We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex Mex - Popular & Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Austin Grill
8430-A Old Keene Mill Rd., Springfield, VA 22152
703-644-3111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 141 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tex Mex - Popular & Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've been eating at this Austin Grill location since 2007. The quality and menu offerings have varied over the years, but when we want a margarita, queso or a Mexican brunch…this is where we go. Always good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    14
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crazzzzs
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Austin Grill, Springfield--What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been going to Austin Grill in Springfield for many years. In the last couple years it is one of the few places my dear friend likes because of their gluten free menu items. We went last night (11/22/13) after a 3 month hiatus and found there were a lot of changes, and not for the better besides the large screen TV in the back of the restaurant. Where shall I start!?!? Margarita on the rocks . . . use to be a great way to start a great meal. I had to send mine back it was so sour. I got punished with what tasted like a virgin margarita. Our friend who arrived 15 minutes later also ordered a margarita and same sour first drink which she also had to send back. NEXT, the menu was changed substantially - no more tamales, no Joe Ely combo -- me sad. So I ordered the Stevie Ray combo (A chicken enchilada with mild green chile sauce and a grilled skirt steak taco) as did my friend's husband. Plentiful beans and rice. Small, tightly rolled chicken enchilada (really looked loke a chicken tacquita from Costco) and a taco filled with 5-6 small pieces of skirt steak and cheese (didn't even fill the flour tortilla half way). I brought it to our server's attention to no avail. My husband ordered the taco salad with spicy beef and asked for Ranch dressing instead of the red salsa vinaigrette; he got both!?! During our 2+ hour dinner (engaging conversation) not once did the manager stop by our table about the lousy drinks and skimpy portions. In these economic times with manufacturers packaging things like ice cream in smaller containers and charging the same or more, I don't think that marketing strategy works so well for restaurants!!!!!! Think that's our last time at that location. Husband said the Austin Grill in Old Towne Alexandria is still great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New menu,too bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tried the new menu and was completely unimpressed.Plus,they used to have a fairly good selection of gluten- free food for my wife.Very few choices on the new menu.add- in poor,un txt entice service and we Won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Austin Grill every couple months for 13 years. Every few years it gets a new menu.... and never really seems to improve. We loved it for many years, excellent food and staff. Went back last Friday to a new menu and new decor, and we were extremely disappointed. The chicken was dry and tasteless, it used to be mouthwatering tender. The taco tasted old...like it had been reheated several times. Oh, I almost forgot.... Not only has the food quality gotten poorer and poorer the prices have gotten higher and higher.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Austin Grill has gone downhill...at least in my opinion. We used to go there often...we enjoyed the food, friendly service and nice atmosphere. But it has changed. It is loud and hard to hear. The food has gone downhill and the service is often hit or miss. The chips are good! But the food in general is bland, sometimes cold, and just not good. We were there with friends, and they were disappointed as well...overdone eggs, server was slow and not attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin Grill also viewed

Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 
Springfield, Fairfax County
Springfield, Fairfax County
 

Been to Austin Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.