We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, charming, delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Half Off Third Weeknight
Ranked #1 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Relaxing, charming, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Kevin and Sherri are wonderful hosts who will help in whatever way they can to help make the most of your stay! We had a fabulous time - cozy, comfortable accommodations, delicious food (at local restaurants and at the inn itself), and beautiful hiking (Kevin sent us on a great hike!). I highly recommend to anybody who wants to get away and enjoy a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzstargazer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at Hopkins Ordinary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kevin the innkeeper was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Our room was cozy and comfortable with a great shower and spotlessly clean.
Scones and cookies were yummy! Breakfast lovely....
A great location for wining,hiking, and visiting the Inn at Little Washington.
We will definitely return
Thank you Kevin

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Owners Sherri and Kevin are friends, and both great chef's and even offer cooking weekends! Most recently sent a couple good friends here - and they loved it! This is timeless, charming, beautiful & comfortable B&B, lovely rooms, amazing architecture, with big wrap around porches, perfect to watch the day go by, right on main street in Sperryville, Va. Just steps from everything, including a sweet art gallery and restaurant across the street. Shops, antiques, many virginia wineries all right nearby and the spectacular views from Shenandoah National Park, Sky Line Drive is just 10 minutes up the mountain. See website. Wonderful B&B, endorsed by good friends who have stayed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There were five of us staying at Hopkins Ordinary over a three day period. Kevin and Sherri really know how to host visitors in Sperryville. We experienced the best home brewed beers, home baked cookies, and a variety of superb breakfasts. The historic place to stay is anything but ordinary; a pleasent, relaxing, and tasteful experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved our one night stay at Hopkins. Kevin and Sherri are very friendly, and you're greeted with a complimentary beverage of your choice (not to mention fresh-baked cookies!). We also paid a little extra for some gourmet chocolates and wine to be waiting for us upon arrival. We enjoyed these while playing Scrabble, and before a quiet afternoon walk over to the nearby art gallery and Copper Fox whiskey distillery.

Hopkins is centrally located in the heart of Sperryville. It's an easy ten minute walk to the aforementioned gallery and distillery. There are several more shops and businesses surrounding the B&B on Main Street, including a gorgeous converted church that hosts yoga lessons right across the street (we wanted to go, but didn't have the time - will definitely seek it out upon our next visit).

Before dinner we took advantage of the Rosemary Room's private deck. It has two rocking chairs and a small table, which was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sun set. The area is quiet, peaceful, and low traffic. Hopkins' atmosphere does a fantastic job of capitalizing on those traits! After dinner we came back, made a fire (they provide you with a Duraflame log and lighter) and enjoyed the much-needed warmth on an otherwise cold and frigid night. The beds are lush and we slept well as a result!

Breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit, juice, coffee, pumpkin scones, and three different quiches. Seating in the breakfast room is communal. There are two tables: one large, and one for seating just four people. I'm not a fan of communal seating (I find it a bit awkward in most settings, since it forces conversation where it isn't always meant to naturally occur) but this wasn't a deal breaker. The dining area is a moderate size, so I can understand the necessity of a few large tables as opposed to several small ones.

Before we left, Kevin and Sherri gave us some enthusiastic recommendations on local vineyards and provided us with a promotional card they had to get us into Linden Vineyards's beautiful terrace (it's members only on the weekends). Lovely hosts, and would love to go back again - hopefully for more than just a night's getaway!

Room Tip: Rosemary Room has a fireplace, spacious bathroom, dreamy mattress and linens, and a beautiful view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightrecordings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did one of the cooking weekends at Hopkins Ordinary. Upon arrival, there were warm baked cookies awaiting us which we knew about since we have stayed here before and a nice fire in the fireplace. Warm greetings from Kevin and Sherri. Cooking class was great. We did this with some friends of ours. The theme was French Bistro. Everything was cooked from scratch and there were lessons on various techniques for those who are not familiar with deboning a chicken for example. I have to admit, we did cook a fantastic dinner. The rooms are clean and cozy. Breakfast was fresh and good even though I wasn't really all the hungry (after dinner). Also, we contracted with Susan who did a private yoga class for us across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary as part of an early Valentine’s weekend. We stayed in the spacious Lavender Room. It included a wood-burning stove, an en suite bathroom with claw foot tub, and a private door to the shared balcony, where you get a spectacular view of the mountains.
 
Kevin & Sherri are gracious, knowledgeable, and helpful innkeepers. The love for what they do really shows; whether it’s talking about the area or creating a delicious breakfast. Kevin’s creative meals are better than what you’d get at most fine eateries. They are accompanied by Sherri’s delectable baked goods. She also has a plate of ever-changing homemade cookies available in the common area to snack on.


This was our first visit, but it will definitely not be our last. If you’re looking to spend a relaxing time, with great food & conversation anywhere near Sperryville, make the Hopkins Ordinary your choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DCY1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperryville
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 8 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
11.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#3 of 8 in Luray
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
9.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 10 in Washington
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing