We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cooking Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sperryville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Half Off Third Weeknight
Ranked #1 of 7 Sperryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cooking Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did one of the cooking weekends at Hopkins Ordinary. Upon arrival, there were warm baked cookies awaiting us which we knew about since we have stayed here before and a nice fire in the fireplace. Warm greetings from Kevin and Sherri. Cooking class was great. We did this with some friends of ours. The theme was French Bistro. Everything was cooked from scratch and there were lessons on various techniques for those who are not familiar with deboning a chicken for example. I have to admit, we did cook a fantastic dinner. The rooms are clean and cozy. Breakfast was fresh and good even though I wasn't really all the hungry (after dinner). Also, we contracted with Susan who did a private yoga class for us across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    15
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
192
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at the Hopkins Ordinary as part of an early Valentine’s weekend. We stayed in the spacious Lavender Room. It included a wood-burning stove, an en suite bathroom with claw foot tub, and a private door to the shared balcony, where you get a spectacular view of the mountains.
 
Kevin & Sherri are gracious, knowledgeable, and helpful innkeepers. The love for what they do really shows; whether it’s talking about the area or creating a delicious breakfast. Kevin’s creative meals are better than what you’d get at most fine eateries. They are accompanied by Sherri’s delectable baked goods. She also has a plate of ever-changing homemade cookies available in the common area to snack on.


This was our first visit, but it will definitely not be our last. If you’re looking to spend a relaxing time, with great food & conversation anywhere near Sperryville, make the Hopkins Ordinary your choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night at Hopkins Ordinary Inn for his birthday. We had never stayed in a B&B and our first experience was perfect! The room was very extremely clean, cozy and comfortable. Actually I feel like the room and all we saw were immaculate! Sherri and Kevin were very hospital and gracious. Waking up to the tantalizing smell of Sherri's homemade oatmeal/raisin scones and broiled grapefruit was amazing! Our omelettes prepared by Kevin were cooked to perfection (mushroom, with goat cheese - yum). The coffee - a blend unique to Hopkins B&B was delicous. I enjoyed a sunny spot on the front porch with my coffee as my husband read the paper. They we took a stroll down the charming street in Sperryville - a gorgeous winter morning. Extremely relaxing time - we will go again!

Room Tip: they are all beautiful - go to the website and pick your favorite one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After a long day hiking Old Rag, it was such a relief to drive just a short distance to Hopkins Ordinary, where Sherri greeted us with fresh baked cookies and an offer of juice for the kids and a microbrew beer for the grown-ups. We rented the Garden Cottage (the only option at Hopkins Ordinary for those traveling with children). It was perfect! The cottage comfortably sleeps 5 and is very cozy. I loved that there was no television or other electronics (the B&B does have wifi for those not able to leave behind the gadgets). A true get-away.
We walked a VERY short distance to Thorton River Grille for an excellent New Year's Eve dinner.
In the morning, Sherri and Kevin delivered a delicious breakfast to the cottage. Would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast recently. Our hosts, Sherri and Kevin were wonderful and extremely helpful. The Inn was picturesque and well appointed. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Our room had a private bath and the bed was very comfortable. The parlor was inviting with a great fireplace and comfortable furniture. Sherri and Kevin provided a great breakfast and were sociable and informative about the local area and events. If we ever have the opportunity to stay in the Sperryville, Virginia area, the Hopkins Ordinary will be our first choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Thyme Room" which had a lovely little balcony and early morning sun peer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am kicking myself for taking so long to write this review... because this place deserves so much praise! Sherri and Kevin as the nicest people and the Ordinary/B&B that they have restored is absolutely beautiful, cozy and charming! Be sure to try the freshly baked cookies when you arrive!!... we had to get the recipe from them.. they are probably the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had! I have stayed in the Sage room and the Rosemary room and both were very comfortable... beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds. The Rosemary room has a fireplace and we were able to enjoy a little fire in the evening during our stay. The town of Sperryville is very small, but the Market and surrounding shops are all very good for browsing and shopping. Also, the Thornton River Grill is AMAZING... seriously... eat there. I have tasted several items on the menu and all were over-the-top good. Kevin and Sherri also provide an amazing home-cooked breakfast each morning using ingredients from the local farms.. it doesn't get much better. This place is where I want to spend every available weekend.. it is just peaceful and delightful. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I have :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you are looking for the quintessential B&B experience this is it. It starts with the warmth and care of the hosts Kevin and Sherri and every detail of our stay was a pleasure. Sherri suggested where to go for a short walk which we thoroughly enjoyed on a beautiful, crisp morning. We then returned to a wonderful, satisfying breakfast with very attentive hosts! Our room was lovely spacious and very comfortable. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed our room (Thyme) - large windows with morning sum and a balcomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast

Address: 47 Main Street, PO Box 437, Sperryville, VA 22740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Sperryville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sperryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hopkins Ordinary Bed and Breakfast is a historic inn located in the Sperryville, Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Shenandoah National Park. The roooms have fireplaces and porches; a full breakfast focuses on local ingredients and homemade breads. A brewery is in the cellar, and beer is served on site. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and a dozen wineries are within a half-hour drive. Come for a day of hiking, antiquing, visiting art galleries and the local distillery. Then come back to your room, taste the oferings at our brewery and relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hopkins Ordinary Hotel Sperryville
Hopkins Ordinary Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Ordinary Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.