We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill to your Saves list
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6412 Backlick Road, Springfield, VA 22150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Springfield
Wiesbaden
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I'm not always a fan of Marriotts, but there are good hotels in the chain. Anyone visiting Springfield has to be doing it for business - what else would you do here? There certainly are better locations than this for sight seeing. But the Residence Inn is one of three Marriott Hotels in less than a mile off the Beltway in Springfield. I stopped here because a colleague recommended it, and was not disappointed.
Without asking, the room I had reserved was upgraded and so I wound up in a suite, two bedrooms, kitchen, etc. all at the same rate as a normal room. The furnishings and carpets throughout the hotel are bright and cheerful and even if I could not figure out how to set the A/C to just the right temperature, my stay here was no less pleasant.
From the free parking at the enclosed parking garage, to the friendly check-in at the desk, everything worked great. Ok, you have to log in every on the free internet, - but it is free and it works well.
I checked out the pool and it wasn't really of use for a full size person, other than maybe a parent playing with their child, but it was clean and well maintained. Lacking a "real" pool, I stuck with the exercise equipment and did my time on the elliptic trainer and with the small selection of free weights. Added bonus points here - free head seat were provided to listen to news while working out. That's a winner since I always forget mine.
The closets still use those cheap plastic and wire organizers, but with the rest of the room being of very nice quality, I'll forgive it on this trip. The bathroom(s) were nicely sized and clean - no spots or issues anywhere. Even the water left behind on the soap tray was dried off every day.
The breakfast isn't quite what it should be. Though they offer the standard fare - eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, etc, whatever is cooked, is mostly overcooked. The eggs were reasonable, but a little rubbery and if you show up a little later you wind up with Styrofoam plates and plastic utensils. That's cheap and nor really "green". If there was an issue with this hotel, this was my sticking point as a guy who loves a good breakfast in a hotel.
Still, all the amenities, the friendly service and the overall quality of the hotel make it a good solid stay and a place to recommend in good conscience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have windows you can't open and regardless of the traffic outside, you won't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
37
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in early August 2012. Front desk staff enthusiastic and helpful. Room was spotless and well-outfitted. Only missing some sheets for the pull-out bed. Phoned desk, and they were delivered within 5 minutes. Beds very comfortable, and all furnishings were top-quality.
Breakfast was very nice - even though the immediate dining area was small-ish, folks were able to eat at other tables in lobby. No one lacked for a place to sit.
Only drawback is the maze of roads around the hotel. Makes it difficult to actually get to it. But once there, it's a real delight. We were able to walk to a local restaurant for a late dinner. Good recommendations by staff, and terrific pre-printed directions to restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Springfield for 21 nights from June 12 - July 3, 2012. First of all, I want to say that the staff of this hotel are very friendly. Special mention of thanks to - Rumana, Nancy and Liza. Rumana was very helpful during the entire check-in process and throughout our stay.

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite which suited our needs perfectly. There was enough space for me, my wife, mother-in-law, three kids and our maid. The rooms have independent bathrooms. There was a common kitchen, and living room, TVs in each room and the living room, grocery services, laundry room downstairs, ATM in the lobby, excellent free breakfast daily, free WI-FI, free multi-level parking. What more could you ask for?

The hotel is also very conveniently located on Old Keene Mill Road and Backlick road crossings. There are several restaurants, grocery stores and other shopping areas close by.

The hotel is just a cool 20 minute drive from the White House, Arlington National Cemetery, the Capitol and other places of interest in the D.C. area. The Springfield Metro station is just about 1 mile away.

Over all, this hotel was very convenient and was truly a "home away from home"! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Parking Courtyard are more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this location for five nights at the end of July and had high hopes. My expectations were totally surpassed by the service, the cleanliness, and the complete all around attention to detail.

I am a very picky hotel guest but this was an A+ all the way. The rooms were exceptionally clean and in perfect working order. The common areas were spotless and the breakfast was cooked well and I had plenty of choices.

The staff was absolutely awesome, professional, and very accommodating. Nothing but the best comments about the front desk staff. The cleaning staff should be commended because they are the shining stars behind the scenes!

The hotel itself is modern, bright, perfectly furnished, and has a great feel about it.

The location is close to everything you may need including food (grocery), cleaners, restaurants, liquor store, highways, and some close buy sight seeing. The neighborhood isn't bad, it's just a typical major metropolitan suburb.

The hotel allows pets for a fee and has a pet exercise area next to the hotel.

The hotel has a strict no party police, furthermore, they have occupancy guidelines about the rooms. This coupled with their no noise policy is totally AWESOME for the business traveler. It was abundantly clear that Noise complaints mean that the guest is hitting the road in a hurry!

I was super impressed that they advertise these guidelines on a tasteful electronic sign at the front desk.

I think that this hotel is set up perfectly for the business traveler rather than saturday night stop over or a family hotel.

The gym was well maintained and the treadmill belts didn't even slip (like in most poorly maintained hotel gyms). The laundry room is super clean and even has relaxing chairs to watch the sony flat screen tv in.

I probably sound like I work for the hotel but I swear I don't (feel free to read my other reviews of hotel properties). I am just super impressed at the attention to detail and the commitment on behalf of the staff and management.

Again, this hotel is top notch all the way!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, super staff, and good location! On business and my family stayed with me for a couple of nights. Bad storms ripped through the entire region causing massive power outages including the hotel. The staff worked tirelessly to accomodate current and new guests. They were impressive! Nice breakfast and the wait staff is superb! Housekeeping was excellent. Everyone was friendly. Lobby is contemporary. Parking garage is good. Fitness room is spacious although it could use another treadmill. I will stay again and refer others to this hotel. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed a the hotel while visiting family in the area. I almost canceled the reservation after reading a few of the Trip Advisor reviews. I'm glad that I kept the reservation. The hotel lobby and rooms are clean and modern. The attached parking garage is accessible to the hotel without going outside if you enter on the first or third floors. The suite with king bed and pull out sofa comfortably accommodated a family of four. The hotel borders the highway, several strip malls (Talbot's outlet and Giant supermarket). I asked for a view that didn't overlook the highway. Our room overlooked the courtyard. There were no issues with noise or parties. The hotel offers free wi-fi. The morning breakfast included standard items (eggs, waffles, sausage); healthy options (yogurt, fresh fruit), hot cereal, muffins, toast, bagels, etc. Most guests appeared to be families or adults on extended business trips. Pay close attention to your GPS device when you're traveling to the hotel. The hotel is immediately off the exit, but if you miss your turn, you may end up going another mile due due the convoluted design of the streets. I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not overlook the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here with my family (husband and 2 toddlers) and found this place to fit the bill perfectly. I was pleasantly surprised with the modern feel and layout of our suite. The lobby offered ample seating for my large extended family to visit. I was not impressed by the continental breakfast. While there were plenty of options, I found myself opting for cold cereal and milk, as the other hot items were not quite appetizing.
The king size bed in our room made me not care that I hadn't seen my own bed in over 2 weeks.
The staff was helpful and friendly, the parking was free and easily accessible and the location was ideal for metro access and conveniently close to a drug store, grocery store and liquor store (important after traveling with toddlers!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill

Address: 6412 Backlick Road, Springfield, VA 22150
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Residence Inn in a prime location adjacent to I-495 (The Capital Beltway), just 3.5 miles from the main post at Fort Belvoir and within easy reach of the many government and military Army and Defense agencies at Fort Belvoir. Guests enjoy complimentary breakfast each morning, free Internet access and onsite fitness center. Each suite features full kitchens and separate spaces to work, dine and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Springfield Old Keene Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.