We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Thompson Road, South Hill, VA 23950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were too tired to drive further so stayed here overnight. We travel frequently but always choose our hotels ahead so this was an unexpected surprise. The room was fine and the breakfast was great. The staff was hospitable and kind. I was in need of a phone charger and the overnight desk worker allowed me to use his charger even though he was leaving earlier than I would be up the next morning. He insisted it would be fine and that I could just leave it at the desk for him in the morning. That is going above and beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Cat2car:
The Best Western Plus family prides ourselves in providing ultimate guest experiences. We not only provide our guests with numerous amenities, but also let them use our personal items (such as phone charges) if it can make their stay an exceptional one. During their stay our guests have many wonderful unexpected surprises because we take pride in all aspects of their stay, which were not provided by any other hotels that they have stayed in prior.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    21
    5
    10
See reviews for
54
15
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Recently stayed overnight at this property on our way to NC for Thanksgiving with family. It's located right off Interstate 85. Room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Had a good night's sleep. The staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. Lots of choices with the free breakfast buffet. Great dinner at the Glass House Diner across the street. We'd definitely stay here again. Shout out to Jay from NJ!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Fran528:
Traveling from/to long distances it is important that our guests leave us rejuvenated: mind, body and soul. We provide the mind: concrete notions of the savings that were saved during their stay, we provide the body: an ultra-clean and comfortable room and we also provide the soul: a space (our sitting area next to the fireplace, a view of our pond and fountain and/or our patio) to reflect all the Thanks in Thanksgiving.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

to stay here. I wanted a room with a few more amenities and at a reasonable price. This fit the bill. I got a room with a spa/whirlpool and a king sized bed. The breakfast was decent with hot (egg like) scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bisquits and gravy, cereal, toast (no bagels or danish) fresh fruit, coffee, etc. Not too bad and I would stay again. A bonus: there was a gas station across the street that was $2.92 a gallon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert G.:
In the time of economic concerns, we here at the Best Western Plus understand that it is important to provide our guests with an unmatchable amount of amenities for a price that all of our guests are comfortable with. We believe that our guests should have an ultimate experience during their stay.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Outstanding service and hospitality, staff was GREAT! Room was great, lots of hot water and comfortable bed!
Had great after wedding gathering in lobby, cozy and no one bothered us.

The free breakfast was also outstanding and VERY convienent.

If i travel this way again, will stay here without hesitation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear CGKen:
Weddings are a time when family and friends come together and celebrate a beginning of a new and exciting life for a new couple. We are honored that we can play a little part in providing a great room, cozy lobby and a complimentary hot breakfast in order for the families to enjoy the numerous wedding events. Not only do we provide all these exceptional services, but we the Best Western South Hill Inn Family treat all our guests as family when they stay with us.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First, there are several acceptable hotels to choose from in South Hill. I’ve stayed at Fairfield, Comfort and now, Best Western. We reserved a NS King with sofabed.

Positives:
This hotel has a wired internet option, which I like.
Beds were fine, the sheets were acceptably clean and new-ish.
Nice selection of soaps/toiletries was provided and the front desk has other personal items you might forget (I needed a toothbrush)
Breakfast was the best I’ve ever seen at a mid-price hotel—it was a full menu, eggs (scrambled & boiled), bacon or sausage, biscuits, cereals, oatmeal, apple & orange juice, fresh fruit, waffle station, plus a very attentive hostess who personally reminded each guest 5 min before she cleared the area that breakfast was closing and to let her know if we needed anything else. Get there early, the breakfast area is only about seven/eight tables.

Things to improve:
Well, it is an older property, but it is generally cared for.
The carpet in our room was a bit worn.
Bathrooms did not have a fan, and I think the lighting could be updated throughout the room.
Bath towels were ok, some soft/fluffy, others a bit rougher

I had a issue with the AC in my room, it was cool enough, but there was a odor of stale air that filled the side of the room next to the AC. The hotel manager stopped by quickly after I called the front desk and cleaned the AC unit, checked for moisture and replaced the cover. The odor was diminished after that. Just after he did the repairs, the manger asked me a question I had never been asked at a hotel before— is there anything else we can do to make sure your stay is satisfactory? My answer was”no,” but I felt like the question was sincere.

