We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay for Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Springfield

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Stay for Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. The workout room had good equipment (Precor elliptical, treadmill, etc) with a TV. There were at least 3 each of washers and dryers in the laundry room (required change). After my colleague and I got back from dinner, there were warm cookies waiting for us in the lobby. The receptionist was helpful and friendly. The room itself (a single) was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was pretty typical (yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, juice).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanesa S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. We are happy that it was an ejoyable on while you were here on business.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Sincerely,
Vanesa Stafford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    39
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
9
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We used the Suites as our "base camp" for six weeks during the summer of 2011. For an extended stay and convenience in Northern Virginia it isn't the worst place to choose, though there are a lot of other options that I might exlplore if we had a long term temporary residence need again.

Cons:
Housekeeping wasn't very helpful, we often had to ask for service and even then the service was questionable.
There were a lot of long term residents, essentially living there, and if you wanted to use the barbecue grill or the swimming pool the chance of doing so successfully was slim to none as the long-term guests had essentially taken that common area of the suites over.
Breakfast was not refreshed - if you weren't down at breakfast early, you might miss out.

Pros:
Super convenient to the highway and easy access to all of the greater DC metro area.
Room rate fell within reimbursable government rate.
The mini kitchen worked out with a full size oven/stove/fridge/dishwasher.
Mike's American Grill is right around the corner. Dunkin Donuts is across the street. There is a full service salon next door. Trader Joe's is convenient.
Laundry facility on site - always functioning. Decent gym.

The reception staff and management were responsive. There is a small "convenience" item store at reception that was well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanesa S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
While I am happy to hear the desk staff was great during your stay I am sorry we fell short in some other areas. We are happy to address them and again I thank you for sharing!
We wish we can have one more opportunity to serve as hosts again should you travel to the Springfield area again.
Sincerely,
Vanesa Stafford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ksmtx80
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of October because my husband was participating in the Marine Corps Marathon and this hotel was close to the Metro station. Upon arrival, we were quickly checked in. Five minutes after settling into our room, the front desk rang us to see if we were satisfied with everything and to see if there was anything they could help us with. My husband asked them for the numbers to cab companies (as he needed a ride to the Metro stop the following morning at the crack of dawn) and they man working the front desk told him not to bother calling a cab company....that it would be taken care of for him and to be down in the lobby the following morning for his cab ride. That was taken care of for us! He went down to the lobby at 0530 and sure enough...there was his cab waiting for him!
The breakfast in the morning was good. They lack any kind of meat in their buffet breakfast (no bacon or sausage,etc.) but the rest of the breakfast was good. Plenty of cereal options, bagels, french toast, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pasties, etc. Juice and coffee with Coffeemate creamer (my fave!).
The hotel room was clean and housekeeping did a great job of making sure our room was kept clean and tidy. Each time we left the room, we would return to a cleaned up room. So, no issue there.
Parking was ample. We stayed 2 nights on a weekend and there were several spaces open each time we parked.
Travel time to DC area was quick. Easy access to the highway. Lots of restaurants and fast food joints surrounding the hotel for food.
The best part of the stay was the hotel staff. We were there Halloween weekend and they always offered our kids treats and had the fireplace lit in the lobby area. Each time we would walk in the hotel the staff would stop what they were doing and speak to us like we were personal friends. I told my husband that I had never felt like a hotel was "home" before, but this hotel really made us feel like we were at home.
we will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanesa S, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Springfield, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and share the experience you had at our property. I am glad to hear that it was a pleasant one. We take pride in our service here at the TownePlace Suites Springfield, and I am also happy to hear our staff made you feel like at home.
Should you come back to the Washington, DC area again I hope that you won't forget about us!
Vanesa Stafford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Spent 3 nights with my family at this hotel the last week of May, 2011. The staff were nice. The hotel was just appropriate for what we needed it for: A nice, clean place where to crash after a long day of walking in DC.

Pros:
- Free Breakfast & free internet
- Spacious, clean suites
- Proximity to DC - 35 min train ride to DC
- kitchen

Cons:
- sleeper sofa quality was very poor
- Not many 'nice' restaurants around the hotel area

Tips:
- Do yourself a favor and take the train/metro. Do not try to drive in DC except late at night
- Drive to the train station and park there ($4 all day parking); it's a 5-7 min drive. If you walk, be ready to walk for 25 - 30 mins. Ask the front desk for a map to the nearest train station.
- If you want to visit the washington memorial, get tickets early in the morning. You can only go to the top with a ticket, and only a very limited amount of tickets are given out every day
- Visit the library of congress. The building itself is a masterpiece - it was an unexpected surprise
- If planning to visit the white house or congress, contact your congressman to get your name(s) on the list at least 6 months ahead of time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I was so glad to check out! There was a horrible odor on the fourth floor. The smell was also in my two coworkers' rooms. I thank God that I didn't have that odor in my room.

They are supposed to change the sheets and do a thorough cleaning once a week. They changed my sheets once in four weeks and never did a thorough cleaning. I had to request clean sheets and change them myself. I borrowed a bottle of cleaner from a housekeeper to clean the bathroom.

On the bright side, the staff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stay here for eight days, friendly staff, clean rooms, grounds clean, parking lot dirty. The room was a little cramped as there was no place to store clothing outside of a small closet (four people). Cooked dinner three nights in the room, two grocery stores are located two blocks away. Elevator runs a little slow and limited selection at the morning breakfast. Chose this hotel for its convenient location to the mass-transit train line into DC and easy access to interstate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice hotel, easy access to the interstate. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are a bit small, but well equipped. It could use upgraded workout facilities and the pool is small and just off the parking lot (more of an afterthought). No on site restaurant, but close to some good places to eat (Hard Times Cafe has great chilli), Kate's Irish Pub, Mike's American grill to name a few. For an extended business stay in Springfield, this is one of your better choices.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Springfield

Address: 6245 Brandon Avenue, Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Springfield 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.