We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd pass it by” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe and Laurel

The Globe and Laurel
3987 Jeff Davis Hwy., Stafford, VA 22554
703-221-5763
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in Stafford
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stafford, VA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I'd pass it by”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The food and service at the Globe and Laurel are horrible. We stopped in one night for a quick bite. The food and the service both were horrible. There are better resturants in the area. Especially the one right across the street from here. Avoid the Globe and Laurel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I, together with 14 others "experienced" The Globe on Tuesday night (you know who you are!).

Fantastic meal, great camaraderie and a special "Thank You" to Chef James and our server, Charlotte. Awesome job!

Special mention has to be made of the salmon. It was suberb!

Thanks Rick and all your staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Road
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Good Way to End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I and my wife had spent a couple of days visiting the National Marine Corps Museum, and after reading a couple of other reviews, decided that we should continue our history lesson by visiting this restaurant. It was well worth the visit. As another review said, it is steeped in Marine Corps history and artifacts. The meal we had was very good, I had the house special steak, "The Semper Fi special." and my wife had the prime rib. Both were very good and cooked exactly the way we ordered. If you are a Marine and haven't visited this restaurant, I would highly recommend it, for the food and the ambiance. We had a nice conversation with the bartender after dinner, and he explained the history of the restaurant and owner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT SOUTH OF WASHINGTON DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

OOH RAH MARINES a trip to the museum of the marine corps is not completed until you have dined at the GLOBE and LAUREL in stafford va. it is just 4 miles south of quantico,s main gate. it is run by retired usmc maj. rick spooner , 80 plus years young . there onion soup and prime rib were the best i have ever eaten .i had a group of 12 marines and wives dine there last sat nite . out standing . SEMPER FI

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

There were 8 in our group, but our waitress was excellent. No delay in getting our food, and everyone's meal was delicious. Since we were visiting, we did not realize until we were ready to pay our bill that we were the only people left in the restaurant - no one had tried to rush us or tellus they were closing. As we left the restaurant, our cars were the only ones there. Great customer service, great food, great experience with family!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe and Laurel also viewed

 

Been to The Globe and Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe and Laurel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.