We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopkins Out of the Ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Third Weeknight Half Off
Ranked #1 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hopkins Out of the Ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Kevin & Sherri deliver the experience we all hope for when booking B&Bs. The Inn is spotlessly clean, with tasteful pieces of antique furniture, but not cluttered. From the homemade cookies on arrival, through breakfast muffins, omelettes, or waffles for breakfast. The attention to detail is perfect, particularly when it comes to advice on where to hike by day and eat at local hostelries by night.
They are truly part of the community and have vested time and energy in making not only their Inn function flawlessly, but the whole community of Sperryville.
We will be recommending this Inn to overseas visitors and anyone thinking of hiking in Shenandoah area. .

Room Tip: I stayed in Rosemary which has the convenience of proximity to parking lot and on first floor with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
181
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the best B & B ever - from excellent breakfasts with fruit and protein( and not just pastries )to personally tailored hiking advice, homemade cookies, welcoming tea and or wine....the list goes on. Sherri's detailed hike descriptions and her willingness to loan good trail maps were invaluable. We were grateful for terrific weather although the books and reading materials were very tempting and could have occupied many rainy days. Kevin and Sherri are definitely into being terrific hosts/innkeepers and it shows.

Room Tip: Check their website for room photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hopkins Ordinary is more like "extraordinary." In addition to the 200 year old deeply historic house with a warm personality and vibe, are your (as Michael Keaton as Beetlejuice said) the hosts with the most, Kevin and Sherri.

These guys are surely the best. From Kevin's home brew (his Octoberfest was superb), their hiking and local sight expertise, their heart to serve simply is head and shoulders above the rest. They answered every question with grace and aplomb. Very patient and accommodating. Hats off to Hopkins Ordinary and the "hosts with the most."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary B&B for 2 nights this week. Our stay couldn't have been better. Kevin and Sherri, the owners/innkeepers welcomed us with open arms and took care of our every need. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed with period furniture. The B&B was built before the Civil War and much of the interior is original, but well-preserved and kept in good repair. All of the bathrooms have been updated with modern fixtures and plumbing. The AC/heating has also been modernized and each bedroom can be individually controlled. The breakfasts are first-rate; delicious and well presented. The Sperryville area has much to offer, and your Innkeepers know all the best places to eat, shop, and sightsee. The Hopkins Ordinary is a great getaway. We highly recommend it.

Mike and Linda, Annandale, VA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at Hopkins Ordinary B&B for four nights on a hiking trip and it was outstanding. The hosts Sherri and Kevin were delightful to be with, and most helpful in hiking and dining advice. Their B&B has been completely restored, and is conveniently located in a small town but close to many hiking opportunities. Breakfast was excellent. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a night in the Lavender Room at Hopkins Ordinary. The room was spacious and immaculate, There was a large soak tub (also a shower), a towel warmer in the bathroom. and separate thermostats for the bathroom and the bedroom for special pampering. The big plus for us was the wrap around porch accessible from our room on the second floor complete with bistro table and fabuolous swing ideal for reading. Our hosts, Sherri and Kevin, were laid back delightful people who clearly enjoy what they are doing and excel by going out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They are also extremely knowledgeable about the area and are happy to share their information.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hopkins Ordinary was a wonderful home away from home in Sperryville. We had decided on a whim to spend a few days outside of the city, and were lucky enough to book the last available room at the Inn. We couldn't have been more delighted with the choice. The rooms are immaculate, beautifully furnished, and very comfortable. Innkeepers Kevin and Sherry are so kind and welcoming. They took the time to chat with all of their guests and provided helpful information on things to do in the area - where to hike, where to eat. And on top of that, they are fantastic cooks. The french toast and bacon - sublime. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a recently renovated inn located in the historic village of Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.