We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting relatives in the area and Arlington National Cemetery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield to your Saves list
Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6868 Springfield Boulevard, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Wardensville, WV
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Visiting relatives in the area and Arlington National Cemetery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Advantages:
1. Near the Metro, only about two blocks away.
2. Wooden floors in the room were clean and a nice touch.
3. Large, roomy bath-tub.
4. Good television cable/reception.
5. Polite front desk staff.
6. Room doors are indoors and secure.

Disadvantages.
1. The price. $85.00 for two people for a Motel 6? Really?
2. Hard to locate off I-95 with road construction going on, no signs to direct you to the motel.
3. Small towels and only soap for bathroom amenities.
5. Thin mattress on bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you for your comments about our newly renovated rooms. Our renovations were just completed only a few months ago and wow what a difference. I am glad you were able to take the metro ride into DC.
Thank you and I hope you will be returning to our area soon.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
10
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

During the presidential week back in November 2013 I believe, my dad reserved a room for the family. We traveled from Franklin, NC to Springfield, VA we're talking about a 8.5 to 9.5 hours of travelling. We arrived at around 2 in the morning with our family (2 children), my mom and husband. There was blistering cold temperature of 10 degrees farenheit. We were tired, and cold.
Once I got to the rep at the front desk I gave him my dad's name. He was rude, didn't say hi, was a real cad! I said how much is the total. He said, "first of all there is no reservation. Second of all, the rates are high because of the presidential election." I told him it's supposed to be $60 dollars a night. He scoffed in stupid manner, "Not this week!"
Considering business, if you see a family coming in with a stroller, two children in the winter cold, you have better be welcoming and kind not a complete idiot.
Thank God my dad came in time before I paid the jerk $220 dollars he wanted to charge me. I was ready to tell him off but my dad got the cheap rate so I let it drop, but I just hope this catches the attention of management and they either get rid of the dude and hire someone who really wants to get more clientele as opposed to scare clients away with a bad attitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I needed a cheap motel to be an overnight stop on the way from Richmond to DC, somewhere close enough I could hop on the interstate in the morning and get into the city in time for an 8:30 am appointment. Probably should have just gotten up at 5 am and driven. I paid $63 for a king room.

I also had a dog, which made the hotel search more challenging. I didn't really want to pay $100 extra for 12 hours at a motel because of the dog, so I wavered between the red roof and motel 6. I chose the motel 6 because it was $15 cheaper, and for the amount of time I was staying, it seemed worth it to save the extra.

The rooms at this Motel 6 are "new" - so new in fact it appears they are still renovating the first floor. It was clean and Ikea-ish enough, but the bed was too hard for me. The biggest problem though was really the noise. It's literally on I-95. I knew this from the reviews, and should have been prepared, but it really is loud. I barely slept. I didn't hear any other noise from other rooms, but between the hard mattress and the freeway noise, it was not a great stay for me.

I'm not rating them two stars because of anything the staff did - they were nice and helpful. And I'm not rating them two stars because the rooms are awful. They aren't. I'm rating them two stars because the one thing you really want to do in a motel, especially a cheap one, is sleep - and that was impossible.

On the plus side - rooms are clean, free parking, dogs are free, easy access to the interstate (ha!), the area has several fast food (chick-fil-a, subway, five guys) restaurants and a couple 7-11s within walking distance. There is not really anywhere to take your dog to the bathroom though, just a small strip of grass in front of other people's motel windows.

If you do decide to stay here because you need a cheap room, I'd make sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the interstate. I'm not sure if it's significantly quieter, but it can't be as bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is my first stay at this Motel 6, needed a place to crash as I work nearby but I was kinda tired and it's a long drive home....so. here I am.

1. Room - standard no frills room - two double beds both comfortable.
2. A/C / heat works great and is quiet
3. TV is nice has a a few channels but could use more but for a night or two it's OK. TV has inputs up front you could connect a laptop / DVD player.
4. Room has a nice mirror / small cubbie hole 2 shelves to put clothes and a chair near a small computer desk near mirror.
5. Hardwood floor or laminate looks clean
6. bathroom with bathtub/shower - very clean
7. Hallways look clean & well kept as do elevators

Lobby area and parking lot are no frills but this is a nice place with easy access on/off Interstates and local roadways. Plenty of good places to eat within 15 minutes or less with Outback & Five Guys burgers within walking distance.

If they would put a microwave & small refrigerator in the room it would be great. Internet is $2.99 a day and kind of slow but for a few days it's ok.

Room Tip: Just check everything when you first check in - common sense - do it early to give them a chance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

STAY AWAY FROM THIS MOTEL. This motels issues are unbelievable. First of all the wifi is not free it cost $2.99 a night and you can only use it on one device at a time, They are police here ALL DAY EVERYDAY they are undercover they disturb the peace. they snoop around every door looking for a reason to lock someone up. They are here 10 cops at a time waiting for the oppertunity. The staff is rude, this place is very unsafe stay away unless you wanna end up in jail or become a victim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Unojoe55 - We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place has made nice improvements since they renovated their rooms. It used to be a dump but they put new floors, beds and nice flat screen TV's in their rooms. Close to restaurants and right off the interstate. We have stayed here three times since they renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Yes you are right -- nice improvements.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was driving from north carolina and stopped to see my daughter in law who was taking a class in DC to take her out to dinner. But I had no wear for my travling dog to stay as it was much too hot to leave in the car. I picked this motel because it listed "pet friendly" The total price for one night visit was $76.40 tax included. They did not charge an extra fee for the dog which is unheard of. It was such a pleasant relaxing feeling to walk into a clean and cool room after driving. Yes there were not special amenities, but the room was awesome for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your comments were greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6868 Springfield Boulevard, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Motel 6 Springfield
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.