We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and we just loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn South Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn South Hill to your Saves list
Hampton Inn South Hill
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Thompson Road, South Hill, VA 23970   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and we just loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011 via mobile

This place was one of the nicest we have stayed at. Price was fair and more than reasonable. Room was very clean and just a wonderful place to stay. We will stay here every chance we get.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    38
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
52
39
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed overnight on the way back from vacation. We called from the interstate to make the reservation and the manager was wonderful. He gave us a great rate $99 for a king suite with a jacuzzi tub and then gave us directions from the interstate. The room was great--comfortable bed, relaxing jacuzzi tub, flat screen television and refrigerator with freezer. The free breakfast was another great feature.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were on a long motorcycle trip and decided to stop on the way home. We could not have picked a better hotel to sope at. We were able to get a first floor room so we could park our bikes outside our window.
Our room was beautiful and clean. We jumped in the pool and it was just a perfect temperature to cool off and relax.
Front desk was friendly and helpful and offered to let us park the bikes under shelter if we wanted to...how nice !

After a very long 400 miles on a motorcycle we were so relaxed we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I stay at this hotel for business all the time, and the rooms are very clean, fresh and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk CT.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I was in town to visiting because I was thinking about moving to the area. After staying at this hotel my mind was made up. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were very clean! The breakfast is best! Everyone gave so much information about the area. I will be staying at this hotel when I return in June. I've also decided to stay at Hampton Inns when ever I travel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We were in town for a funeral and I checked rates on computer before I left and just decided to stop in and get a room!! We were more than happy with the girl at the front desk, very friendly, made us feel at home!! Our room was very clean, luxurious for my standards. Plush pillows, comfortable beds, and Free internet access!! Woohoo!!! We were told their was a complimentary breakfast in the morning, I peeked, looked really nice but it was my birthday, so my husband took me across the street to Cracker Barrel (loved it). I thought at the time it was a very nice hotel but after leaving to go to another hotel in Roanoke, VA and finding a disaster there, now I feel that this hotel was absolutely immaculate!!!! I don't understand the other reviews about the rates, I checked internet and got same rate in person and was actually cheaper than Holiday Inn Express across the street. I had stayed there before and just wanted a change and to see how the Hampton Inn measured up!! Will be hard to make a decision next time I'm in town!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, pleasant staff, free internet access
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Great hotel although a little pricier than the neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn South Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Hill

Address: 200 Thompson Road, South Hill, VA 23970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn hotel in South Hill, VA is situated in scenic Southern Virginia near Lake Gaston and John H. Kerr Reservoir. Our 55 room hotel features a free hot breakfast every morning and free high-speed internet access in every room. With all the amenities and our friendly staff, you will feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn South Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Hill Hotel South Hill
South Hill Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn South Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.