We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sperryvile B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Half Off Third Weeknight
Ranked #1 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sperryvile B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at Hopkins Ordinary while attending the Castleton Music Festival. Kevin and Sherri are wonderful hosts and keep every part of the building spotless. Kevin provided us with directions to Castleton and Sherri shared her knowledge of all the local farms and their products. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
193
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stay here whenever we come to this part of Virginia. The innkeepers are wonderful. The rooms are welcoming and the beds are exceptionally comfortable! We always look forward to the exquisite breakfasts cooked to perfection. The town of Sperryville is charming. My husband and I are already looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Hopkins Ordinary and it was perfect for us. Close enough to the Castleton Festival and a great location to explore the area. Kevin and Sherri are great hosts and gave us great hiking, food and winery recommendations! Breakfast was tasty! Cookies in the afternoon and a glass of wine on the front porch made for a relaxing afternoon. We found our room to be very nicely appointed and comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Rosemary room for one night in mid July. Was welcomed by Sherri with great cheer even through we arrived early. She recommended for our lunch a local eatery which was connected to a large Antique Store and other shops all within walking distance. Like others we were there for the Castleton Festival for a night at the opera. Both our stay at the Hopkins Ordinary and the opera were a success. Great place to getaway and relax. Breakfast and local history served up by Kevin and Sherri were a bonus. Don't miss the Copper Fox distillery (a pleasant 1/2 mile walk away) and the Wasmund's Whiskey which I would put up against many tasted in Glasgow and Edinburgh. And their Rye is excellent as well..BTY we sampled both when Kevin offered us a taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our goal was opera at the nearby Castleton Festival, but our stay an Hopkins Ordinary was a wonderful bonus. The hosts are gracious and hospitable, and it is quite a thrill to stay in a building that has served guests from before the Civil War. The town of Sperryville is not only convenient to The Castleton Festival, but near the glorious Blue Ridge Parkway and home to a wonderful boutique Wasmund's Copper Fox Whisky Distillery, We have already begun recommending the place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Hopkins Ordinary in the last weekend of June and had a great time in the area. Our stay at the cottage was comfortable and pleasant - and the attentiveness and helpfulness of owners Sherri and Kevin made it even better. The homemade cookies are such a nice touch (breakfast is great too) . . . but they went over the top when we discovered that we had left our baby sling at home and needed something to carry our 3-month around in as we visited the area. Kevin and Sherri actually borrowed one from a friend of theirs, and went to pick it up for us. Does it get any better than that??

They clearly love what they do at the Hopkins Ordinary and we would happily recommend it to anyone - and look forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hopkins Ordinary B&B to get away from D.C. The house was very nice, conveniently located close to a restaurant, and the hosts were fabulous. I especially liked Kevin's home-made beer and the great breakfast we received. Kevin and Sherri gave us good tips for nearby hikes, and Sherri was kind enough to wash my wife's shorts after she took a spill on one of the hikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.