We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Rheingarten

Zum Rheingarten
3998 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Stafford, VA 22554
703-221-5530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Stafford
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stafford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic German food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great place for a special occasion. It's a little pricey. Food is excellent and service very good. The menu is a great selection of authentic German food. I love the Jaeger Schnitzel and Spaetzle!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love this place! It's a lovely and small place tucked away from a major road. The menu delicious contains German classics and the staff is very friendly (example: several years ago, my mother approached the owner- who was sitting and folding napkins- to praise the cooking, and they ended up sitting together chatting and folding napkins together). The beer selection is also wonderful.

My only quibble is the prices; I would definitely consider this in the range of 'special occasion' as some of the dishes cost $20 or more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I had not been in ere for several years. Had a bad experience several years ago and also felt that price was very high for what you got. A friend kept saying I need to go back so I finally went to lunch there. I can not say enough good about them now. Whatever changed it is working. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delightful Staff and Amazing German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stopped in for dinner while in town on a business trip. The waitress, Petra, was very pleasant and helpful in choosing a meal. The pork was so tender it fell off the bone and needed little effort to cut with a fork. The potatoes and sauerkraut were also cooked to perfection. The meal was completed with some black forest cake that was wonderful. It was a fairly pricey meal, but well worth the cost. The look and feel of the home converted in to a restaurant along with the staff in authentic garb made the whole experience a great dinner. I'll definitely return on my next trip and highly recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We've never had a bad meal in this cute, German themed restaurant. It is a bit pricey so we only go on special occasions. The bar area does a steady business in the early evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Rheingarten also viewed

 

Been to Zum Rheingarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Rheingarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.