We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Rogers, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The room was beautiful - comfortable and quiet. We really appreciated having the shuttle to the metro! The breakfast was wonderful, as I always expect from HI Express. Checking in and out was a breeze and the staff was very helpful and friendly! A great HI Express experience! My reservation was made through a rewards program with Verizon, so I really have to go with the hotel's reputation, and in this case, I definitely wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our stay and complimentary shuttle service, which is available to the metro as well as nearby restaurants and local attractions. It was our pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    19
    21
    7
See reviews for
42
28
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was my favorite hotel out of the paces we stayed while on our DC to NYC trip! very comfy beds, nice decor, mini fridge, and breakfast! It was also close to a CVS and everyone was very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

After driving 14 hours from Florida to Virginia non stop I was done. I had planned on staying with family but it just didn't pan out so I booked a room just for one night. It was extremely close to my family and very easy to get to as well. It seemed like the hotel was just recently renovated and still somewhat under construction but not overly noticeable. The room was great, very clean and modern. For some silly reason I checked out not realizing it would probably just be easier to stay another two nights. We I decided to check back in they gave me a similar room on a different floor. Not even 10 minutes of being in the room and there were children running up and down the hall making all kind of noise, banging on doors. So I went downstairs and the gentleman at the front desk apologized and said he forgot there was a large family taking most of the rooms on that floor and he would move me immediately. I got my original room back, and I have to say it was one of the most enjoyable stays I have ever had in a hotel recently. The staff was helpful and very polite. I would have rated this hotel a little higher but the breakfast was pretty terrible. Granted it's complimentary but what good is that if it's not exactly edible? Anytime I go back I definitely plan on staying here again. The price was also great, I booked by calling the hotel and got a cheaper price than what was online through different hotel sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback for your most recent stay. We are delighted that we met your expectation regarding our newly guest room accommodations. Our renovations of our guest rooms have been completed with the exception of one floor. While many of our guests enjoy our full hot breakfast buffet that is being served according to IHG Holiday Inn Express standards, we sincerely apologize that it was not suitable for your own needs. It is our greatest desire to leave you with a better impression during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed from Wednesday to Sunday, visiting friends in nearby Springfield. Got our reservations through Priceline and we were very pleased with our stay. Checking in and out was very fast (7pm and 10:30am). Our room faced I95 but it was reasonably quiet. The room was well furnished and included a (quiet) fridge. We did miss an in-room safebox.

The adjacent shopping center was convenient for last-minute shopping and there are many nearby restaurants for dine-in or take out - a bonus for us since we were watching the World Cup matches in our room.

Breakfast was adequate for the room rate and the hotel staff kept things running smoothly despite the number of guests.

We did have a couple of problems (the room keys became demagnetized when kept next to my cellphone; one day we left the room around 1pm and it remained undone) the hotel staff sorted things out very quickly. From what we saw, the hotel has exactly two elevators - too few and at times we had to use the stairs (we stayed at the 2nd floor - exit is to the parking lot).

For the rate we paid, I think that this hotel and services were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The entire hotel is in need of a facelift. The furniture and carpet is stained or gouged, both in the rooms and common areas. The room I stayed in had a musty smell. The cleaning staff is not managed well as evidenced by the fact that when I returned to my room at 3:30 it had not been cleaned. On the up side, the breakfast bar was well tended and they keep a bowl of apples available around the clock. I will find a new hotel when I am in the DC area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Your feedback is important and we listen to our guests. As our hotel is currently undergoing renovation, we will be able to showcase newly renovated guest rooms, meeting space, public and outside areas very soon. It is a big project and we are not only committed to getting it done but also with as few interruptions and inconveniences to our guests as possible. Our housekeeping staff is usually on the floors cleaning rooms between 8 am - 4:30 pm during the weekdays and between 9 am and 5:30 pm on the weekends. We are happy to accommodate any special requests and specific times during which service is preferred or not desired at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

There is ample parking and it's free - YAY.
There are restaurants and shops right across the street so you don't need to drive - double yay.
The staff is pretty decent in that they all seem pretty nice for the most part too and the rooms are nothing to complain about. It's pretty cheap to stay here and it looks like any other hotel you'd pay a little more to stay at as far as the rooms go but there is a massive catch. The walls seem to be paper thin so everyone in the hall way even talking with "indoor voices" can be heard. There always seems to be kids running up and down the halls without fail at the most absurd times and the slamming of doors is abundant. That's probably everywhere you go though right? Well sure maybe but this hotel is literally right next to a major road and just behind ramps to major highways so the noise from the road is almost non stop and it's SUPER loud. This is one of the noisiest hotels I have ever been to and if you don't have earplugs you will not get any sleep. For the noise level alone, I will never stay here again but that's just because I treasure my sleep and am a very light sleeper so it being as noisy as it is just does not allow for me to get any rest whatsoever. If you can sleep through a hurricane this wouldn't be a bad place for you as everything else seems decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear zellywelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your kind words towards our hotel staff and parking service. However, it is truly regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because of the noise levels experienced. I have shared your concern with our hotel management for review and consider improvements where needed.

Though we would have preferred you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On the second morning the fire alarm was being tested all morning. This was very irritating since we were there until 11:30. Also, the pipes were washed out, and the whole parking lot was under water when we needed to load the car. The breakfast was good, except the orange juice is terrible. It separates immediately and tastes like water and sludge on the bottom of the glass. We did not use the van to take us to the Metro because we had 3 small children. I used part points, part cash and was only able to get double beds. I am a Premiere member and asked for an upgrade. We were on the 9th floor where most of the rooms were being remodeled and furniture replaced. We had to walk around furniture and boxes to get down the hall. The room door was old and repainted, making it stick and hard to open. I don't think that was much of an upgrade. The hotel is right by several interstates intersecting, but the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Morris,
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with a more enjoyable experience during your stay with us. There is never a good time for our annual fire alarm system & generator testing and even though there are only a few floors left to be renovated, the 9th floor is one of them, unfortunately. Hopefully, we will see you again sometime traveling through the area and will be able to accommodate you in one of our newly renovated rooms or even a suite as a more suitable upgrade for our very valued IHG Reward Members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6401 Brandon Ave., Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield is a 10 story hotel with newly renovated guest rooms ideally located 13 miles south of Washington, DC at the junction of I-95, I-395, and I-495 Capital Beltway. Our hotel is 11 miles south of Reagan National Airport (DCA) and with our free shuttle servicing the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station the metropolitan area awaits. Local attractions and businesses include: the White House, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, Amtrak Auto Train, Raytheon, Lockheed Martin, General Dynamics, SAIC, General Motors, the Pentagon, Fort Belvoir, and Quantico. Shoppers will enjoy Springfield Mall, Tysons Corner Mall, and Potomac Mills.The Springfield Holiday Inn Express features 194 guest rooms with newly upgraded decor, complimentary high-speed Internet access (wireless throughout hotel, wired in select rooms), complimentary breakfast, free parking, and outdoor pool. Allow the professional sales staff at Holiday Inn Express in Springfield to assist you with your next banquet or social function; we can accommodate up to 200 people. Stay Smart with us and enjoy all of the convenience of Washington, without all of the hassle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Springfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC SW-Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.