We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Springfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Central PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Middle of the road.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Nothing stands out about this hotel. Front desk service was quick and friendly. The room smelled a little like smoke- nonsmoking facility. Booked room on website for 4 guests and requested additional towels- 3 towels in the room. Room was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room. In the future, please do not hesitate to call Front desk so we can accommodate you in a different room. We do have a non smoking policy in place with all Marriotts and we enforce it, but there are times that issues do occur. Our rooms are treated to make sure they stay clean and fresh. I will share your comments with the managers and staff members as well to make sure we correct this. Regarding additional amneties in the room, please do not hesitate to call the front desk for additional items if needed. We do accommodate all requests that are made on the reservations prior to your arrival. It would be our pleasure to take care of such requests immediately if they were missed, so please feel free to let us know.
Once again, I do thank you for staying with us and hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    47
    19
    19
    5
See reviews for
39
15
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This Courtyard Marriott is not an extravagant property, but it is certainly adequate. As others have reviewed, the rooms are the usual fare. Good, solid and clean, nothing spectacular but comfortable. My only beef with the rooms is the usual air conditioner in a corner by the desk, situated such that it cannot be efficient in cooling the room. It works, it just must be left on at all times, yet when working at the desk it is too cold to have it running while you are trying to work. This is nothing the management can do anything about now, just good to know.

There are windows that open in the rooms (although mine was taped shut), so others in our party had success with leaving the window open a bit at night rather than listen to the air conditioner.

The fitness center in this hotel is really very good and unexpectedly nice for the size of the hotel. It is small but well arranged. Good equipment in good working order, lots of TV's and easy access 24/7.

One of the great things about this hotel is the breakfast service. Bottomless self serve coffee, fast breakfast service with items ranging from a very healthy oatmeal and fruit, yogurt and granola right up to the traditional bellybuster breakfast.

This hotel also gets major props for simply wonderful, friendly and accommodating staff. They do their jobs with a smile and work very hard to ensure your stay is pleasant and hassle free.

All in all a decent business trip oriented place to stay. It is in an interesting location amid a few highway ramps so have a look at your GPS mapping before you try and get there in one fell swoop while driving....

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to use the stairs, elevators are very slow. Stairs are handy and the hotel is o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs. I will share your comments with our staff so we can address them as well. I thank you again for staying with us and look forward to accommodating your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Most of the Ammenities you'd expect from this brand are present; but nothing was impressive. The room seemed clean enough, and was fairly recently renovated. There was a shortage of outlets, especially near the bed.

For roughly the same price, this is a much better option than others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are always looking for ways of improvement and we thank you for your comment. We hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Always use Marriott when possible - about 12 room nights per year on average.

This property is way below standard for the brand for a two night stay 8/29 & 30.

Got off to a poor start when they refused to honor confirmed Marriott website reservation for a suite and offered little in the way of an alternative even with the house being half full at best.

In fact, the "Queen" room provided at a "discount" proved to be more expensive than a previous reservation we had at this property before we upgraded to the suite as we need an additional bed. Tried to correct this upon an early morning checkout but no one was readily available at the front desk.

Other puzzling shortcomings included - no free newspaper as normal for our elite level (this was a weekday stay) - no ice machines - effectively no maid service although the maid finally showed up after 4:00 pm but we needed to use the room by that time of day.

Would never stay here again as there are plenty of Marriott and other options in the area.

While this may have been an unusually poor stay, Marriott may want to take a look at this property as a matter of quality control and to uphold the standards of the brands.

Room Tip: If you have a special need for a suite or the like there is a Residence Inn nearby that woul likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield_CY_GM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our property. Our staff did try to resolve such incovenience the best possible by offering you a significant rate reduction compared to your original reservation.
I will make sure to address your comments with our staff and managers.
In the future, we do have Managers available that can assist you. If a manager is not available at the moment, do not hesistate to leave us your information so we can contact you.
As a valued Marriott Guest I do want to make sure you were aware that as a Marriott Brand, we no longer offer USA Today in all rooms due to our Go Green Initiative. As a Marriott Rewards Member, we try to accommodate your requests. These requests include: Complimentary USA Today, Suite Upgrades and special room preferences that are placed on your profile. We also look for such requests on your reservation notes. Our houskeepers also clean many rooms throughout their shift. In the future, if you would like service to be early or at a specific time, do not hesitate to let us know so we can accommodate your request.
Once again, we do value your comments and feedback and do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We thank you for staying with us and hope to accommodate your stay in the future.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERNANDINA BEACH
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Visited Northern Virginia for a family wedding, with the Courtyard as a suggestion for the wedding party and guests. A pleasant hotel, nicely equipped with a most friendly staff. Through my oversight, we did not request a room with a mini-fridge, a real boon when driving in a fair distance.

The only down side was that the food service system had changed since my last stay with the Courtyards. Rather than having meals available on buffet, the system has shifted to ordering at the boutique, with the order passed to the kitchen staff for delivery. The person handling the boutique was very slow in taking orders, with some items needing multiple repeats. This lowed the reciept of the breakfast significantly. I can understand the interest in shifting from buffet line to individual orders; certainly minimizes food wastage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Arrived late and got a room for 180 dollar plus tax, because all other hotels in the Washington area seemed fully booked this day. Got a very spacious room with two comfortable queen beds with several pillows in each. Well equipped bathroom. Breakfast 10 dollar per person was unfortunately not included. It was good.

We were very pleased with everything, but we found the price to be very high for this night. Later we stayed at a top hotel in Las Vegas for about the same price and other very similar hotels and rooms for half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We checked in (and confirmed it on the phone before we made the reservation) and asked if we could extend our stay one more day. We were told we had until noon the next day to let them know. Three hours later we called the front desk to extend the stay and they told us someone else reserved the rooms. The front desk supervisor on 7/1/2012 was absolutely rude to me when i told him they changed the story. He was no help and made it out to be my fault. My wife also spoke with him and he was still rude. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Springfield

Address: 6710 Commerce Street, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Springfield 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield
Courtyard Springfield
Springfield Marriott
Springfield Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.