We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a geat place to stay in DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just a geat place to stay in DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We just got back yesterday and was very impressed. We stayed here two years ago. Then this hotel was a little worn out and a ok place. But now it is a great place to stay. The property is completely renovated. The room was bright and clean. New everything from the carpeting, beds, furnishing, bathroom and flat screen television. Then. The free breakfast bar was lousy. Now it is wonderfull with fresh pastries and hot scrambled eggs and many items to choose from. The staff is kind and efficiant. Took the shuttle to metro station and driver told us about new management staff that does a wonderfull job. The owners spent alot of money revovating and it shows. There is a great Mexican restaurant around the corner. Best Mexican food north of the border and a great Chinese restaurant next to Trader Joes that even cooks your meal to order and has unique chinese dishes if that is what you want. Even has pig stomacks. Overall, a four star hotel at two star prices!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    19
    21
    7
See reviews for
43
29
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed there several times this year on business, then brought my wife there for a weekend visit. The staff was friendly and accomodating every time, and they were especially good to her.

It's larger than the typical H.I. Express; apparently it's a former full-service Holiday Inn.

Breakfast included, hot and cold items. I'm a big breakfast eater and this was a great way for me to start the day.

My wife found a Talbot's outlet store a block away. I found a Radio Shack, and a surprisingly reasonable local diner across the street.

It's a shuttle ride from the Metro stop, but they would meet me at the station if I called on the way.

All in all, pleasant experience and a good value

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I had to travel back to Springfield to make arrangements for my mother's funeral. A stressful enough trip was made as kind and caring as possible by the hotel staff, especially STACEY BOULWARE. If he could be cloned, this world we live in would certainly be a more peaceful place to live.
Thank you Stacey and Holiday Inn Express for making this trip less trying than I could ever have imagined.
Sincerely
Jim Urick - member Priority Club

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is the "only" hotel I stay in while either visiting the area or passing through to my final destination. I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year and my latest stay was the very end of August 2009. My stays there only get better. This is my first visit there since the remodel has been completed. The hotel was attractive before the remodel and now it is just gorgeous!
Finally, the most memorable and enjoyable part of my stays there was my favorite front desk supervisor, Mr. Stacey Boulware. Mr. Boulware's front desk customer service is impeccable. He is such an asset to this hotel as he continues to provide all guests with excellent service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I'm planning a renunion for a group of Marines that I served with in Quantico, VA. I had requested pricing & info from several hotels in the area. The Sales Manager, Keith Moore, responded to my inquiry so quickly. He had an entire proposal drafted up vary professionally. I only heard from 2 other hotels, which didn't do half of the effort Keith did & also didn't include half of the extras you get staying here. I had to be in DC yesterday, so my husband & I decided to stay here to get an idea of what it really looked like. They're recently redone the entire hotel & it looks great. The staff all were very friendly as well. There was absolutely no disturbances even though the hotel is right off of the I-95 exit. There are several resturants & shopping within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast included has a variety of different things to choose from. I like the idea of the shuttle to the DC metro, too. There is a car rental service right there in the hotel, so that is good as well. I definately will be reserving rooms for our Marine Corps renunion next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roadtrip038
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

My family stay at the Holiday Inn Express with my sons baseball team. The location allow my family to visit Washington,DC during our down time. We took the hotel shuttle to the"metro" for a easy ride into the city. Very easy and fun for the kids. The staff was great, getting us around and helping us find things to do. The kids loved the pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

In reseraching our DC vacation, the downtown hotels were out of our budget. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and were happy we did. My kids, age 4 and 8 loved the pool. The staff was friendly and everything in the hotel was NEW! It was very convenient for us to take the metro downtown every day. This saved us a ton of money since we didn't have to pay the $30+ dollars a day for parking down town.
I don't know what it was like before, but it is wonderful now. I would recommend it again and agin for families and will probably book it on my next DC business trip becasue I felt so safe and teh staff was so friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.