We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in Springfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Springfield

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in Springfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting family in Springfield. The hotel is very conveniently located right off exit 169A of I-95. We were pleased with the hotel, and would stay there again when in the area. It would also be a great base for exploring DC as the Franconia/Springfield Metro Station is only ½ mile away and the hotel runs a free shuttle to the station.

When we arrived, we had somewhat of a difficult time deciding where to go to check in. What appears to be the “front door” faces the street, but there is no drive way to get to it. A sign indicating where to go to check in would have been helpful.

Once we found our way to the desk, we were checked into our room quickly. The front desk person told us about breakfast, and we were on our way.

We were on the second floor. Our room was very nicely laid out, and was immaculately clean. There is a medium size bathroom with Paul Mitchel toiletries, a kitchen area that included a medium size refrigerator with a separate freezer, a small stove, a dishwasher, and a microwave. There were several nice quality pots and pans, utensils, and place setting for four, in addition to measuring cup, measuring spoons, corkscrew, can opener, toaster, coffee maker, and microwave pan. There is a very nice desk/work area with multiple outlets and a lamp, as well as internet connection (internet access is included) and a “roll out” computer/typing height desk that allows you to move your work to anywhere in the room. The living area included a small sofa and a chair, and a rolling hassock/coffee table. The top of the hassock was removable and could serve as a lap tray. The room we were in had a full size bed and extra pillows. It was quite comfortable and we slept well.

Breakfast is in a bright room on the first floor. The most popular item was the “make your own waffle” station. This was quite easy to use and made actually quite good waffles provided you remembered to spray the waffle iron with the oil provided and followed the directions. In addition to the waffles, there were hard boiled eggs, and a large assortment of breads, rolls, muffins, bagels and even French toast that could be placed in the toaster for heating, as well as a selection of cereals and fresh apples and bananas. A cooler held small cartons of milk (whole and skim) and several varieties of yogurt . Of course there was also coffee, tea, hot chocolate, orange and apple juice available. In all a very nice continental breakfast. I did notice later in the morning, after the breakfast hours, that there was still some yogurt and milk in the cooler which was really nice.

Accessibility: There are no stairs into the hotel, and the elevator is large enough to accommodate those with assistive devices and even a power wheelchair. Be sure to ask for an accessible suite otherwise using the bathroom may prove a challenge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
9
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stay at this hotel August 4-August 9 2013. The guest services staff was very good they just need better communication with each other. We had some minor/ major snafus however the evening manager was able to take care of all of my needs. The kitchen / breakfast attendant was quite rude and after that first experience with her I did not return to breakfast for the remaining of my stay. The hotel is pet friendly so I was able to bring my puppy with me as well as my dad, daughter and cousin. I did the survey that Marriott sent me and the hotel replied so I know they are reading my concerns. All in all the stay was good despite the major issues we kept having. I will say this is a quick drive into DC and there are lots of places to eat near by, the Express way is right there and there are places to shop and a cvs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

towneplace is not the high end of marriott but their service is great and they responded to my feedback promptly. i used to book their metropass rates and i found their rates are slightly higher than the rate my employer could reimbursed. after talking to them, they lowed down their rate (by $3/night) promtply and responded to me with great personal service to satisfy my need completely. i am so happy with their management and will stay there much more frequently probably 100 nights in year 2014.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was very comfortable. We had a 2-bedroom with 4 adults and had plenty of space. Front Desk Staff was fantastic and very helpful with directions and recommendations. Breakfast was better than average for this type of hotel. Room was clean and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Friendly staff we arrived a little early and there was no issue about checking in a little early, We reserved a room with 2BR there was a large sofa that turned into a queen bed and full equipped kitchen. Breakfast was ok the best part of it was the waffles. The hotel is located near a large shopping center and the hotel is located at the highway exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We reserved a two-bedroom suite room, and it was nice. Two separate bedrooms with common sitting area and kitchen. Breakfast was included, though it wasn't a great spread. Lots of breads, with the only protein available being from rubbery hard-cooked eggs. Only fruit option were bowls of hard apples and bananas. Did enjoy the waffles, though. The room was clean and mostly in good repair. Staff service was excellent. My only quibbles other than the breakfast options are small ones. Towels are thin and puny; our kitchenette had no silverware, utensils or plates, only a couple of glasses; the coffee that was available 24/7 in the lobby was pretty awful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanda J, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you and your family had a great time . Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your family. We hope that you consider in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked this hotel online, prepaid the room, due to no other rooms available in the area. Found out the hard way this is franchised hotel. The hotel had no problem in charging my card twice for the stay and it took several days and many phone calls to have the money credited. Many Marriott employees did not see any wrong in this. The rate was changed and charged without any concern or care.
The room is sub-par. Clean, but the main door to the room is loose on the hinges so it takes extra effort to make sure it is closed. The chair in the room shows sign that a cat must have been in the room and used it as a scratching post. The toilet paper holder in the bathroom is so close to the seat of the toilet, it had to be removed to sit on the seat like an adult. The is no where to put clothing, as the closet doors are stuck and will have to be pounded out to make usable again, and there is no dresser in the room and the only mirror is in the bathroom. Unable to use the iron, as someone had melted clothes on it.
With all this said, my biggest issue is how they found no problem in the double charge/rate change and thankfully I was notified of it.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms near the pool. It is outside and you have no privacy, as you cannot let sunligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I must apologize for all of the issues you encountered with your reservation and the way it was handled. We have reviewed the situation and additional training has been given to those associates involved in your reservation handling.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to the items in the room that needed additional attention. We have escalated the repairs needed to our maintenance department and we can all be assured that they have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Springfield

Address: 6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Springfield 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.