We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - clean, comfortable with what you need for work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Springfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel - clean, comfortable with what you need for work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Typical courtyard (with the new lobby)

Free
Wifi - with fast speeds (at least when I was there)
Clean Room
Friendly Staff
Comfortable rooms
decent food

Every employee I came across smiled and greeted me, staff was helpful in shipping some packages out for me, restaurant staff was always pleasant

What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure accommodating your stay with us. I am glad we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    18
    19
    3
See reviews for
36
13
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SFbayarea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

For years visiting my wifes mother in springfield we have stayed in the best western across the street from this property. In trying to change it up a bit I thought about trying this property. Black hair on the bathroom floor on our arrival made me a little concerned about the overall cleanliness of the room. The AC/heater blows directly on the desk making very uncomfortable to sit there. The staff was friendly but no complimentary breakfast, and only one cup of coffee in the room. Next trip we will either go back across the street or try another property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us. I would like apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in the room. I will make sure our managers and staff members are aware. Comments like yours help us keep improving. Regarding our breakfast, Courtyard hotels do not offer a complimentary breakfast due to the different options that we offer our guests, such as Starbucks. Our hotel does offer packages that include breakfast from our Bistro. In the breakfast package you are able to select items from a full menu that can include a hot entree or continental items that are made fresh daily. This is the new breakfast options that you will be seeing throughout all courtyards.
I thank you for staying with us and hope to accommodate your future stay in the Springfield Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my second stay at this Courtyard by Marriott. We had a large reunion group, and despite being a local, we stayed here at this hotel to be near friends for our gathering! The hotel manager was extraordinarily accommodating for our rather large group and helpful in providing discounts for our stay! We stayed two nights and I enjoyed the communal amenities at this facility during our stay. I like the family friendly atmosphere and the restaurant/bar like accommodations, in the lobby. I only wish the hours were a little later!

We booked the suite which included a full living room and separate bed. This suite was on the far end of the hotel wing and was completely void of noise or interruptions - I highly recommend if you are enduring a long stay!

Room Tip: Pick the Suite with separate living room! A local tip...skip breakfast and walk to the Silver Dine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and recommending others to visit us as well. We are pleased you enjoy your stay and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Nothing stands out about this hotel. Front desk service was quick and friendly. The room smelled a little like smoke- nonsmoking facility. Booked room on website for 4 guests and requested additional towels- 3 towels in the room. Room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room. In the future, please do not hesitate to call Front desk so we can accommodate you in a different room. We do have a non smoking policy in place with all Marriotts and we enforce it, but there are times that issues do occur. Our rooms are treated to make sure they stay clean and fresh. I will share your comments with the managers and staff members as well to make sure we correct this. Regarding additional amneties in the room, please do not hesitate to call the front desk for additional items if needed. We do accommodate all requests that are made on the reservations prior to your arrival. It would be our pleasure to take care of such requests immediately if they were missed, so please feel free to let us know.
Once again, I do thank you for staying with us and hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Courtyard Marriott is not an extravagant property, but it is certainly adequate. As others have reviewed, the rooms are the usual fare. Good, solid and clean, nothing spectacular but comfortable. My only beef with the rooms is the usual air conditioner in a corner by the desk, situated such that it cannot be efficient in cooling the room. It works, it just must be left on at all times, yet when working at the desk it is too cold to have it running while you are trying to work. This is nothing the management can do anything about now, just good to know.

There are windows that open in the rooms (although mine was taped shut), so others in our party had success with leaving the window open a bit at night rather than listen to the air conditioner.

The fitness center in this hotel is really very good and unexpectedly nice for the size of the hotel. It is small but well arranged. Good equipment in good working order, lots of TV's and easy access 24/7.

One of the great things about this hotel is the breakfast service. Bottomless self serve coffee, fast breakfast service with items ranging from a very healthy oatmeal and fruit, yogurt and granola right up to the traditional bellybuster breakfast.

This hotel also gets major props for simply wonderful, friendly and accommodating staff. They do their jobs with a smile and work very hard to ensure your stay is pleasant and hassle free.

All in all a decent business trip oriented place to stay. It is in an interesting location amid a few highway ramps so have a look at your GPS mapping before you try and get there in one fell swoop while driving....

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to use the stairs, elevators are very slow. Stairs are handy and the hotel is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs. I will share your comments with our staff so we can address them as well. I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Most of the Ammenities you'd expect from this brand are present; but nothing was impressive. The room seemed clean enough, and was fairly recently renovated. There was a shortage of outlets, especially near the bed.

For roughly the same price, this is a much better option than others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are always looking for ways of improvement and we thank you for your comment. We hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Always use Marriott when possible - about 12 room nights per year on average.

This property is way below standard for the brand for a two night stay 8/29 & 30.

Got off to a poor start when they refused to honor confirmed Marriott website reservation for a suite and offered little in the way of an alternative even with the house being half full at best.

In fact, the "Queen" room provided at a "discount" proved to be more expensive than a previous reservation we had at this property before we upgraded to the suite as we need an additional bed. Tried to correct this upon an early morning checkout but no one was readily available at the front desk.

Other puzzling shortcomings included - no free newspaper as normal for our elite level (this was a weekday stay) - no ice machines - effectively no maid service although the maid finally showed up after 4:00 pm but we needed to use the room by that time of day.

Would never stay here again as there are plenty of Marriott and other options in the area.

While this may have been an unusually poor stay, Marriott may want to take a look at this property as a matter of quality control and to uphold the standards of the brands.

Room Tip: If you have a special need for a suite or the like there is a Residence Inn nearby that woul likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our property. Our staff did try to resolve such incovenience the best possible by offering you a significant rate reduction compared to your original reservation.
I will make sure to address your comments with our staff and managers.
In the future, we do have Managers available that can assist you. If a manager is not available at the moment, do not hesistate to leave us your information so we can contact you.
As a valued Marriott Guest I do want to make sure you were aware that as a Marriott Brand, we no longer offer USA Today in all rooms due to our Go Green Initiative. As a Marriott Rewards Member, we try to accommodate your requests. These requests include: Complimentary USA Today, Suite Upgrades and special room preferences that are placed on your profile. We also look for such requests on your reservation notes. Our houskeepers also clean many rooms throughout their shift. In the future, if you would like service to be early or at a specific time, do not hesitate to let us know so we can accommodate your request.
Once again, we do value your comments and feedback and do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We thank you for staying with us and hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Address: 6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Springfield 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield
Courtyard Springfield
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.