We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford

Save Saved
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Garrisonville Road, Stafford, VA 22554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Stafford
NEWTOWNABBEY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After a long flight we stayed in Stafford for 2 days visiting the local area. We were very well looked after and the breakfast was excellent. The reception staff very friendly and helpful in giving directions etc. The room was the usual Country Inns high standard, we were given a room upgrade without asking and the hotel was clean, welcoming and remained so during our stay.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to any traveller. The television had a great range of programmes especially the Golf Channel for an avid golfer!! The hotel is located a bit further out of Washington and the motorway traffic is bad mid week in the morning and afternoon due to lengthy road works and the daily commute. However other hotels face the same problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
11
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed one night on our way back to FL from MA. Had a small uhaul trailer on the back of our Jeep and was no issue to park there. We have a Great Dane that travels with us and this particular hotel has no weight limit for dogs, only a $25 fee. We had drove overnight and arrived at 6am and there was no issue to get into our room and sleep for a while. We weren't leaving until the next day so we were able to enjoy taking our dog to the outdoor patio area at the restaurant across the parking lot. This area had everything, from Target and Best Buy, to Bob Evans and Buffalo Wild Wings. Overall, good location for travelers, nice rooms with fridges and microwaves, free breakfast, good restaurants/bars nearby. Would stay again if we ever drive through VA.

Room Tip: Good to have a first floor room if you travel with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over Memorial weekend while visiting family. Check-in was super fast and Latrice was extremely nice and helpful. The room was average but very clean and smelled fresh. Breakfast was superb. Mary Ann does a great job cooking and keeping everything spotless. This was a great stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach. The hotel staff was very friendly, the location was convenient to the highway, the rate was decent and the included breakfast was just enough for us. The only complaint I had was the mattress was a bit soft in our room, but some people might like that! We would definitely stay here again when passing thru the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Often leery of motel in $80 price range, but this one was a nice surprise. Clean, large rooms with refrigerator. Nothing fancy but pleasant and functional. Excellent hot breakfast with helpful attendant - Mary Ann. All staff was friendly and seemed to take pride in their inn. Coffee, apples, candy, cookies, USA Today, all free in lobby. Will stay again when travelling up I-95. (less than an hour south of Washington)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had a great stay at the Country Inn. The older gentleman that checked me in was very friendly and thorough in explaining all of the hotel amenities and other places of interest in the immediate vicinity. This was my last hotel stay driving all the way from San Diego so I just wanted to get some decent sleep being that I had a terrible hotel stay the night before in Tennessee.

I was given a room very close to the lobby and I could here some foot traffic and voices throughout the night that interrupted me some but that was about the only complaint I had. Room was very clean, including the bathroom (which is big for me). Bed was comfortable and had more than enough pillows.

Room had everything I needed including shower items, wifi, cable, and other services.

Pleasant stay and the full breakfast in the morning was amazing and a nice change considering all I really had was fast food while driving and on the go. The dining area was very clean and they had free newspapers and a TV available. The woman taking care of the dining and breakfast area was also very nice and ensured everything was stocked up.

There are a lot of other hotels in the area but I chose this one based on the price tag. I'd stay here again, short or long term.

In the 5 budget hotels I stayed on my trip cross country trip, I rank this hotel no#1 because of the full breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I Recommend the Country Inn when in Stafford. Attentive staff, solid morning breakfast, clean large rooms. The gym is small and needs new equipment. Easy access to numerous shopping and eating establishments. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford

Address: 153 Garrisonville Road, Stafford, VA 22554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Stafford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel conveniently located just off I-95 only 35 miles south of Washington D.C. and 50 miles north of Richmond. With over 100 restaraunts within a square mile of our hotel and plenty of shopping within walking distance, the Country Inn Stafford is a great place to stop over when traveling or when visiting local attractions such as the Marine Corps Museum, Historical Downtown Fredericksburg, or Washington D.C. Don't leave without trying our free hot deluxe breakfast each morning or using our free in-room wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Stafford
Stafford Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Stafford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;