We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6560 Loisdale Ct., Springfield, VA 22150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Springfield
Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Comfort Inn in Springfield VA is ideally situated for a visit to Washington without the need to pay the confiscatory District of Columbia lodging prices and taxes. It comes down to a combination of the nearby presence of the Metro rail system and a free hotel shuttle van to make the one-mile trip to the train station and back again. When combined with the 7-Day "Short" Trip Metro rail pass at a flat $35 for non-rush hour travel, it's no wonder that the Springfield hotels host a significant number of sightseers who wish to spend up to a week in the nation's capital city. At the Comfort Inn, the daily "all in" price works out to a bit less than a hundred bucks a night with free hot breakfasts if your stay includes a weekend at the lower price point than the
weekday cost.

The facility itself was in good condition with comfortable beds although most of the pillows were too flat. But with four from which to choose per bed, the problem was not insurmountable. The shower had an excellent head with superior water pressure and plenty of hot water. The shower curtain was on a "bow" rail which permitted plenty of room to turn around without the curtain making skin contact and metallic tabs held the lower edges in place. Housekeeping did an outstanding job of replenishing towels on a daily basis and fully stocked the linens for four patrons even when there were only two in the room. Touches included ruffled facial tissues and wash cloths as well as freshly made beds throughout the stay along with fresh soap and shampoo.

The free Comfort Inn hot breakfast menu included a warm egg dish such as omelet or scrambled eggs with sausage or another equivalent side dish as well as yogurt, cereal, toast, raisin bread, pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices and the ubiquitous coffee containers. I'd rate the spread as average by comparison with other Comfort Inn locations since the prepared eggs showed a bit of their age in the warming bin by 8:30AM. The plates and utensils were of the disposable type and several of the tables required wads of napkins under the feet to keep them from tipping and spilling drinks.

Front desk staff members were very attentive and friendly and clearly took their customer relations responsibilities seriously. On two out of six nights, freshly baked cookies made their appearance around 7PM on the counter. Coffee was always available in the lobby and plates, utensils and napkins were present in the breakfast area during non-serving hours to make it more convenient to consume takeout food in the room. This was further enabled by the
presence of a small refrigerator and microwave in the room.

On the subject of external food, a delicatessen across the street provided reasonably priced fare on a takeout or eat-in basis with very friendly owners. There was a restaurant across the street for more substantial fare. The saving grace was a Target with a full supermarket on the lower level, about the distance of three city blocks away.

Back in the room, the television set was a bit of an anachronism, featuring a vintage Zenith 27-inch cathode ray picture tube in the old 4:3 format but at least it was in color. Obviously, the set did not have an HDMI input for use in connection with a laptop computer to create an instant "big screen" DVD player.

As noted earlier, the key reason for staying in Springfield was due to the presence of the nearby Metro rail station and the available free hotel shuttle service. While three of the shuttle drivers did an excellent job of arriving in timely fashion for pickups at both the hotel and Metro station locations, the fourth driver was "missing in action" on several occasions. This required repeat phone calls to the front desk for service to the point where senior hotel management became involved to eventually resolve the issue.

The other area of concern involved the hotel fire alarm system. On a Saturday night at 11:15PM, a youthful hotel guest reportedly pulled the public alarm lever in the hallway which resulted in 15-minutes of wailing bells and computerized voice announcements to evacuate the hotel. This continued until the fire department truck arrived to turn off the alarm. The very next morning at 6:45AM, the same thing happened again! This time, the front desk said it was the result of excess smoke during the preparation of breakfast. Then, it was announced via flyers that the fire department was going to test the fire alarm klaxons on Tuesday morning, making it the most "alarming" stay we had experienced at any lodging facility. However, the formal test was cancelled.

It should be noted that the fire alarm incident of Saturday evening was not caused by a student on a Washington DC field trip. During our stay, there were numerous student groups staying at this Comfort Inn and they were well behaved. However, the place was not as quiet as a church, and the judicious use of foam earplugs was necessary to make hallways noise vanish. The earplugs also came in very handy on the Metro rail system, which had its shares of high-pitched whining sounds along the route, most notably in the subway sections.

