We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Boston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Boston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I obsolutely love this hotel! My boyfriend and I stay here often as our "get away".. The new carpets and bathrooms look great and the staff is wonderful!! Kimo at the desk is the best he is always there and helps us out in any way he can. We always pick this location great place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hardworking, dedicated staff are thankful for your kind words .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    7
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
9
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Some of the negative reviews puzzle me because it doesn't sound like the same property! Well, I can share my experience to say it wasn't bad. I booked a couple of nights at the last minute for a funeral. I have family in the area and I've stayed at a few different properties in the area and this was the best hotel so far. We arrived around 2pm on a Sunday and waited about 20 minutes for a room to be ready. We were happy they had a room because we'd just been on the road for about 17 hours.

On the outside, the hotel looks nice, and the lobby and halls look great. Upon closer inspection in the rooms, there are many wear and tear items that need to be addressed. Some wall paper issues, wear on furniture, walls, locks on doors looked worn. The bathroom looked fairly new, but it looked like they did a terrible job stripping the old wallpaper and painted over lots of bumps and textures and fuzzy looking things.

The breakfast had many items and was sufficient. Most of the items were canned/refrigerated or frozen items that were likely microwaved and then placed under the heat lamps. But, the items were plentiful and for the rate, quite decent. There was also fresh fruit, yogurt and a small refrigerator that had hard boiled eggs and cartons of milk. A plus is that the breakfast is open until 10am every day, which is not common. There were lots of work crew at the property who are likely staying there as they work on local construction projects but I didn't notice them acting terribly. I only saw them early in the morning at breakfast and they were probably gone at work all day.

In general, for the rate we paid, which was around $69, I felt the hotel was sufficient. It just looks as though they need to do a better job addressing the areas that are worn. The property was what I needed and a good value. If I thought I'd spend more time in the room and was there more for leisure, I likely would have chosen the Fairfield a few blocks down, but I did not want to pay that rate this time.

If you do go for leisure, check out the Charles Bass House - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Cdame

Thank you So much for taking your time to review our property and share your experience , I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction is the utmost importance to us , We will address this points and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. and thank you again for mentioning the negative reviews and share with everybody that " it doesn't sound like the same property"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norlina, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was even quite good. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and will be back. Make sure to check out Bistro 1888 while you're in South Boston. It's a little pricey but the BEST restaurant ever. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Amy M

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hardworking, dedicated staff are thankful for your kind words . We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you love our breakfast and we are so looking forward for your next visit . thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stay here on business. Staff is always helpful. Best breakfast I've had at a express. They make home made spiced apples on the breakfast bar. Gotta love them. Rooms are a little small but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Beekeeper49
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hardworking, dedicated staff are thankful for your kind words .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The wallpaper was splitting away and exposing mold covered walls. Shower heads was moldy. Spoke to front guest and they moved to another room that was just as bad. We could not stay there for one night so we checked out at midnight and went and found another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Boston, MA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on sat july 13 to sun 14
the rooms were clean great breakfast very quiet every one of the staff was very nice no complaints it was in a good location went to pick up a puppy from a breeder in bufflao jct va it was close by for us to get a good night sleep with a new puppy and we did drive to va beach from their it was a great location for us

Room Tip: we recomend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear 521puppyraiser,

Thank you so much for sharing your good experience that you had when you stayed with us, that makes us work even harder to make everybody's stay more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, but when you pay this much for a room and they advertise the great breakfast, one should expect it to be well stocked. Breakfast attendant didn't show up until 7:00? When I asked front desk clerk about eggs and forks she was uncaring and unapologetic. There were no eggs no bacon and most of coffee pots were empty. Also the trash was overflowing onto the counter top. To be fair the hotel had a lot of guests but it is the hotels responsibility to keep the food stocked. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kareem B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Boston, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr , Steveritter

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are very sorry the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. And our breakfast attendant she did show up late that day because the one that she was suppose to be working she had a car accident while she was coming to work and we had to find somebody else to cover for her . Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Thank You
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Boston

Address: 1074 Bill Tuck Highway, Highway 58 East, South Boston, VA 24592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > South Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in South Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the heart of South Boston, Virginia. We are convenient to all area restaurants, shopping, and the Halifax County Industrial Park. We are also 2 miles from South Boston Speedway and only 25 miles from VIR. If you're ready for quality service at an affordable price, STAY SMART, stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Boston Hotel South Boston
Holiday Inn South Boston
South Boston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.