We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware a disappointment to Marriott” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Springfield

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware a disappointment to Marriott”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked this hotel online, prepaid the room, due to no other rooms available in the area. Found out the hard way this is franchised hotel. The hotel had no problem in charging my card twice for the stay and it took several days and many phone calls to have the money credited. Many Marriott employees did not see any wrong in this. The rate was changed and charged without any concern or care.
The room is sub-par. Clean, but the main door to the room is loose on the hinges so it takes extra effort to make sure it is closed. The chair in the room shows sign that a cat must have been in the room and used it as a scratching post. The toilet paper holder in the bathroom is so close to the seat of the toilet, it had to be removed to sit on the seat like an adult. The is no where to put clothing, as the closet doors are stuck and will have to be pounded out to make usable again, and there is no dresser in the room and the only mirror is in the bathroom. Unable to use the iron, as someone had melted clothes on it.
With all this said, my biggest issue is how they found no problem in the double charge/rate change and thankfully I was notified of it.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms near the pool. It is outside and you have no privacy, as you cannot let sunligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I must apologize for all of the issues you encountered with your reservation and the way it was handled. We have reviewed the situation and additional training has been given to those associates involved in your reservation handling.

We appreciate your feedback in regards to the items in the room that needed additional attention. We have escalated the repairs needed to our maintenance department and we can all be assured that they have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    40
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
9
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice Modern room with sofa and chair, kitchen, and large desk. Perfect for my four day business stay. Room was immaculate, Kitchen saved dining dollars. A real steal from Priceline at $75 per night for a Sun to Thurs stay.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side to avoid noise from commerce ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The property was clean and the front desk staff was friendly. Reserving a 2br suite, there was nice size bedrooms and a galley style kitchen, living room and a normal hotel size bathroom. My one complaint was that we asked for a roll away bed on the first day of our stay and was told they'll check for one. We stayed 2nights and after a number of walks to the front desk to personally see if one had been found, and never got one and was only told we'll look. The kids enjoyed the pool and the fact there was 3 tvs in the suite. The location was nice a shopping center is walking distance and the National Harbor is 10minutes away. overall the stay was nice and the roll away was my only issue,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The front desk staff was very friendly. The room had a nice kitchenette. The room is quite small when using the pullout bed, but when it was closed it was nice. The shower had very hot water and great water pressure. There was no full size mirror in the room so no checking out your outfit, just the mirror over the sink in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We wanted a two bedroom suite on a long road trip and Townplace has become our "go to" provider for two bedroom suites. There were three TV's in the suite, one wasn't working properly, so I stopped at the front desk as we went out to eat, spoke to the Manager about it, and it was fixed by the time we got back from dinner. The room was very clean, the kitchen was spotless, the beds were comfy, and the A/C was cold and quiet.
The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. The parking lot was jammed which was expected for a Saturday in June, but it was well lit and seemed safe. The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
This is the second time I've stayed at this property, so I'll keep it on the list for the future. There is a Courtyard in this neighborhood which also is another very nice property. Very good location on the west side of metro DC. The highway ramps are only a two minute drive, and the signage is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I love to stay at Marriott brand hotels. They always have the best staff. This facility has seen its day and could use a remodel or a good coat of paint at the very least. The place was clean, just a little run-down. I gave a poor rating for value because we were staying there while attending a soccer tournament. They housed our entire team. With a guarantee occupancy, you would think they would not feel the need to over charge. We were charged $159 per night. If I would have made reservations outside of the tournament, I would have paid $107 (we were forced to make reservations through the Virginia Elite Soccer Tournament). I do have a suggestion for Marriott: when offering a two bedroom suite, why don't you have at least one of the rooms furnished with 2 double beds? Your info says it sleeps 4, why would 2 couples share a hotel room and bath? It is obviously meant for a family. Why wouldn't you set it up for parents and children? A sleeper sofa should not be considered a bed as part of your advertisement for 4 people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel with suites. I like having a little kitchenette and the room was comfortable if just slightly cramped around the bed. The room and bathroom were very clean. The shower had a nice round curtain rod for extra room and great water pressure (my favorite thing!). There wasn't another mirror in the room which makes it difficult for two people to get ready at the same time.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I loved that it was pet friendly. Our pup had a great time and other patrons were also very friendly. The outside lot was well lit for night time dog walks. The grounds were well manicured.

Breakfast was maybe a bit limited, but it was free so we were happy. Bagels, bread, hard boiled eggs and cereal.

And free wifi with a good signal!! Hard to beat that!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Springfield

Address: 6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Springfield 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.