We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed two nights, and it was a great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
1 review
“We stayed two nights, and it was a great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Every person in the hotel, the cleaning crew, the breakfast crew, the shuttle service, and everyone at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly and pleasant to talk with.
The room and bath were clean and the bed sooo comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    19
    24
    8
See reviews for
50
30
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Searching for a hotel close to DCA, everything right next to the airport was $200-300 a night. The HIE in Springfield was a reasonable price and definitely cheaper than anything else I had found within a 10 mile radius of the airport. I was pleasantly surprised that it was a very clean, beautiful, looks like a new hotel. Located in a shopping center type area, gas station to fill rental car was a block away. I noticed a shuttle bus there (although I didn't use it) so I imagine they probably provide shuttle service to the metro station which isn't that far away. Staff were all very friendly. Free breakfast was ample with choices, real scrambled eggs instead of those fake eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, pancakes, french toast.... and the area was very large so plenty of tables for all the guests and 2-3 staff members constantly restocking and cleaning. I checked the rush hour traffic and was surprised google said it was only a 30 minute drive to the airport (just really thought it would be alot worse) so I waited till 9:40 and got there in about 15-20 minutes. Hotel offers free parking, free internet, queen beds (not doubles). Rooms were good size, plenty of outlets right on the night stand, shower and water pressure were excellent, A/C ran quietly and very efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

The hotel was clean however the air conditioner did not work properly and the drain stopper was broken and we were unable to take a bath. We called the front desk and they sent someone up and he was unable to fix the drain stopper that night so when we took a shower the water did not drain . We had to prop the stopper with a washcloth to drain the tub. We asked him to take a look at the air conditioner and he said it was ok and left. The plug ins on the beds did not work and the other plug ins were further way and inconvenient. We were told to call the hotel for free Suttle service from the metro and when I called they told us 15-20 mins, 50 mins later it arrived.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintersville, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

The check in went quickly and the desk person was friendly and courteous. The lobby area was clean as was the entrance and parking area.

Our room was clean and the furnishings in good shape. This must be an older facility since the bathroom was so small, but the important thing was that it was clean.

The breakfast had the usual selections and the breakfast was good.

All staff members were friendly and courteous.

I would recommend this facility to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, May 12, 2015
Dear Valuable Guest! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. While we are unable change the configurations of our structure, room size, etc., we are so glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest room and amenities. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed here on our visit to DC. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle to the metro was very convenient and was ready to go whenever we called. Clean rooms are a must wherever I stay and Holiday Inn Express has never let me down. My husband also enjoyed the hot breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Dear AngieT522! Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience! Our complimentary local shuttle service is quite popular among all of our guests and we are glad you enjoyed it as well! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I am only giving one star rating because in my opinion this hotel only meets one of the 5 critical areas I look for when staying in a hotel. 1.) Cleanliness. This is the only area this hotel excels at. The housekeeping staff deserve recognition because this is one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. 2.) Comfort. If you like sleeping on a slab of granite topped off with razor sharp rocks, then this rock hard bed is for you. If on the other hand you prefer not waking up with back pain, then you may just want to sleep on the floor. 3.) Quiet and ability to relax. This hotel is near a busy street and you definitely hear the road noise, but more importantly you can hear everything your neighbor does. There is no soundproofing at all. Your neighbor talks? You hear it. Your neighbor watches tv loudly? You hear it. Your neighbor talks? You hear it. God forbid your neighbor be a bunch of teenage girls that act like teenagers and you're going to hear it. When you complain it does no good. There is no follow up. 4.) Front desk staff. The lack of reaction to complaints gets the front desk an F in customer service. Phone in room did not work. Reported it. Guess what? After several days here the phone still doesn't work and hasn't been fixed/replaced. 5.) Features as advertised. Advertised microwave in room. When we arrive find out it's an extra $15 per day. No thanks. Will definitely never stay here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest, we sincerely apologize for having failed all of your expectations, with the exception of housekeeping, it seems. As guest satisfaction is our highest priority, we appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address our weak areas. We hope that, after all, you will allow us a second chance sometime in the future. The service experienced is not what our team and hotel stand for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Stayed here on our way to Myrtle Beach SC. Clean hotel with newer updates. great breakfast with bacon. We love bacon so my son was very happy. We had a double room but it was very awkward. I guess there was supposed to be a closet that they never finished. The room had chairs from the banquet room in it like the house keeping was using the room for a private break room. TV was a bit fuzzy but good channel selection.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Hello Bard J! Thank you so much for staying with us! Our sincerely apologies for the oversight of the banquet chairs that were left in the room by accident. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise! The complimentary hot breakfast buffet is quite a popular item among our guests and offers many choices, including turkey sausage as an alternative to bacon, if so desired. See you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.