We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute diners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High on the Hog BBQ - CLOSED

High on the Hog BBQ
15 Main St., Sperryville, VA 22835
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Shelby, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Last minute diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

7 of us arrived about 15 minutes before closing...literally! We had been riding motorcycles all day long and were cold and tired. The staff there could not have been more gracious and welcoming to us! I hated to go in there last minute but it was within walking distance to our hotel and we didn't want to get back on the bikes again so we took a chance that they wouldn't get upset with us...and they didn't! We never felt rushed or like we were inconveniencing them (and we were the last diners in there). Between the seven of us we had crab cakes (1), the oyster platter (2), BBQ sandwich (1) and a combo plate of BBQ and brisket. Everything came out hot, freshly cooked and best of all, good! We were so pleased with our food and the level of service we received. We would gladly dine there again if we come back through there. Thank you to the staff that took such great care of us!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
1 review
“yummy food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My family had my grandfathers 90th birthday here, everyone drove over from Broadway and Harrisonburg, the staff was excellent they treated my grandfather like a king (even did a little harmless flirting with him). Started off with chicken wings and fried oysters (the good kind not the grainy kind) which were excellent and my g'pas favorite. We all had a variety of things, pulled pork and chicken, fried shrimp, crab legs, salads, chicken/beef/pork combos, everything was fresh and tasty. Also got a variety of desserts which were so good. The portions were large and priced just right. We had a great time and everyone plans on going again. Thanks again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I wanted to try a new place and it sounded interesting to have your food cooked smoked outside but there's nothing good to say about this place food was poor tasting portion size way too small for how much it costI'll never eat there again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This food was terrible!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

To start with the food was old, dry, and certainly not fresh, did I mention old? It might even be an insult to call this food. It was ridiculously expensive there was only three of us and we nearly spent sixty dollars and the portions were tiny. My ribs still had the membrane on them which you are supposed to remove before even cooking and it was obvious that they were reheated. The three way combination that we received was absolutely disgusting, the chicken was as dry as a desert with no flavor, the coleslaw was from a bag and most certainly not fresh in any way shape or form and the beans were old and quite obviously from a can, the ribs that came with it were absolutely tiny and of course dry and old. The best food that we received was the french fries but some of those were even burned and they all were soggy. Finally on to desert it was frozen and disgusting. Not only was the food not good, it was also not filling and the portions were ridiculous, especially considering the price, we even had to cook dinner when we went home. I am very disappointed, I would never eat here again and I would advise anyone against eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best beef brisket ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at High On The Hog for lunch at their new restaurant in Luray. The food was incredible and the service was fantastic. Great prices too! Don't miss the beef brisket or the homemade apple cake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High on the Hog BBQ also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High on the Hog BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.