We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing,charming,perfect to celebrate a milestone anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Third Weeknight Half Off
Ranked #1 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing,charming,perfect to celebrate a milestone anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at Hopkins Ordinary and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kevin the innkeeper was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Our room was cozy and comfortable with a great shower and spotlessly clean.
Scones and cookies were yummy! Breakfast lovely....
A great location for wining,hiking, and visiting the Inn at Little Washington.
We will definitely return
Thank you Kevin

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
165
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Owners Sherri and Kevin are friends, and both great chef's and even offer cooking weekends! Most recently sent a couple good friends here - and they loved it! This is timeless, charming, beautiful & comfortable B&B, lovely rooms, amazing architecture, with big wrap around porches, perfect to watch the day go by, right on main street in Sperryville, Va. Just steps from everything, including a sweet art gallery and restaurant across the street. Shops, antiques, many virginia wineries all right nearby and the spectacular views from Shenandoah National Park, Sky Line Drive is just 10 minutes up the mountain. See website. Wonderful B&B, endorsed by good friends who have stayed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sperryville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

There were five of us staying at Hopkins Ordinary over a three day period. Kevin and Sherri really know how to host visitors in Sperryville. We experienced the best home brewed beers, home baked cookies, and a variety of superb breakfasts. The historic place to stay is anything but ordinary; a pleasent, relaxing, and tasteful experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved our one night stay at Hopkins. Kevin and Sherri are very friendly, and you're greeted with a complimentary beverage of your choice (not to mention fresh-baked cookies!). We also paid a little extra for some gourmet chocolates and wine to be waiting for us upon arrival. We enjoyed these while playing Scrabble, and before a quiet afternoon walk over to the nearby art gallery and Copper Fox whiskey distillery.

Hopkins is centrally located in the heart of Sperryville. It's an easy ten minute walk to the aforementioned gallery and distillery. There are several more shops and businesses surrounding the B&B on Main Street, including a gorgeous converted church that hosts yoga lessons right across the street (we wanted to go, but didn't have the time - will definitely seek it out upon our next visit).

Before dinner we took advantage of the Rosemary Room's private deck. It has two rocking chairs and a small table, which was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sun set. The area is quiet, peaceful, and low traffic. Hopkins' atmosphere does a fantastic job of capitalizing on those traits! After dinner we came back, made a fire (they provide you with a Duraflame log and lighter) and enjoyed the much-needed warmth on an otherwise cold and frigid night. The beds are lush and we slept well as a result!

Breakfast was awesome. Fresh fruit, juice, coffee, pumpkin scones, and three different quiches. Seating in the breakfast room is communal. There are two tables: one large, and one for seating just four people. I'm not a fan of communal seating (I find it a bit awkward in most settings, since it forces conversation where it isn't always meant to naturally occur) but this wasn't a deal breaker. The dining area is a moderate size, so I can understand the necessity of a few large tables as opposed to several small ones.

Before we left, Kevin and Sherri gave us some enthusiastic recommendations on local vineyards and provided us with a promotional card they had to get us into Linden Vineyards's beautiful terrace (it's members only on the weekends). Lovely hosts, and would love to go back again - hopefully for more than just a night's getaway!

Room Tip: Rosemary Room has a fireplace, spacious bathroom, dreamy mattress and linens, and a beautiful view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did one of the cooking weekends at Hopkins Ordinary. Upon arrival, there were warm baked cookies awaiting us which we knew about since we have stayed here before and a nice fire in the fireplace. Warm greetings from Kevin and Sherri. Cooking class was great. We did this with some friends of ours. The theme was French Bistro. Everything was cooked from scratch and there were lessons on various techniques for those who are not familiar with deboning a chicken for example. I have to admit, we did cook a fantastic dinner. The rooms are clean and cozy. Breakfast was fresh and good even though I wasn't really all the hungry (after dinner). Also, we contracted with Susan who did a private yoga class for us across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary as part of an early Valentine’s weekend. We stayed in the spacious Lavender Room. It included a wood-burning stove, an en suite bathroom with claw foot tub, and a private door to the shared balcony, where you get a spectacular view of the mountains.
 
Kevin & Sherri are gracious, knowledgeable, and helpful innkeepers. The love for what they do really shows; whether it’s talking about the area or creating a delicious breakfast. Kevin’s creative meals are better than what you’d get at most fine eateries. They are accompanied by Sherri’s delectable baked goods. She also has a plate of ever-changing homemade cookies available in the common area to snack on.


This was our first visit, but it will definitely not be our last. If you’re looking to spend a relaxing time, with great food & conversation anywhere near Sperryville, make the Hopkins Ordinary your choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night at Hopkins Ordinary Inn for his birthday. We had never stayed in a B&B and our first experience was perfect! The room was very extremely clean, cozy and comfortable. Actually I feel like the room and all we saw were immaculate! Sherri and Kevin were very hospital and gracious. Waking up to the tantalizing smell of Sherri's homemade oatmeal/raisin scones and broiled grapefruit was amazing! Our omelettes prepared by Kevin were cooked to perfection (mushroom, with goat cheese - yum). The coffee - a blend unique to Hopkins B&B was delicous. I enjoyed a sunny spot on the front porch with my coffee as my husband read the paper. They we took a stroll down the charming street in Sperryville - a gorgeous winter morning. Extremely relaxing time - we will go again!

Room Tip: they are all beautiful - go to the website and pick your favorite one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a recently renovated inn located in the historic village of Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list