We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Improvements!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield to your Saves list
Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6868 Springfield Boulevard, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Monroe, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Improvements!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place has made nice improvements since they renovated their rooms. It used to be a dump but they put new floors, beds and nice flat screen TV's in their rooms. Close to restaurants and right off the interstate. We have stayed here three times since they renovated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Yes you are right -- nice improvements.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    11
    11
    12
See reviews for
12
9
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean View, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was driving from north carolina and stopped to see my daughter in law who was taking a class in DC to take her out to dinner. But I had no wear for my travling dog to stay as it was much too hot to leave in the car. I picked this motel because it listed "pet friendly" The total price for one night visit was $76.40 tax included. They did not charge an extra fee for the dog which is unheard of. It was such a pleasant relaxing feeling to walk into a clean and cool room after driving. Yes there were not special amenities, but the room was awesome for the price I paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Your comments were greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here the other night for convenience to the City and we were greeted with banging above our head at 5.30pm on complaining to the front desk we were told that they would be finished at 6.30pm and would start up again at 8.30am. We requested that they move us to another room and not to rent that room to anyone as the noise was just unbelievable.
That room on the ground floor was just as bad broken window smelly carpet and a service man who burst into the room to view the window while I was trying to change. The AC moaned loudly so we had to turn it off
During the night we were treated to a dog howling in the room next door...I kid you not.
We left the place the following morning after the receptionist refunded us half our money....STAY out of this place.....

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had to stay in the least expensive hotel I could find around here for 2 nights and it was this place. I can't say that it was a bad choice or a regrettable experience, but Do Not expect anything extra from this place...
WiFi costs you extra and no breakfast what-so-ever so add those to your expenses, no shampoo in the bathroom so wash your hair with soap or bring your own stuff, no fridge, no frills... And I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers that the place simply smelled weird, kind of a mix between old food/ mold, mildew/ smoke and pets. NOT FAMILY FREINDLY unless you want to "save" a few bucks.
All depends on what you're looking for... Truckers and cruisers will be just fine here, families or folks looking for just that little bit extra that makes a stay comfortable should consider another location. There are times when staying a bit outside of the city have their strong points.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing "west" or away from the interstate, makes a big difference in noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewahitchka, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Only one good thing is that they accept pets with no fee, but the room had feces in the carpet and stained bad. No amenities in the room and had to pay daily for WiFi.If you need a microwave its downstairs and coffee in the a.m. only. Don't expect a bagel. Beds are real old, sag and you feel the springs. Motel had an overall smell of stale food, rude desk clerks, and the maid service, well lets just say bring your own sheets. I had asked for room to be cleaned on two different days both days I came back around 2 and the rooms were not clean. One of those occasions they told me housekeeping has left for the day and I would have to come swap towels. Location hard to get to but is located near many restaurants and shops. Many trips to the DC area to come but I will NOT be staying at a Motel 6.

Room Tip: To get a good room, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Got to DC for work and our truck couldn't get permits to leave so we had to stay here a few nights. I was thinking it was going to be a pretty scary place. Almost under the freeway and what not. But it was a nice hotel. Accepted pets with no pet fee. Which motel 6 and la quinta don't have pet fees. Which is nice. Had the Fourth floor and thought we were going to get a pet room considering we had one. Which always makes me nervous because I've been in some pretty scary once. But nope. This was a nice clean room small bathroom but still nice. I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again if ever in the DC area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary G, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

An old friend's band was playing at a bar in Springfield and I saw this Motel 6, which was located less than 100 yards from the venue. I had never really stayed at a Motel 6 before and my expectations were not terribly high. Fortunately, my expectations were met.

Yes, you WILL need to employ your GPS to find your way there (and out) if you don't know the area. This part of Springfield is intertwined with all sorts of interesting roads and access to the interstate. The place was tired-looking but reasonably clean. I had no problems sleeping in the bed. I was disappointed in being handed a blank form at check-in and being asked to repeat all of my address and other details that had been provided in the online reservation. We have computers nowadays to help with that sort of thing.

Overall, if you are looking for an inexpensive no-frills hotel in this area, this is not a bad choice.

Room Tip: Probably don't want to face the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield

Address: 6868 Springfield Boulevard, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Sw-Springfield Hotel Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Motel 6 Springfield
Springfield Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Washington DC SW-Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.