We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Comfort and ADA Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Springfield to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Springfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High End Comfort and ADA Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

While having some construction done on my home, I stayed locally at this Courtyard facility. My primary goal was to stay at an ADA compliant hotel, but I ended up getting resort treatment during my two-night stay. The rooms were posh, well-appointed and clean in addition to being fully accessible. The Bistro menu choices, were good and quickly delivered. The staff was excellent, and made you feel as if you were the most important guest there. Diane at the front desk was the best face of the facility...elegant, professional, and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (away from the highway) are quieter but the insulated drapes went a long way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you at our property. I am glad our staff was able to accommodate your needs. I will make sure to share your wonderful comments with them. We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    47
    19
    19
    5
See reviews for
39
15
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights while visiting family in Alexandria. The hotel is nice enough, with a bar and cafe in the lobby which is open sometimes. The room was quite large and comfortable, with a king sized bed, small couch, coffee table, desk, and TV. I would go so far as to call it almost luxurious. The only thing I didn't like was being on the ground floor and having cars park right outside my window, but the room had a blackout shade which I kept drawn any time I was in there. There was also a gym and a small pool. You could only use the pool if the lifeguard was on duty, but I should mention that the pool and hot tub were both completely ADA compliant; they had some kind of mechanical chairs that would raise and lower a handicapped person into and out of the pool and hot tub, which I thought was really thoughtful. I didn't use any of the amenities, but I did partake of the free coffee, offered all day as far as I could tell, and my room rate also came with a free breakfast for two which was a nice way to start the day. The lobby area was spacious, which gave us a convenient place to meet up with family. At some point during my stay, my mother brought my nieces over to the hotel pool to swim for a bit, which nobody at the hotel complained about. The cleanliness and spaciousness of the room made for a very comfortable stay, and we got it all for a very reasonable rate. Parking was free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to accommodating your stay next time you are in the Springfield VA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a pleasant stay July 4th after viewing the fireworks in DC. It was very quiet and clean for the most part and the location was great and it was good bang for the buck on the 4th, no pun intended. The only reasons that I didn't give it 5 stars was it was a very hot holiday and would have liked working ice machine on my floor and/or a frig in the room to keep cold drinks. I would stay again but recommend bringing in your own cooler with ice for convenience if you like a cold water during the night. I wouldn't have liked to run down to the lobby for a drink in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that your overall stay was great . I would like to also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us with the ice machine. Unfortunately, we did have the ice machine go down that day. Our staff was able to solve the problem and is now working perfectly. In the future, do not hesitate to let us know if we can assist you in bringing up some ice for you. We understand the inconvenience and want to make sure we accommodate as best as possible.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was traveling on business in the Alexandria area coming from Bethesda MD. I arrived late & the hotel concierge helped me very quickly and I was in my room. The room was quiet & the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. There was a table, a nice little sofa, and a desk. There was no microwave/mini fridge in the room. Something to keep in mind.

The gym was very nice with nice cardio equipment. Weights were a little bit more minimalistic.

Overall, I'd go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Springfield area. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. In reference to the refrigerator/microwave, I do want to let you know that we do have them available. Do not hesitate to request one while making a reservation or with our front desk staff. We understand how important that amenity is and want to make sure you receive one while you are staying with us.

I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Check in was quick, staff helpful, recommended a brilliant restaurant within 10 mins walking distance. Suited our needs perfectly.

Didn't use the spa or have breakfast on site so chose Average rating as not able to get past that section for some reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us. I thank you for the great comments regarding your stay with us. I hope next time you are in town you visit us and enjoy the additional amenities you were not able to use this stay.

Thank you again and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The property was clean and the grounds nicely kept. The front desk employees were friendly, courteous, and very helpful. We had chosen this hotel for it's indoor pool, unfortunately it was extremely small and so over chlorinated that our eyes teared just walking into the pool area. Our room was "tidied" each day but bath room supplies: shampoo, soap, etc. where not left and need to be asked for daily. The bathroom had no exhaust fan- which is kind of unheard of & the bathroom towel racks were cheap and kept falling off the walls. Would probably look for a different hotel if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay with us. I am pleased that our staff was able to take care of you. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our housekeeping department. I will share your comments with the proper managers as well. In the future, do not hesitate to let us know if you have any concerns so we can address them immediately.

I thank you again for staying with us, and hope to accommodate your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

An easy in and out hotel for a quick trip. The bad thing was breakfast. You could not even get near the area in the morning. There were at least a hundred kids around. Must have been some type of event or tour, making it very difficult for adults to walk around. Glad I was on an upper level floor, so I didn't hear any noise. This is a typical no frills Courtyard Hotel. You might find one like it near any airport.

Room Tip: Upper levels away from pool and children
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience with breakfast. As you mentioned, it was a very busy weekend for us. It was soccer weekend and we had several groups in house. Our breakfast is busy during special events but if it is a group, it tends to be only early in the morning. If you are not in a hurry, I invite you to come by a little later, you will see that our bistro is not as busy. We have a lot of great selections available such as parfaits, fresh food, french toast, starbucks, etc...

I thank you again for staying with us, and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Address: 6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield
Courtyard Springfield
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.