We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Springfield to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

Comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly and accomodating staff. Have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Good complimentary breakfast, although the breakfast room fills up fast. This one is a winner in my book!

  • Liked — More like a bedroom at home, not a
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
9
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

The Towne Place Suites by Marriott exceeded my expectations. The women at the check-in desk were helpful, warm and efficient. When I realized I had forgotten some toiletries, they were quick to offer toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, deodorant and more all for free. The rooms (set up as studios with stove, fridge, dishwasher and sinks) were impeccably clean and smelled fresh. Additionally there was a couch and a very comfortable bed. The bathrooms were supplied with plenty of towels and were also quite clean. The water pressure in the shower was very good.

Additionally, the location is very central with several shopping areas, restaurants, bars and pubs within walking distance.

  • Liked — Friendly people, free breakfast, free wi-fi and cable in rooms, spotlessly clean
  • Disliked — Some noise in evening from helicopters (ended by night)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

I stayed at the Marriott TownPlace Suites in Springfield, Virginia on May 9, 2007. The experience was fine, and I will stay here again, but there is no way this is a 4.5 star rating hotel as TripAdvisor reports. Sure, it’s cheap, and its OK, but it’s just a solid 3 - perhaps 3.5 in the hotel universe.

Unfortunately my photos make it look nicer than it actually seemed when I was in the room. When I was there the furnishings seemed like Wal-Mart quality and this does not translate well in the photos. There were also a number of other little annoyances.

Pros and cons:
* The room was very clean, so that is a big plus.
* The walls are so thin I could hear the guy next door snoring. You also hear all the cars going by on the highway. This makes it imperative to sleep with the window A/C unit blowing.
* The heater in my room didn’t work so it would only blow cold air even though it was 45 degrees outside.
* The shower and bathroom are actually nice. In fact, they were the best part of the room. The shower head was excellent, the water pressure was fine, and there were a plethora of towels.
* No quick checkout. The didn’t slip a bill under the door, so you have to go by the front to check out.
* The room has a full kitchen.
* Free breakfast from 6-9am.
* The staff was pretty nice, but nothing spectacular or memorable.

My complete review is on my personal blog at:
http://onemansblog.com/2007/05/19/review-marriott-towneplace-suites-in-springfield-va/

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRVINE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I have stayed long term here several times. It is very consistently a winner in terms of quality and pricing.

Springfield is home of the I-95 "Mixing Bowl" - not exactly the sexy destination of hotel choices... BUT... it is very convenient for commuting into DC and gives you far better pricing on hotels. Tops among the area hotels are the two Marriott properties: the Courtyard and the TownePlace Suites. The Courtyard provides consistent Courtyard quality, and you can often find very good rates. However, for about the same price, you get a lot more for your dollar at the TownePlace Suites. I have stayed at other Springfield hotels, including the Holiday Inn and Hilton... both Marriotts are far better choices.

There are plenty of nearby eateries, including across I-95 at the local mall. Very close to the hotel is a Bob Evans, a Vietnamese restaurant, and a Chinese buffet patronized mostly by Chinese... all three restaurants have consistently good quality. Over by the mall is a small, but delightful Thai restaurant.

If you want to stock your kitchen, there is a nearby Giant Supermarket, and just around the corner from the hotel is a wine supermarket. That's right, an old supermarket converted into a wine supermarket. Don't know wines? No problem, they have all kinds of helpful written guides posted adjacent to their racks and racks of wines from all over the world and the USA.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Our 2 bedroom/1bath suite was very clean. For a family of 4 we had enough room to feel comfortable. Both rooms and living room had a TV. The small kitchenette was complete along with dishwasher and microwave. The living room sofa also has a pull out bed. The windows are double-double paned (yes 2 sets of windows) to block out the street noise. Parking is free!

Continental breakfast is available everyday until 9a.m. There is a laundry room, activity room, and workout area available on the first floor. The pool is small and they have a lifeguard available.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating.
This a great place to stay if you plan to visit Washington DC. Do not drive there, parking is hard to find.

We used the metro station(about 30 minutes) to get to and from DC. The Metro takes you steps away from The Smithsonian Institution.
We do not recommend walking to the station because its a bit of a walk and close to major streets. There is a bus station just at the corner of the hotel. The bus fee is about 1 dollar to the metro which takes about 5-10 minutes. The metro is very easy to use. Just purchase your tickets at the main entrance. Average Metro cost is $3.50 one way . There is a reduced fare if you go during non peak hours. Springfield Mall is also about 5 minutes away (Macy's Penneys, Target-numerous restaurants. One of our favorites was the Silver Dollar Restaurant located across the parking lot from Springfield Mall. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — the bedrooms, kitchenette
  • Disliked — distance of our room to the Elevators
  • Tips/Secrets — buy some snacks/food to fill up your room fridge
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

We were very pleased with the room that we got. Everything was immaculately clean and the hotel itself looks fairly new. The staff was very helpful and courteous throughout our 6 day stay. The full kitchen came in very handy as well as access to barbeque grills and a very clean laundry facility. Excellent for a family trip. It was very easy to drive a short distance to the metro station and take a stress free ride into DC, straight to the tourist sights on the Mall. Continental breakfast was very nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

We stayed in a 2-bedroom/1-bath suite. It is small but is nicely laid out and the kitchen is very stylish and nice. We had an excellent view of the Dunkin Donuts across the street.
The breakfast had frozen french toast that could be toasted, along with breads, muffins, bagels, juices, fruits and cereals, milk, coffee, tea, etc.
The laundry facilities were well kept and accessible.
We didn't use the pool--it looked kind of small but there was a lifeguard during the day.
The bed was very comfortable and the rooms are decorated nicely.
The bathroom had separate rooms - one for the sink and one for the bath and toilet.
We stayed for 3 nights/4 days.
Wireless internet was great!
I would stay there again.

(Note: I was not there as a tourist. It should be noted that the Metro station is a bit of a ways away from the hotel (you need a car to get there--too far to walk).

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Springfield

Address: 6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Springfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.