We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for DC Visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill to your Saves list
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6412 Backlick Road, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Solid choice for DC Visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Extra clean. Staff very courteous and helpful. Shuttle to metro station (stops at 8!, so watch).
Pool and hot tub area w/ lifeguard. Room w/ kitchen and sitting area for the price of a discount motel, and a 1/3 of what we paid in downtown DC last time.
Only issue we had was the vent blowing directly on our bed, and this was promptly fixed by maintenance after bringing it to the attention of the front desk. The circle entrance for loading and unloading the car gets a little crowded at checkout, but that's a minor issue. There's a shopping center directly behind the hotel if needed. Many families at the free breakfast were stopping off of 95/395, which is very conveniently nearby. Bottom line, don't hesitate to stay here. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg A, Manager at Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Mr. Toby W,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our award winning Residence Inn! Our team takes great pride in helping each guest feel they are in their home away from home!

I am very glad to hear that you were able to utilize our brand new Shuttle Service to the Franconia/Springfield metro. We run Monday through Friday from 7am until 10pm and from 7am until 8pm on Saturday and Sunday on the half hour by request.

I have shared your comments with the team and we hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
37
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

They said its a 5yr property, I beg to disagree. It was so well maintained that you would think the hotel was brand new.

The rooms were clean, Laura (front office) was very accommodating and she does remember your name. (shows she pays attention to detail) The breakfast crew (forgot their names) was uber friendly and attentive. Place was clean, food well stocked.

The surrounding area is very convenient in terms of alternative food choices and shopping. A panda express, K mart. Stop and Shop Giant and some thai and nepalese stores are just around the strip mall behind the property.

Mcdonalds, KFC and this place called noodle and company. a bit fast foody but it will give you your noodle and pasta cravings a good meal.

Parking is free and the freeway to dc is just around the bend. A free shuttle to the metro is available but its 5$ one way to dc whitehouse.

The pool is clean, but can be like a kindergarten playground at times. Clean nonetheless.

I love the little alcoves where you can have coffee of breakfast with your own 19inch lcd tv.

Will definitely make this my residence when in DC.

thanks guys!

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: they do ask you to use the same towel during your stay. recycling is very much encouraged.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSpfRes, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Tsak C.,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel’s pool and business areas, as well as the surroundings. We appreciate so you also recognizing Laura! The shuttle has been recently added to our list of complimentary services to our guests, and we are happy to provide this additional service to make our guests’ stay even more convenient.
We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,

Meg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this property with my son and his family. Two suites were both spotless and the staff was very courteous and helpful. We had requested a porta-crib in advance and it was already in the room at check in. The location near the Metro was ideal. They offer a free shuttle to the Metro station, although we elected to drive due to the needed car seat. Breakfast in the morning was included and offered a great variety. We will definitely stay again and highly recommend to anyone traveling to the DC area. Conveniently located off I-95.

Room Tip: We elected a High Floor, away from the elevator. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSpfRes, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear ilv2trvl2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you and your family had such a great time during your stay at our hotel. Our breakfast is constantly mentioned as one of our guests’ favorite services. We also offer complimentary dinner Monday through Thursday during our Evening Social. We hope you get a chance to enjoy it next time you stay with us!
Best regards,

Meg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A class act...Everything was great! From the staff, the pool, the food, etc. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. Thank you to Adam, Sara, Marcia, April, Laura, Heroclito (sp) and the many others who made our stay what it was. They have even added a metro shuttle which makes it a real convenience to accessing the Metro Rail system. The food was wonderful, and they even served full meals on mon-thurs evenings. If you are looking for a great place to stay, take a look at this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSpfRes, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Travlex,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your most recent stay! We truly appreciate you recognizing so many of our associates! We will happily share this with the entire team. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the shuttle service and the pack-n-play was in place prior to arrival. Those details count!
We hope to see you again in the future when in the area!

Meg A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I booked a night here for my sister who was moving furniture and some stuff to the area. After a four-hour drive from the Hampton Roads area and enduring stop-and-go traffic, a stay at this Marriott property was a welcome luxury. The front desk staff who checked us in was very accommodating and recommended some places to eat in the area. Due to my Marriott Rewards status, we were also upgraded to a two-bedroom suite, which was wonderful because it meant my teenage nephew had his own room. The breakfast buffet was great, although it did get crowded and some people resorted to eating their meal in other areas of the lobby. There is complimentary garage parking for normal-sized vehicles; larger ones parked outside the garage. Initially, I had difficulty finding this Residence Inn, but the stay was worth that trouble. I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

First, I though the staff was really good, particularly the cleaning staff.

Due to burst pipes in my condo, I ended up staying 45 days while my unit was repaired, probably the longest period I've ever stayed in a hotel. And this was a pretty good stay!

I'd have only minor nits: the free food (not ever really free) wasn't the greatest, but it's edible and there was plenty of it. And the staff is really helpful. The indoor pool is nice, but the some of the other guests and their kids need to work on the concept of using a towell to dry off before heading to their rooms. The hotel facility itself is great, but the neighborhood is getting just a little shaky (strip club almost next door and some dodgy characters at the Shell station next door). Also, not exactly the best scenery (my room was overlooking "Mr. Tire").

But, all in all, noting th eminor nits, an excellent place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here on a holiday weekend after checking hotels in downtown Washington, DC and being scared off by prices of hotel parking ranging from $30-50 per night. This Residence Inn is located just off I-95 which made the exit easy on a busy Friday night with considerable traffic. It was delightful to know parking was complimentary in their adjacent garage. This property has an upscale décor and is multiple stories, but offers the signature Marriott spaciousness of the small apartment with the complimentary hot breakfast. The rate for weekend nights this close to DC was a true bargain! If you are looking for a casual dining spot, we would recommend Mike's American Grill which you can walk to (2 blocks). There are many businesses and public transportation nearby in this suburban location if you want to explore the nation's capital but don't want to break the bank staying in the city. It is also a great stop if you are traveling I-95 south.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg A, Manager at Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of our award winning Residence Inn! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the area easy to navigate.

We are conveniently located at the I95 "mixing bowl" with easy access to I95, I395 and I495 the Capital Beltway. As well as being within 2 miles of the Franconia/Springfield Metro station on the Blue and Yellow line.

Our team highly recommends Mike's American Grill for lunch and dinner. We are also within walking distance of many other restaurants ranging from Mexican to Thai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill

Address: 6412 Backlick Road, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Residence Inn in a prime location adjacent to I-495 (The Capital Beltway), just 3.5 miles from the main post at Fort Belvoir and within easy reach of the many government and military Army and Defense agencies at Fort Belvoir. Guests enjoy complimentary breakfast each morning, free Internet access and onsite fitness center. Each suite features full kitchens and separate spaces to work, dine and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.