All the housekeeping and front desk staff were polite and seemed happy to assist us. Thanks Jay for helping me print out boarding passes.

With a refresh/upgrade, this could be a 3.5/4 star hotel. As it is, I rate it a solid 3-star and would/did stay again.

Room Tip: If you are going to breakfast, get there early, the breakfast area is only about seven/eight tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Slt8y1:
It is our pleasure to make our guests stays an ultimate experience. From providing toiletries that they have forgotten to a full menu hot breakfast. We also truly care about the individual needs of each guest and provide any assistance that can make their stay with us one that will have them return time and time again. We pride ourselves in going above and beyond, which not only includes helping our guests print boarding passes in order to expedite their flights, but providing a genuine love of providing exceptional services to all of our guests.
Respectfully:
Jay R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very good experience. I will stay there again. Good service, good value and good location. I will recommend this hotel chain to anyone looking to stay one night or many nights. Food quality is very good, restaurant is clean and sanitary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mr. George B.:
Not speaks louder that a guest who will return and stay with us again. We pride ourselves in providing guest experiences that have a lasting impression. Good service, good value and a good location are corner stones of our mission to our guests.
Respectfully:
Jay R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copperhill, tn
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've been staying at Best Westerns for years, and been generally very satisfied. Since they have come out with their Plus and Premier ratings, though, we have been very disappointed in several of the Plus hotels we've encountered...including this one. Our room was desperately in need of refurbishing, tile and carpet was very worn and looked nasty. Tiny bathroom, and room in general was small. Very small pillows, never saw anything like them before. TV aspect ratio was wrong, people looked short and fat, no way to adjust since those features were blocked on the remote. Very thin walls, we could almost make out everything people were saying in adjacent rooms, their toilets flushing were annoying all night long. Called front desk to see if coffee was available in the lobby....no answer. Walked down to the lobby and found another person waiting for someone to appear. Gave up and went back to the room. Later I called again and got someone who said coffee was 'probably' available in the breakfast area. Walked to that area and found it totally dark. Finally located coffee urns, too dark to read which was which. Managed to fill one cup and it was barely warm. Took it back to the room and microwaved it. Next morning we went to breakfast at the time hotel says it starts, found the room almost full of road workers who had stayed there. No attendant around, and all coffee urns were empty. So we went back to the room and returned a half hour later. This time there was coffee, but many other breakfast items were gone (with over an hour to go on breakfast time). No attendant, so we made do with what was available. Wanted a pastry (only one choice) warmed and buttered, but couldn't find butter....no matter, since there was no microwave to warm it in either. No fresh fruit. Attendant finally showed up as we were leaving for our room.

Can't figure out what makes this place a Plus, since I've stayed in non-Plus Best Westerns which were much nicer. Last two Pluses were a bust, but the one before that was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. Not sure we will be staying at Best Westerns in the future since they seem to be a crap shoot.

Room Tip: Request to see the room before you register. Try to get one on the end to reduce noise from adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Cg205:
Best Western has unveiled a descriptor program that delineates 3 different properties, Best Western, Best Western Plus and Best Western Premier. In order to accommodate the different type of traveler’s needs individuals can chose from one of the three types of hotels that would fit their needs. Here at the Best Western Plus we offer a full hot breakfast buffet that our wonderful hostess presents to our guests with fresh items daily. Our hostess will personalize your breakfast items and accommodate any dietary needs for our guests. Not only do our breakfast hostesses personalize each guest’s needs breakfast needs all of our dedicated staff will do the same.
Respectfully:
Jay R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn

Address: 101 Thompson Road, South Hill, VA 23950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > South Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western South Hill Inn is located in the heart of Lake Country, on Interstate 85 at Exit 12A. The area is full of historical and unique finds. Experience the comfort and charm of the south with the tranquil water of Lake Gaston and Buggs Island Lake. Take a drive through the countryside and visit the local winery, antique shops, museums and civil war routes. The hotel is just minutes away from the local businesses and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Hill Hotel South Hill
Holiday Inn La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS South Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.