodas with one refill. The total was 53 dollars! We could not believe how much everything costs. The burgers are not worth the price of 9.50 each, and they do not come with a side order. This is not the country style diner you would find in the country. We will not go there again. Too expensive , and it just feels like you are sitting smack dab in the middle of Middleburg or some northern style tavern. Does not fit the beauty and heritage of the shenandoah valley.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Happy Creek, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fare in small town Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Lydia Cabins and planned for a one night dinner out, and after reading reviews we chose The Standard. We arrived on time and were immediately seated with a smile. The wine and beer menu is pretty impressive with lots of variety. We reviewed the menu prior to our arrival so it was pretty easy to place our orders. We ordered one of their burgers and the chicken taco plate. The restaurant was fairly busy and our food arrived in good time. The burger was cooked to order, the toppings were tasty, and the bun was simply fantastic. The taco plate was popping with fresh ingredients and we had a most enjoyable time interacting with our waitress. This restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and it was an excellent time in the small town of Stanardsville. Should we ever be back in this neck of the woods we would definitely return to The Standard for dinner again. Just looking at the picture of that taco plate makes my mouth salivate.....Dios Mio! Lo sabroso!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had burgers when we went, they were above average. Very good unique beer list, not the boring every day stuff, and try the hummingbird cake, is like a cross between a carrot cake and banana bread

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I were spending the weekend at a cabin nearby and did not want to drive all the way into Charlottesville for dinner. Taking the recommendations from TripAdvisor, we found our way to the Standard Restaurant. Upon entering we were immediately seated in what seemed to be the former living room of the old home. Nicely decorated and quaint. The menu was fairly small with only a few choices. When our waitress arrived, she (very nicely) informed us that several of the (limited) items on the menu were not available. In fact, their steaks had just arrived... frozen... so the steak I was so looking forward to was not going to happen.

My wife got the appetizer sized crab cakes and I ordered the burger special. The food was good but seemed overpriced for the amount and quality. The best part of the meal was the basket of french fries (highly recommended I must say). It just seemed to us that this nice,local eatery was trying to be "too" fancy.

The best part of the evening was the live artist who eventually arrived to play and sing. He really was VERY good.

Nice place, but next year when we come back for our annual trip to the cabin, we plan to go ahead and make that drive to C-vill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meal with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Four of us went out and we took 20 month old with us. Restaurant was perfect place for some thing a little fancier but very comfortable with children. Food was very good, service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone as a very nice place to have dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Standard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.