Finally, Internet connectivity at the Comfort Inn was reasonably speedy although the login procedure was a bit laborious but not unreasonable. The public area in the lobby had two computers with a shared printer for airline boarding pass printing. One of the desktops worked. The other one was inoperable but the evening maintenance person was on the scene within minutes to work on getting it back into operation again.

Conclusion? This was a decent Comfort Inn and on the basis of location alone presented a satisfactory solution for a Washington DC stay for the purpose of sightseeing. In addition, the 12 Noon checkout time made it convenient for an afternoon departure from Washington National Airport, only a half-hour ride up the Metro Rail "Blue Line" from the Springfield VA terminus.

Room Tip: Beds in the "Doubles" rooms may actually be Double Beds rather than Queen-sized beds. Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
26
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Needed a room to break up a very long drive north. The room was clean, very functional with a good work station, club chair, and quick wireless internet (free). Included was a microwave and refrigerator. Cookies and coffee in the lobby in the evening, and a good breakfast (included). The staff was pleasant and helpful.

The only con was the school load of kids staying on my floor, having a party in the lobby. When it did not quiet down after an hour (kids will be kids), I called front desk, and it was remedied in minutes.

I would stay here again to break up a long drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had to get a room at the last minute because I am a full time teleworker and there was an internet outage in my area. I called and reserved a room around 6 AM. I was told that I could check in the room at any time that morning. I reached the hotel at 7:17 and requested to check into my room. Alex (rudely) told me that "We do not do check ins in the morning..The check in time is at 3." I told Alex that I made a reservation and was told that I can get an early check in. He told (not asked) me to hold on for a moment while he checked his system. He saw my reservation and asked for my id, AAA, and credit cards. I placed my cards in his hand. He did not give me the same respect and placed my cards on the counter. The only reason why I didn't address this issue with him was because I needed to get to my room and start working at 8. I was just wondering what in the world could be going on in his mind to treat a hotel guest this way. The Comfort Inn in Springfield is a decent hotel and it definitely served it's purpose but I will not be returning. There are way too many other places to stay in this area that have staff members that know how to respect their guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here on a getaway weekend to Washington DC. It is very close to the metro station and they provide free shuttle to the metro station. Check-in was very easy and professional yet friendly. The room was very nice and clean. I was surprised they had not upgraded to flat screen TV's, but we did not go for the TV so it was okay. The breakfast was nice and was your typical hotel hot breakfast of proteins, breads, fruits, juices, coffee, and of course waffles. I will definitely stay here again for my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn, Springfield, VA, on Saturday, April 6, 2013. The hotel is five miles outside of Washington, D.C. The lobby is spacious. The rooms are nice and well appointed. This is a step up from most Comfort Inns. There is a shopping center close by with a variety of stores. Just across the street is the Springfield Mall. The mall is currently closed and is undergoing a renovation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the D.C. or Northern Virginia area. The rooms are quiet. Although I don't ever use them, there is a microwave and a refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

the hotel is very convenient to the freeway and was very easy for me to access. I was there three days and all in all my stay was very good. The furniture is a bit outdated but the rooms are clean, the breakfast bar is well stocked and the overall staff is very attentive. The girl at the front desk can use a bit more training but she'll catch on I'm sure. Although I didn't use it, they have a shuttle to take you to the metro so you can visit Washington DC, plenty of handicapped parking spaces as well as accessible rooms which are very nicely done. There were only 8 tables in the breakfast area which surprised me since the hotel has 4 floors but that didn't seem to be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, RI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The facility was in good condition and well maintained. The most positive factor is the staff were excellent, interested, and always pleasant and helpful. I was there for one night, but if the need arrises, would go back gladly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 6560 Loisdale Ct., Springfield, VA 22150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Springfield
Comfort Inn Springfield
Springfield Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.