We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for a Super 8” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Stafford

Super 8 Motel Stafford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel Stafford to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Stafford
25 Wico Mico Drive, Stafford, VA 22554   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Stafford
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly, we have stayed in Super 8 motels all over Canada and the United States and we have never been let down before. We always encountered very good service, cleanliness and locations that suited our needs on each particular trip. We were enroute from Canada to Florida over the Christmas holidays. Many motels/hotels were full off of the I 95 when we stopped later in the evening. This was their last room and we took it feeling like we would be out of luck if we kept looking.
Well, it's little wonder that it was their last room. They should never have rented it out. The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly. The floor was dirty, there was hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub. The security lock on the door was smashed in two (easy hardware replacement!). We created a barracade to add a little protection. There was not a coffee maker in the room. We would have used it as there was no coffee in the kitchen b/n 8-9 am and no one was answering the bell to make some more. The toliet would not flush in the morning. There were burn holes in the comforter. We could go on. I have never been so disgusted by the state of a motel/hotel room before.
I know that this was a busy season. But, the owners should be prepared for this travel rush. This motel is a terrible representation for this chain of accomodations. Shame!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Found this motel after a long drive in June 2012. I am glad I did not see the reviews beforehand, had a total different experience. After rejecting a couple of other hotels based on price or room availability, this one had a reasonable rate of $74. We were given a king room on the first floor.

When we entered the room, we were surprised on the size of the room, fairly good size and the cleanliness of it. The room came with a microwave and a refrigerator,

The bed was very comfortable. Yes, there is a Wendy's in front, but once we closed the door, we never heard a thing,

My only complaint about the hotel was the breakfast that was available at the front desk, but with all the choices in the area, it was not a big deal for us,

When passing through the area a gain, I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina P, Manager at Super 8 Motel Stafford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for posting your positive comments on our property! Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from vacation to split our 12 hour drive in two. It was a decent room. Beds were hard and pillows were flat. The temperature control was wacky all night going on and off repeatedly to the point that it woke us up. We may have saved $20 but would have gladly paid it in the morning when we woke unrested and stiff. The continental breakfast was awful. Frozen white bagels, bad coffee, off-smelling milk. If we had to do it again, we would have chosen a different place. Although this area offers many dining options and is right off I95.

All that said, the staff were really nice. I think they live there at the motel. We made an error in our booking and according to the reservation, we weren't able to make changes. I called and the desk clerk just switched the reservation with no penalty. That doesn't happen very often these days!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina P, Manager at Super 8 Motel Stafford, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for posting your review on our property! We do have all new mattress in all of our rooms but some times our guest love them and some say they are too firm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We are non-smokers who left smelling of cigarettes from our stinky, dingy, unclean room. The bath tub wasn't very clean, the management patrolled the parking lot (which made me uneasy), the room was very dark, not enough towels, one little bottle of shampoo, no iron or ironing board in room, uncomfortable beds, and not enough pillows. Clearly, who ever owns this hotel is cheap and it showed. I've stayed in some pretty decent Motel 8s, but this place was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were stuck in traffic most of the day travelling south on the I95 and were looking for a place to stay during the early evening. Our GPS found us the Super 8 and we were so tired that we decided to stay even though we felt the nightly rate was high.

The hotel/rooms was clean and it met our needs for the evening. It is located close to numerous eating and shopping venues. The morning breakfast was limted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel Stafford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Stafford

Address: 25 Wico Mico Drive, Stafford, VA 22554
Location: United States > Virginia > Stafford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Stafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Motel Stafford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Super 8
Stafford Super Eight
Super Eight Stafford
Super 8 Stafford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Stafford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.