We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ & burgers ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Jake's House of BBQ

Smokin' Jake's House of BBQ
3102 Halifax Rd, South Boston, VA 24592-4926
434-575-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 restaurants in South Boston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Virginia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“BBQ & burgers ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent cheeseburger in this primarily ribs & bbq place. Lots of locals and good burgers but pretty quiet when we were there and the staff wasn't especially friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    5
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Before I started working here i ate there and the food was amazing! I am so addicted to the delicous homemade fries and the backyard burgers are juicy....cant noboday beat smokin jakes bbq!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookneal, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not worth going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

On a whim, we decided to try Smokin' Jakes.
We were in the mood for BBQ, but were disappointed to discover that they only have one kind of BBQ sauce- vinegar based.

Now, they'll tell you they have an "East Coast" sauce and a "West Coast" sauce, but they are both vinegar based- one has more spice- that's it.
They have no thick, tomato based sauce.
Even BBQ joints in NC carry other BBQ sauce because not everyone likes NC BBQ sauce.

And don't fall for this restaurant's futile effort to re-name the entire BBQ industry.
Anyone who knows their 'Q knows there's Kansas City Sweet, SC Mustard, East Carolina, West Carolina(Lexington) , Texas, Alabama, Kentucky Black, Tennessee Whiskey, Louisianna Hot, and Memphis Dry to name a few kinds of BBQ.

There is no "West Coast" BBQ rotflol.

This place's idea of BBQ is so limited it's unreal, and fairly flat tasting, according to my husband.

Hubby said his baked beans were pretty good.

I ended up having the BLT (I think the only thing on the menu that does not come with vinegar sauce already on it).
I could see that they use high quality ingredients, but with only ONE SLICE of smallish tomato per half of the sandwich, this BLT was a sorry disappointment.
I mean, really?
What's the point of making everything on site if you are stingy with the tomato on a freakin' BLT???

So, no we won't be returning.
BBQ or BLT's- I can make much better at home.

On the plus side, their serve staff is extremely attentive, friendly,and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unacceptable in Every Way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went there for a late lunch at about 3 PM. Place was pretty empty. Not very clean, sticky surfaces and musty smell. Ordered pulled pork and found it very blah. Almost no sauce. Baked beans had a peculiar taste. Coleslaw not very good either. On the other hand, hush puppies were quite good. I couldnot eat most of the fare and had to go elsewhere for lunch. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food--a little odd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Start by saying the food is good. The ribs are above average--yummy french fries & hush puppies. Though it is not a fancy place--you order at the counter and food is brought to you by very attentive wait staff. You get your own drinks & refills. The menu is not very extensive--pretty much a good BBQ place to eat. So if your not looking for a fancy dinner this place it very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Jake's House of BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Jake's House of BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Jake's House of BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.